RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I'm an "arrogant roadie prick" and proud of it!(46 posts)

I'm an "arrogant roadie prick" and proud of it!look271
Jul 9, 2001 6:05 PM
While finishing the last 5 miles of my ride y-day I came to an intersection that takes me up a decent climb back to my house. I see a guy riding a Litespeed and think"cool; maybe we can ride together for a short time." Well, I pulled out and immediately was on his wheel. I couldn't pass because there was a car coming up behind us and the road is too narrow/twisty to get 2 bikes and a car through safely. I immediately realize that this guy is going way too slow, so I pull next to him, say "hi, how are you doing?" He's huffing and puffing; I'm sitting and spinning. He says "good, how about you?." I say, "ok, suffering mostly, though(I had just completed several pretty steep climbs)." He says "tell me about it!" as I leave him in my wake. Juvenile, yes, but it felt sooooooooooo goooooood!:-)
re: I'm an "arrogant roadie prick" and proud of it!grz mnky
Jul 9, 2001 6:26 PM
So what happens to the quality of your day when you get dropped by a woman?

Why resent the guy - he's out riding a nice bike and absorbing some pain. Beats watching MTV and eating chips and waiting for his welfare check. Mybe he's lost 200 lbs. and is working to lose 20 lbs. more.

You wanna gloat - go enter a race and see where you shake out. If you win great then move up a class, if not you'll get to see things from the other side.
The day you make a living riding a bike isLazyrider
Jul 9, 2001 6:31 PM
the day you are that much better than the slower people you pass on the rode. Neither one of you are good enough to make a living riding your bikes so on a continuim, you are closer to that guy huffing up the hill than you are to the guys riding in the TDF. Reality check their PRICK. Don't be offended, you admitted you were one. Food for thought though.
Clarificationgrz mnky
Jul 9, 2001 7:09 PM
Ahhh, should've changed the subject line of my reply - I'm in agreement with you, not the original poster. It's like being proud of beating up a retarded person. If you're going to "pick a fight" - make sure it's a fair one - best way to do that is to enter some races. It's also one hell of a reality check. Still, I don't think that many professional riders get a huge ego boost out of passing some guy on a nice bike struggling up a hill. Heck if you're a pro it means that you should be pretty accomplished - it also means that you recognize the investment in time and effort required for significant accomplishments. I also don't have a problem when I get passed on a climb - I'm doing it b/c I want to - not b/c I need to constantly measure myself against others.

Who knows, maybe that poor SOB struggling up the hill is a multi-millionaire, dates a super model, and boffs your gal on the side..... ;-(

Kinda lost your meaning when you said, "Reality check their PRICK." Dunno what you meant by this, but I can imagine a few possibilities.

I like riding with friends - some are faster and stronger and some are not. What counts is that you're out riding, hopefully enjoying yourself, and have some people to share some of the experiences with. I have to be very careful when riding with my wife - her endurance is a bit freakish and if I'm not careful I can bonk around 70 miles and she starts to wonder what's wrong with me. Many others have experienced this also, much to their surprise. I often warn the unsuspecting to eat and drink - she can go a long time and take in very little and crank out the miles at a very constant pace.
Clarificationlook271
Jul 9, 2001 7:22 PM
No, I wasn't gloating that he was riding a nice bike and I dropped him. Just felt good and a little evil to drop him. Yes, I have been dropped (on a hill) by a woman.No,I don't race. I get dropped by the local racers on the Sat am group ride, though not by much, and they're probably 1/2 to 2/3 my age. Besides; my bike was nicer than his. I usually don't do this, and, like I said, it was juvenile. This past spring I helped pull a guy back to his buds while I was out riding. So, if Mr. Litespeed is looking at this board, I am sorry. He was doing about 6-7 mph. can't see how I could've helped him much, except, say, if I'd pushed him up the friggin hill.
ClarificationAD14
Jul 9, 2001 8:01 PM
I am way slower than I was when I did some limited racing and rode 250 miles a week many years ago. I think I enjoy it more than I ever did now that my ego is out of the way. Do it because you love it, not because your trying to prove something.
i wish someone would pass me!ishmael
Jul 10, 2001 9:33 AM
honestly, most of the time im doing the passing...ill the folks in the fancy clothing seem to ride around as if they are having a scenic ride that day....if someone passes me i love trying to catch them and then pass them...
How far had this guy ridden?Dutchy
Jul 9, 2001 8:09 PM
Who knows maybe this guy was finishing a solo century, maybe he just went to return a video at the video store, maybe he's a newbie? Either way without knowing where he has ridden it's a bit hard to judge his efforts. Yes it is fun to pass people, but it's not always what it seems. CHEERS.
False Pride...Kristin
Jul 9, 2001 8:48 PM
Wow. Or perhaps the guy is just new to the sport! Hey, I own a bike thats a couple levels beyond my ability. I just realized that some who've passed me might enjoy the same pleasure that Look271 did. That makes me chuckle...cuz they have no idea. There's no accomplishment in passing me--I'm not a good cyclist. I'm just a new cyclist with a good bike, who, someday (hopefully), will become a good cyclist. And I'm grateful that a group of better riders has taken me under their wing so I can learn, instead of just passing me by--thinking they're all that. When I first rode with them, one expected me to be better than I was because of my bike.

