RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What indoor trainer should I get?(7 posts)

What indoor trainer should I get?chrisbaby
Jul 4, 2001 7:23 AM
I already have rollers, so I won't need those. I would like to know what type of trainer i should get - magnetic or fluid? What are the pros/cons of each? which type is the quietest? who makes the best trainers?
re: What indoor trainer should I get?Mike Prince
Jul 4, 2001 7:55 AM
I have a Kinetic trainer, expensive ($300 or so) but worth it when it's too cold to go out. It is a fluid trainer with an extra-heavy flywheel.

My experience is that the fluid units are the quietest, but the only drawbacks (other than cost) are that the units heat up and some are prone to leaking the silicone fluid out onto your carpet. Kinetic's unit is fully sealed and I think CyclOps redesigned their unit for 2000. The magnetic units are nearly as quiet, but not as slick as the fluid units. My last magtrainer (7-8 years ago) was prone to slipping if memory serves right

Kind of a strange time of year to be looking for a trainer...
re: What indoor trainer should I get?chrisbaby
Jul 4, 2001 8:55 AM
Yes it is a strange time of year to be looking for a trainer. My new baby will be here any day now and when she comes I will no be able to venture too far off for a while.

Thanks for the useful info.

Chris
re: What indoor trainer should I get?AndyV
Jul 4, 2001 9:28 AM
I have a Cycleops Fluid Squared trainer and am very happy with it. It has lots of progressive resistance and is pretty quiet. You can get it online for $230 at pricepoint.com. It has a lifetime warrantee against leakage. Good Luck
Andy
Product reviewsCliff Oates
Jul 4, 2001 9:54 AM
I read the product reviews on this site (actually mtbr.com) prior to buying a training stand, and based on those I ended up getting a Performance stand with the variable fluid resistance unit. FWIW, the stand is manufactured for Performance in Italy by the same folks that make Elite bottle cages. It works very well and is not too noisy, which is important to me as I live in a second floor apartment. I've had the stand for 18 months now, and I purchased it and the resistance unit on sale for $200.
re: What indoor trainer should I get?StewK
Jul 5, 2001 12:46 PM
I have a TacX Swingline and like it very much. It has plenty of resistance and it smooth to pedal (it's magnetic).
watt gaugeDog
Jul 5, 2001 12:51 PM
If you want to spend the money, I'd recommend getting one with some sort of watt gauge, so you'll know the power you're making. I really like the feature, as it tells me objectively how hard I'm riding. There are several that do it, but mine is a Performance something or other.

The fluids are a little smoother than the magnetics, but I've heard they can have less resistance or might eventually leak. I have both, as well as rollers, and I like the fluid with the watt gauge the best.

Doug