RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


TCR frame a Giant stretch(14 posts)

TCR frame a Giant stretchMart
Jul 7, 2001 12:40 PM
I like the look of the Giant TCR team frames. I am nearly 5'11" and would get a medium but it looks a hell of a way down to the handlebars. My back isn't the best in the world and I think I may suffer a bit. Has anyone any experience with them. I am toying with getting a 54cm Cannondale R800 instead - I will have to make my mind up soon or summer will be over but I don't want to waste my cash as I won't be able to afford another.
Any advice please.........................
I own a TCR 2 >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Live Steam
Jul 7, 2001 12:55 PM
I bought the TCR because it was a good bang for the buck package. I bought it a the start of last season and by June I was already building up a Colnago as my main ride. I have to say the TCR is a really nice handling frame without the harshness usually associated with AL. However, I don't think I would be happy with it as my only ride. It is ok for long rides, but it may not have the durability and longevity you may want. Something has to be sacrificed as a result of the extreme lightness of the frame. I would go with the C'dale if these are your only options. Actually I have been considering selling my TCR. I feel that I should have gotten the small instead of the medium frame. It has about 800 - 1000 miles on it and is in perfect condition. So if you are interested, email me and I could make you a good offer on it. I can send a pic if you like and a list of all of the upgrades. That is if you plan on going against my advice of course.:-)
I think the size of C-dale may be a bit off.SSgt Jeremy in Germany
Jul 7, 2001 1:48 PM
Maybe you are built different, but I ride a 54" C-dale R700 and am 5'7", maybe you can ride a 54 being 5'11", but I would think it would be small for you. Mine fits me great.
54cm C'dale is most likely too small...C-40
Jul 7, 2001 2:23 PM
I'm only 5'-7" and I've owned a couple of 54cm C'dales. I've since moved up to 55cm frames. It would be unusual for someone of your height to need a frame this small. A 56cm would more likely be your size.
re: TCR frame a Giant stretchJofa
Jul 7, 2001 3:42 PM
Do you have an existing position which you find comfortable? If so, measure the distance from the BB to the saddle, and from the saddle to the bars ( both measurements taken horizontally and vertically), and try to replicate this setup... then it doesn't matter what number a frame is designated with. I'd guess, however, that a Giant "Large" (or a regular 56-58) would be closest for your height, unless you are all leg and no torso; in any case, if you find the headtube too short, you can either buy from stock or have a custom builder make a riser stem to put the bars in the correct position.
It's generally considered a good idea to choose a frame that fits you when combined with a 12cm (or thereabouts) stem, measured horizontally.

If you are new to all this and don't know what position is the best for you, then the best action is to be fitted by somebody in a bike shop; don't take everything as gospel however as there are a lot of erroneous ideas going around about bike fit... combine it with riding and your own common-sense.

The main thing to remember is that the numbers only tell you the length of a seattube, whose precise definition nobody can even agree on (c-c, c-t, t-t etc). And what significance this has on bike fit is dubious at most. Yor aim is to sit where you want to and have your hands where you want them: fit the bike around this.
re: TCR frame a Giant stretchBAM
Jul 7, 2001 4:18 PM
Thats the problem with Giants TCR bikes. They used to use threaded forks with an adjustable stem. When they went threadless they tried an adjustable stem but recalled them due to cracking of the clamp. They really need to increase the steerer length with added spacers to allow the shops to cut it for each customer. You can try to get the shop to swap out the existing stem to something with a greater angle to raise the bar. The compact frame idea makes a stiff, quick, responsive bike and helps cut weight, but the stem issue still needs work. These bikes are great for shorter riders and make a good time trial or tri bike that can still be used for normal riding or racing.
I'm 6'1 and I ride a medium.Groucho Marx
Jul 7, 2001 9:17 PM
I have a short torso, and long legs. The large frame is too long for me horizontally. So I got the medium, and just raised the seat. The problem at first was that the bar was too low! But after a couple of months, my body go used to it as my stomach and back got stronger. The only thing I dislike is the adjustable stem, which its very flexible, but isn't used anymore, so thats not a problem for you. Hey, I'm 6'1, and I find the medium pretty comfortable even on rides +150k. So it shouldn't be a problem, unless you have reeaally long legs and need a lot of seat tube. Also, a medium probably won't be right unless you have a short torso.

I was frustrated for a little while because my back would be sore. I was sure the problem was fit. But as I started doing longer, and longer rides, I found it was just conditioning.