Of course, even newbies get caught in the smugness trap. This week I found myself accelerating up a hill and keeping up with said faster friend. I thought, "Cool I'm not getting dropped by my very strong friend." I felt great. Then I blew up and paid for my smugness. A humbling experience may cross Look271's path soon.
Every once in a while, I'm the tallest guy in the elevator. Atbill
Jul 9, 2001 8:27 PM
5'8", it doesn't happen every day, but, when it does, I feel strangely superior. But, you know, is this something to be proud of?
I don't mean to come down heavy on you, but every time I go out I'm faster than lots of people, I'm sometimes faster than anyone I see that day, and, you know, so what? What's cool about cycling is how it so much involves competing against oneself; bettering oneself. The last two guys that passed me were on MOUNTAIN BIKES. YIKES. Now, they both were racers (yeah, I sucked MTB wheel while we chatted -- one a current racer, the other a former road racer), but, man, was I humbled.
I'm always the tallest guy in the elevator......Largo
Jul 9, 2001 9:28 PM
But at 6'6", i have a good reason.
Face it, we are all competitive, and we all try to pass that person we see waaaayy up ahead, we all try to be the first up the hill, we all try to win the sprint, etc.....
You just have to be honest with yourself, and not be a "prick" about it.
Its all about friendly competition, even in a race.
Poor loser? Nothing worse than a poor winner.
Later.........
6 foot 6? Wow!...Mabero
Jul 10, 2001 7:37 AM
I'm 6 foot 3 and I have a hard time with bikes fitting me properly, and the availibility of big sizes. What do you ride on? What size?

Just wondering...I am now own a 63cm Cannondale and I love it...
Custom all the way!Largo
Jul 10, 2001 8:12 AM
For years i shoehorned myself into ill fitting bikes, then i went custom and never looked back.
I read somewhere that anyone over 6' would benefit from a custom frame.
Yeah I have heard the same thing...Mabero
Jul 10, 2001 8:26 AM
I fit beautifully on my current bike...but I came close to buying a 62cm Trek 5200. But I finally realized "shoehorning" as you put it, just won't cut it for me if I spend that kind of dough.
Custom all the way!Easy.Rider
Jul 10, 2001 11:37 AM
I agree. At six-foot-five, 225 lbs. paying more for a custom build was the best cycling decision I've ever made. Yeah, my bank account suffered for a few months after the purchase, but I will have this ride for decades to come. I came close to buying a 63cm Cannondale R600, but the aluminum beat me up & after upgrading the wheels, crank, BB, etc., I would've spent almost as much as I did on a custom build.

My Steed: 2001 Serotta Colorado III - 68cm seat tube, 61cm top tube
I'm almost always the tallest guy in the elevator......Sir J
Jul 10, 2001 7:52 AM
I'm 6'5'" and I posted a question about crank length the other day... What length do you ride on a road bike and why?? You being tall like myself might help with some insight. Not too many people to ask these questions to. Thanks.
180mm Dura-AceLargo
Jul 10, 2001 8:19 AM
I ride 180 to get max leverage for climbing, and pushing big gears.
If you were a very light 6'5", 175mm might be a better choice for spinning.
When climbing, its nice to be able to use your weight to make the bike work for you by putting it on a longer lever.
Serious cycling has a chart that says if you are over 76", you should use 180-185.
I also use 180mm for my mtb, for leverage.
I've raced professionally....wewereracing?
Jul 9, 2001 8:54 PM
in alpine skiing. While out skiing last year I was tooling along slowly and enjoyably with some intermediate friends. When stopped at a turn waiting for a buddy, I overheard a young man from the far side of the trail talking about how easily he just 'dusted the poser on the full brand X equipment' in reference to me. I thought this was funny, but let him have his moment. Little did he know of my background or the fact that all the expensive equipment I was on was given to me. I wasn't aware that we were racing.

Maybe the guy on the Litespeed was just giving you your moment.
I used to ski race too.Atombomber
Jul 9, 2001 9:56 PM
I spent most of my youth and early 20's racing Nor-Am, Euro Cup, and managed to be coaches pick for 2 World Cups, and I have more than once had the same on hill 'race?' as you've had. I work in the winter for a major manufacturer, so I have access to current and pre-production models of boots, bindings and skis. In mid January, while I was casually skiing with friends, I ended up being in a 'race' that ended up with me separating a shoulder. The moron who saw that I was logoed up decided to blaze me, but was so stupid he didn't realize I was allready as far to the side of the run as possible, but tried to sneak in still. He ended up on top of my skis, whereby I tried to turn away, but just ejected at around 40km/h and landed on my shoulder.

Altogether different from the skiing story...

Yesterday on my ride, I saw another rider way in front. Just for my own training reasons, I wanted to catch him. Nothing like a carrot to get the legs turning faster. When I finally realed him in( I was racing against myself, so I don't know or care how fast he was going), I greeted him with the usual 'nice day for a ride...' and slowed my cadence and effort a bit, since we were now on a slight down slope. Just then, Fred launches an attack. I just casually pedalled and let him go. The hill steepened up, and I just tucked as usual, and passed Fred near the bottom, (again, just riding how I usually do, and not trying to catch him). Fred tucked in behind me, and when it leveled off (true level, along the beach), he attacked again. Again I just pedaled at my speed, effort and cadence, and eventually caught him as he blew up. Then Fred got on my wheel the whole way into the headwind for about 5km. When it started to climb again, Fred launched his final attack, but I was so pissed by this point since he didn't once offer to pull, that when he went, I WENT!! Now, I'm not a climber, but I can sprint, and I decided to just keep sprinting to the top of the 1km hill. I was in oxygen debt at the crest, but I managed to turn around (and not fall over,) and I saw Fred only half way up. I felt better after that, and never saw him again for the rest of the ride.

There are always going to be stronger, faster, fitter, cyclists than me (male and female), but on that day, in that 'race', I won. Plus, it was good training, which is what counts most.
Ski question thenMabero
Jul 10, 2001 7:49 AM
That's awesome that you get your hands on equipment before they are out for purchasing...jeez..I was wondering you give me some advice about some skis.

I have been skiing since I was about 3 and now been skiing for almost 20 years. I have always skied on "old-school" straight edge skis (OLIN). I am in the hunt for a new pair of skis. I was debating on a pair of Atomics or a pair of Volant. I only ski moguls (looking to go compete this coming year) and glades (I have competed in some extreme races). What would you recommend? Especially since you have raced...

Thanks...
Ski question thenpeloton
Jul 10, 2001 9:47 AM
I coach skiing for a living, although I'm no World Cupper or bumper I do know a little about their equipment. If you are thinking about competing in the bumps, you don't need a ski with much shape. All the bump guys that I know were on straight 185's this past season. No lifters, cut race boots were also pretty much the norm. Turntable heels were also pretty popular like Look or Rossi from what I saw. I'm a little biased toward one of your equipment picks, so I won't comment there. I would reccomend that all equipment brands are pretty close in performance today, and the feel is pretty much what seperates ski brands. Ski on them first if you have the opportunity to do so. If you are looking at doing any free skiing or skier-X competitions, you might want to add a ski with some shape to your quiver as well. The increased turning ability is pretty incredible. I would just reccomend that you don't go overboard with the length of the ski. Even a 190 is a big ski today, so don't get swept up in the old school bigger is better thinking. I saw Chip Knight of the US team racing some GS on a 191 this season, and he is a 210lbs. wall of muscle.