Finally: I think my fit on this bike is pretty good, but not the best. But for the money I paid for a bike of this quality and comfort, I couldn't find anything better.
kalispellHoward
Jul 8, 2001 2:05 PM
No need to suffer back pain with your dimensions. I'm 5' 11 1/2 " tall and have an inseam of 90 cm. I searched quite a while for a bike that would fit. I eventually bought a 60 cm Sampson Kalispell. The standover height on this bike is about 84.5 cm, the top tube length is 57.5 cm, and the handlebars are about 2.5" lower than the saddle height. In other words, it fits and there's no back pain issue whatsoever.
Measurements to take.boy nigel
Jul 8, 2001 1:08 PM
Mart,

I own a 2000 TCR2, and it fits me perfectly. I'm a smaller rider (5'5"), but when I ordered the bike from the shop, they had me take measurements on my then-present road bike--which fit me well. As Jofa suggested earlier, there are a few measurements you should take from an existing bike (if you have one) that fits properly and comfortably:

1) Measure the distance from the center of the bottom bracket (the center of the crank, where the bolt is) to the top of the saddle (the part where you regularly sit).

2) Measure the distance from the part of the seat where you sit to the front of the handlebar tops (the area where your computer is likely mounted, near the stem). Make sure this measurement is LEVEL, and that the measuring tape doesn't slope downward from the saddle to the bars!

3) Measure the distance from the floor to the top of the handlebars (also near the stem, and the part closest to the ceiling--NOT the brake lever hoods).

With these measurements (taken twice, preferably, and carefully), you'll be able to fit yourself on virtually ANY bike out there. These numbers will allow the dealer to choose the proper Giant seatpost (7 sizes are available) and/or stem length for your particular body geometry and riding style.

I gave my dealer this info, and the bike's perfect; I did, however, switch out the stock adjustable stem (on last year's model) for a "rigid" (unadjustable) ITM stem.

TCRs have fairly long top tubes, just FYI. They handle splendidly, and I've gone on long hilly rides on mine with no harshness or being "beaten up" by the aluminum. A highly tweaked and well-balanced frame. The carbon fork and seatpost help big-time, as they were built specially to be used with the TCR frames and afford a plusher ride.

For what it's worth, it sounds like the medium TCR should fit you nicely. You're not over 6'0", so I can't see you needing a large, unless you're all torso.

Best of luck,
Nige
Nigel, what size TCR do you have? Thanks. (nm)Only300
Jul 8, 2001 10:48 PM
I use a Small...boy nigel
Jul 9, 2001 6:32 AM
and I use a #2 Giant (carbon fiber) aero seatpost. The #3 would be perfect, lengthwise, but I opted for jacking the #2 up a bit extra so that I could mount a blinky light on the round section below the aero part. I ride in the evening sometimes, and didn't want to forego the light-mounting option, since I couldn't find a light to hook onto the aero/flat section of the Giant post. I still have plenty of post in the frame for safety, and this enables me to be seen in nighttime NYC traffic. I use a 9cm stem--shorter than most people use--but I used the same size on my last bike and it puts me in the proper position for my body geometry. The handling is just fine for me, not too twitchy. The bike, as I have it set up, fits me like a glove, and puts me low/aero enough for comfort on even 100-milers.

Thanks for asking. I hope this has helped. :)

Cheers,
Nige
What's the drop to the bars likeMart
Jul 9, 2001 8:54 AM
Nige
What's the difference in height between your seat and the bars.

Mart
What's the drop to the bars likeboy nigel
Jul 9, 2001 9:54 AM
From the highest part of my saddle's nose (which is EVER so slightly tilted up) to the top of the handlebar tops (near where my computer's mounted) measures about 2-3/4 inches. From the place on the saddle that I mainly sit (The Selle Italia XO--stock saddle, and very comfy to me--dips a little in the middle, rising up in the back and front), the bar tops are probably about 2-1/2 inches. Not a huge drop, but not close to even, either. This allows comfortable, properly bent arm extension to the brake hoods for me and solid steering control, without my being upright at all. My back's usually at about a 20-degree angle--not flat (parallel to the ground), but close enough.

Again, hope this helps out.

A retort to "jrm," who's expressed his/her opinions of their '98 TCR1: I've found the opposite to be true--and many of my fellow reviewers on the board concur: the TCRs tend to be excellent, stable descenders. I'm not a risky descender, but I've found new confidence with my TCR. I don't get the "marginal momentum carrier" remark at all, though. Maybe this person's hubs need overhauling if the bike doesn't carry momentum far enough. Seems a very oddly phrased statement.

Cheers,
Nigel
re: TCR frame a Giant stretchjrm
Jul 9, 2001 9:36 AM
Im riding a 98 TCR 1 using a kenesis aftermarket CF fork and 105 groupo. The bike does climb well due to its short stays and overall wheelbase. But the these same short stays and overall wheelbase make the bike a sketchy descender, and marginal momemtum carrier.

Im selling my TCR for a 54cm Specialized M1 Pro.