Atombomber- I wouldn't be surprised if we have met. Ski racing is a small world. It's funny who is on these boards sometimes.
Ski question thenMabero
Jul 10, 2001 9:55 AM
I have demoed a couple of Atomics pretty hard and liked them. Unfortunately I got to demo the Volant after I had ankle surgery so I couldn't hammer or even go in the bumps (technically I wasn't supposed to be skiing). But I am shocked at the size differential being that I am sking on 205cm and I demoed at 180cm. I was amazed at the control, and weight (lack of) in the woods. I could jump turn without working...I loved it.

What has always been my weakness in skiing is not ability but knowledge of equipment. As I always tell people, "I just ski."
Ski answer thenAtombomber
Jul 10, 2001 10:06 AM
As was said before, a true mogul ski is straight, since the turns are pivots, and not carves. The more shape the ski has, the less it is able to pivot. With all honesty, I will tell you that short narrow old-school skis will be better for you. However, for glade skiing, you will want a shaped mid-fat. If you want a ski that blends a bit of both, Atomic has the BetaRide 8.20 and 9.20. Both have a broad, shaped shovel, a wider than old-school waist (but not W I D E!!), and a conventional tail. This allows the ski to float, carve, and still pivot the end of the turn. And both models are light, so they are nimble. Check out www.epicski.com for ski advice. And demo a lot. You know the pains of getting a bike that is right for you. Skiing is no different.
Thanks for the link :) (nm)Mabero
Jul 10, 2001 10:48 AM
some days you're the windshield, some days the bug...Dog
Jul 9, 2001 9:17 PM
or, there's always a bigger fish...

On the other hand, nothing wrong with *feeling* good about dropping someone. The problem is *saying* something about it. Heck, we all need our little "feel good" moments, even if it does take dropping the newbie/fat-guy/dork/fred of the club.

Start racing and you'll be humbled, for sure. My first race in modern times (since I was young), was a hilly 60 mile/10 mile circuit race. On the second time around, going up a steep hill, a motorcycle pulls up, and a girl on the back shouts to me, "stay left for the ladies!" Next thing, about 50 women blast past me and on up the hill. And I thought I was in shape. I've pretty much stayed humble since.

Like I said, "some days you're the windshield, some days you're the bug."

Doug
nothing to be embarrassed about...ET
Jul 10, 2001 5:59 AM
...if the ladies were on motorcycles. :-)
some days you're the windshield, some days the bug...Len J
Jul 10, 2001 8:25 AM
Well put. If we are all honest, we have all taken satisfaction from dropping someone and have also felt the pain of being droppes hard. It's part of the human condition.

I could certainly relate to Look's post, as well as those post's about getting dropped. There is a devil in all of us, every once in a while you just have to enjoy him because the Humble Pie Train is bearing down.
I agree, but techinally he really didn't drop anyone >>>>>>>>>>>Live Steam
Jul 10, 2001 10:00 AM
In order for Look to have dropped this guy they would both have to have started from the same point and endured the same conditions. Look said he came upon the guy and then passed him on a hill they both happen to be climbing. I know someone said it before, but maybe the guy just finished a solo or crashed earlier in his day or his dog just died or he had some bad eggs for breakfast. Maybe it was his recovery day and he was doing the slow grind. I guess I can understand the fanticizing, but you are not dropping someone unless you ride the same road the whole distance. Heck, there are guys that drop me all the time, but I have my good days and pick my spots. Then they are the ones blowing up. Strategy is what cycling - read racing if you're talking dropping - is all about. Not passing some poor stranger on a hill.
"Every dog has his day"ET
Jul 10, 2001 11:39 AM
You don't have time to explain all that and be responded to in the instant you're passing him. Not that you need to. And it's not like you blurt out "hah! hah!" as you pass him. It's just part of road biking. Every dog has his day, even if it's a hollow, meaningless victory against someone better.

To flip this discussion around, if the day before you had a personal best in a race or completed a double century and are out today for an easy recovery ride, do you all give those excuses to the guy passing you (which may sound petty and he might not even believe you) or just grit and bear it?
No excuses...just ride...Mabero
Jul 10, 2001 11:44 AM
I would contemplate saying something if they said something wise. But other than that I wouldn't say anything and just ride. I know how I feel, and that is what matters most.
Maybe Mr. Litespeed just rode 100 hilly miles? nmDoll Face
Jul 9, 2001 9:28 PM
nm
C'mon people!look271
Jul 9, 2001 9:38 PM
I was just being honest. The previous week, I rode with a large group. You know who got back last? Me. Did I feel any better or worse about that than I did about passing that guy? Felt the same. I love everytime I go out, even if it rains/sleets/snows/I flat. I just love riding my bike, just as I'm sure Mr, Litespeed does his. Doug is right; sometimes you're the windshield, sometimes you're the bug.Kristin; I don't have to wait to be humbled: I've been dropped many a time. Just felt good to do it to someone else. Now; hasn't this livened up the board a bit? It was getting really boring.
C'mon people!Lazyrider
Jul 9, 2001 10:13 PM
Your tone is a lot different than you original post. Sorry if I and others jumped on you but you have explained yourself better now. Go back and read your original post as if you didn't write it and you will understand what the others thought of you. Be happy that we can all still ride, it won't last forever unless they put rollers in the nursing home.
Later
C'mon people!look271
Jul 10, 2001 2:39 PM
Apologies accepted. I have a tendancy to be sarcastic, especially in print, and, well, we all know sarcasm doesn't translate too well onto the printed page.
I dropped someone today, and It feels good for a change!Dutchy
Jul 9, 2001 11:17 PM
So maybe we were a bit harsh. Your post isn't offensive, it's probably the "title" you gave it. "I'm an "arrogant roadie prick" and proud of it!" does lend itself to flame bait. Maybe it should have read. " I dropped someone today, and It feels good for a change!
CHEERS.
re: I'm an "arrogant roadie prick" and proud of it!JohnG
Jul 9, 2001 11:36 PM
It's always better to be the crusher than the crushee. That being said, I try to say hi or wave when I can.

JohnG
i think he said what everyone else is scared to admit...dustin73
Jul 10, 2001 1:12 AM
i do the same thing. hmmm...like today, i passed an older guy rather quickly. felt bad for a nanosecond...then there was the little 13yr old kid that said "you wanna race?" in about as sarcastic voice as he could muster up...i said sure, turned around and he got off his bike. later on i saw him again without his bike and said "thought we were gonna race?" and he goes "i don't have my bike." i laughed at him...oh, just in case you're wondering, he was one of those smarta$$ little kids. i've known him for a while.
LOLDuane Gran
Jul 10, 2001 5:40 AM
I personally found this humorous and have seen enough level-headed posts from Look271 to know that he isn't really a rodie prick at heart. I too have a mean streak when it comes to hills.
Agree...Don't take it so seriously!!Jim Burton
Jul 10, 2001 7:22 AM
I think that Look271 just was having a little fun with the post. I don't think it was meant to be taken so seriously. Imagine if the Messageboard was really a conversation at the local pub. Look271 would have shared this experience with us, and we would have razzed him and all had a good laugh. It's hard to convey the tone you want to convey by typing. I read the post and laughed. And everyone should stop kidding themselves. We all feel a bit superior when we beat anyone, and a bit inferior when we are beaten. This damn political correctness got a bit out of hand. I think the board owes Look an apology for being jumped on.
Yeah, I got that. I don't think Look was being such a badbill
Jul 10, 2001 8:51 AM
guy. It's a nerve for all of us, though; we all worry about being that other guy on the Litespeed (hell, I've got a Litespeed; maybe it was me), and, to some extent, we've all accepted that we're sometimes going to be the guy on the Litespeed, which is why it's interesting and has drawn so much response. It's a classic dramatic mistake -- we all sympathized with someone other than who the writer meant to be the protagonist.
That's your crime, Look. You blew it as a dramatist.
It's a guilty pleasure of mine, too. When you pass someone going up a hill and say, with no evident discomfort, "Nice day for a ride" or whatever. You're being nice, but, don't you think that the other guy would just rather you didn't say anything? How nice is that (even though I've worked hard for it)?
Tee-hee.
Psycology.Len J
Jul 10, 2001 9:03 AM
I had a cross country coach in H/S that would kill us if we ever passed anyone on a hill without smiling at them. He believed (& he was right) that everyone hurts on hills, therefor the worst thing, the most demoralizing thing for a competitor was to have someone pass them and seem not to be hurting. I can tell you that I "Broke" several runners in just this way. It got in thier head.

Think about this the next time you pass someone on a hill.
That's oh so sick. But oh so true. And you know what?bill
Jul 10, 2001 9:09 AM
If you relax enough to smile, you're going to go up the hill faster, smoother, and dripping with cool.
but if you'd say nothing...ET
Jul 10, 2001 9:16 AM
you'd be an "arrogant roadie prick". :-) This is one of those situations where you just have to say "Good afternoon" to him as you blow by him up that hill, all the while moving faster than you usually would till you're out of his sight, all the while making it look like you barely need to breath in order to totally demoralize him. :-)

And guys, please give Look271 some slack; I think we risk being PCed to death. Sure, he could've watered down the wording and you might not have stated it that way, but given his presence here, I think we know what he intended.
Oh, I might add...Dog
Jul 10, 2001 7:31 AM
One time I passed 3 guys together on one of our classic climbs around here that rises 2500 feet in 5 miles. The hill is about 30 miles from town. Thing is, I was on my 30 pound, fat-tired Bianchi Milano (cruiser), and the others were on Merlins, etc. They asked about my bike, and I explained that my other bike had broken, so I was giving it a go on the cruiser. After a few minutes, with them suffering and me ready to pull away, one said, "That *is* a cruiser, isn't it?" I thoroughly enjoyed beating that guy on the Merlin Extralight to the top by several minutes. Now, they were a bit older than I was...

Doug
I dropped someone this morning but I felt guilty...Mabero
Jul 10, 2001 8:03 AM
When I commute in the morning if I leave my house 15 minutes later, I usually bump into this older guy who goes just a little slower than myself. I also scare the hell out of him every time when I come from behind. But usually I slow myself down and we just ride (pretty much to the same place) together.

Today was the first day I didn't stop cause I was flying! I flew by him on a hill thought about slowing and saying hi but then took off. I felt like a prick for not stopping especially cause I have all the gear and equipment and he just has clipless pedals...but I just wanted to break my record of getting to work.

After this post now I feel worse!

But the other day I was on my Bianchi Brava which is a heavier steel bike but it is a very comfortable commuter. I was biking home from work and two guys came flying up to me on Merlins. We immediately picked up the pace from 18ish (mine) to 24ish(theirs). We went about four or so miles taking turns breaking wind up over some hills, and they almost dropped me up one hill but I caught back up. I was like damn these guys are flying! I mean I never go 24ish! But I felt good for keeping up in my steel beauty. But we finally got to a bigger hill and I went out in front saying to one of the guys "I'll try to go fast for ya". Well I tried to continue their hammerfest speed and they finally said they needed to slow down and they didn't want to hammer today.

I then dropped them both and continued at the pace (22ish or so) cause I felt good. But it made me wonder: were they just trying to break me down and realized they couldn't. If he didn't want to hammer then why was he going so fast with me...I felt like there were two egos on those Merlins. But nonetheless it felt good that I didn't get dropped and I had a phenomal ride for the rest of the day.

On a side note, I hope I have my Cannondale the next time I see them for I can really go fast!

Matt
On dropping and being droppedmoneyman
Jul 10, 2001 9:10 AM
I was in a charity ride in Loveland, CO in May. I was quickly dropped by my pal and a friend of his, leaving me to ride alone for the majority of the metric century. We have an agreement that he rides at his pace and I ride at mine, to meet up at the end. No animosity, and our system works well for both of us. I weigh 190, he goes 150. On the first hill, I wave goodbye. Sometimes I catch him on the downside, where gravity is my friend.

In the middle of the ride, I was going to be passed by a line of about 8 riders zooming along. I decided to hook on myself, fully intending to do my share of the work. One of the riders, fit looking and obviously having lots of experience on a bike, stated that "I can't ride with you guys. you're too fast." The fastest rider of the group, a 20 something skinny guy, took off with me in tow. We rode together for a while taking turns pulling. I could not keep his pace the rest of the way, so he lost me. I dropped and I got dropped, all within about 30 minutes.

First road race in Estes Park, CO a couple weeks ago. Citizens cat, and I thought I would at least be competitive. We climbed the first small hill and I reviewed all the tactics I had worked out, decided whose wheel I would hang onto, joined a small breakaway with the intention of staying at the front. Then we hit the real hill, and I was, in the words of Bob Roll, "Dropped like UN foodstuffs" by the rest of the group. I didn't finish DFL, but I didn't make the podium either.

I love zooming by other riders. I love when they zoom by me as well. I have the best times riding with others who are stronger, but I really enjoy being the strongest at times, too. It's all good.

$$