RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


The Terrible Two 2001(20 posts)

The Terrible Two 2001Dog
Jul 2, 2001 4:48 PM
Here's my ride report: http://www.midcalracing.com/terribletwo.htm

In a few words, it was tough.

Doug
re: The Terrible Two 2001MrCelloBoy
Jul 2, 2001 5:25 PM
Shoot Doug. Missed my chance to say hi. I'm Maury, the guy who led you out of town then warned you about the switchbacks as you started the Trinity descent. Rode the TT in '99 for the first time after lots of Davis Doubles. I thought the TT was easier.
Easier?Dog
Jul 2, 2001 5:33 PM
You must like climbing, that's all I can say.

Thanks for the help. Were you in the car or on the Ducati? I'd have said Hi if I'd known it was you, but I was pretty out of it anyway.

Doug
Car...MrCelloBoy
Jul 2, 2001 5:38 PM
I do like climbing, Davis gets so boring the last 50 miles. I'll try it again on the new Calfee tandem. I bet Davis is a kick on a tandem!
Also it's our local roads, so I'm familiar. That climb out of the canyon after Camp Gualala is a killer isn't it! I believe its about 17% for 2.7 miles wth no letup. You know all about it!
You should have borrowed the skeleton costume...Zignzag
Jul 3, 2001 12:14 PM
from the Wine Country Century volunteer who warns people of a steep hill on the double metric course. ;~)

My hat's off to the TT volunteers - you were great!

Hey, if you like the Davis Double but hate the Central Valley part, try the Knoxville Double in late September. It has all the good parts of the Davis Double (between Barryessa and Clear Lake) but substitutes Napa Valley riding for Central Valley riding (it starts in Vacaville). Also, the Napa Valley in Fall is awesome.
re: I feel your paincyclopathic
Jul 2, 2001 7:16 PM
as somebody who did 270mi ride last week /Bost 400k qual brevet/.

Well I did it on 46lbs touring bike with fried hubs (when I took wheels off I could not rotate front axle with my fingers, is it why I had to pedal downhill, huh?) in downpour rain (only ~1hr, so what my panniers picked up another 10lbs?) and it drizzled now and then.. I got lost (thus extra 20mi) rode 5hrs in the dark with 1hr battery charge, stopping and triple checking cue sheet (spare blinky makes good reading light IMO). DId I mention my fractured thumb? I think I still remember every pothole I hit in the dark. I came dead last, but I did not DNF

feel the grin
your brevet sounds like my lifeHaiku d'état
Jul 3, 2001 7:12 AM
sympathetic!

good one--i hope to have this much fun one day.
It's comforting to knowCliff Oates
Jul 2, 2001 7:32 PM
that whenever people think I'm nuts, I can always point at the folks doing doubles and brevets. Nice ride report Doug. I think I'll stick with centuries.
Well Done!! (nm)PsyDoc
Jul 3, 2001 5:41 AM
nm
Congrats & good writing!! (nm)Len J
Jul 3, 2001 6:33 AM
Nice ReportJon Billheimer
Jul 3, 2001 10:15 AM
Congratulations Doug. I really enjoyed your report. You remind me of a young-and not quite as obsessed-version of Pete Penseyres. Like you he raced a bit, but found that the longer the distance the more competitive he was. Resulting, of course, ultimately in his record setting RAAM performance. Perhaps you too,like him, "get your recovery" at your desk job, allowing you to continue piling up mileage that would kill us less gifted mortals.
re: The Terrible Two 2001Markar
Jul 3, 2001 10:22 AM
Doug nice recap. What was your bike setup, wheels, tires, gearing? Looks like a Colnago with ksyriums from the picture. Also, whats the deal with the gravel sections. Is this like that every year or were these sections under construction? Would you do it again? Train any differently? Thanks
setup and trainingDog
Jul 3, 2001 11:08 AM
Thanks. Bike setup was the Colnago with Ksyriums; Campy Record 10; 12-29 cassette; 53/39 rings; new Kestrel carbon bars; ITM Millenium stem; Speedplay X/1 pedals; Michelin Axial Pro Light tires; Performance Lunar Light tubes; Zipp carbon bottle cages (really like these).

I think it was normal for these roads to have some gravel sections, from what I heard from other riders. Additional, this is an active geothermal area, and the ground does some weird things, tearing up roads.

Sure, I'll do it again (assuming I'm not doing RAAM in June next year :-) ). For my training, I think I need more intensity and less endurance training for hilly doubles. My endurance is plentiful; in fact, I time trialed the last 20 miles nearly as fast as I could have fresh; I just can't climb as fast as I'd like on the long climbs. But, for something like the Furnace Creek 508, I'm probably on track. There, intensity isn't quite so important as the endurance.

Doug
close up photo added; big downloadDog
Jul 3, 2001 11:20 AM
Here's a close up if you want to see the bike better; I also added it to the internet page. You also see the terrain a little better. This photo was taken about 8 in the morning, near the top of a long, really steep hill called Geysers Road (if I'm recalling correctly - it's a little hazy).
12 x 29??ColnagoFE
Jul 3, 2001 11:27 AM
didja use the "medium cage" der or just avoid the extreme combos? did you find yourself using the 29 enough to justify it? just ordered a new wheelset and opted for the 13x26 since this was to be a climbing wheel...usually use a 12x25
12 x 29Dog
Jul 3, 2001 11:39 AM
It's a 13-29, but using a 12 cog and taking out the 16, I think. Had to use the medium cage Record derailleur. With all the really steep, long, climbs, the 29 was almost mandatory here. But remember, this is an extreme event, with lots of hard hills, heat, etc. In all honesty, I was bordering needing a triple. Even if the lower gears are not mandatory, they will help to save your legs.

Doug
Oscar Peterson, upon hearing Art Tatum ...Brian C.
Jul 3, 2001 11:31 AM
... play the piano is said to have wanted to quit playing then and there.
In a similar vein, after reading about your 200-mile odyssey over 13,000 feet of elevation ... well, the few pokey drumlins that break the horizon in this neck of the woods seem laughable. Like Oscar, I'm inclined to wonder: "What's the use?"
Of course, we won't pack it in; this cycling thing is too much fun. And we'll learn to be content with whatever challenges, however sublime, that the landscape provides. But the next time I struggle up the 150-foot escarpment hereabouts I'll feel a little more humble.

Have a great day! :-)
Oh, want to feel reeeeaaally bad?...Dog
Jul 3, 2001 11:57 AM
I'm very humbled both by the guys who do this event under 12 hours, but even more so by the RAAM'ers: take a look: http://www.raceacrossamerica.org/index.html

I suppose we just do it because we like it. Can't ever feel "what's the use?", or none of us but Lance Armstrong would be riding.

Doug
Please ride slowly for better photo...Zignzag
Jul 3, 2001 11:43 AM
That PhotoCrazy sign - alongside a road that's 15% - really cracks me up.

Great ride and report, Doug. Man, what a ride! I kept thinking to myself: this is brutal...this is beautiful...this is brutal...this is beautiful. Even with a 30x27 low gear I still had to switchback many of the climbs. A lot of work to get the tee shirt.
A classic rideStarliner
Jul 3, 2001 3:05 PM
Congrats Doug in fighting through a humbling and potentially humiliating experience and turning it into a personal achievement.

Being from Napa Valley, I can confirm that the Trinity climb and the screaming descent down Oakville Grade into Napa Valley are among the area's most stenuous workouts (see http://napanet.net/~eccweb/hills.htm). To think that they are just a few out of many such challenges you faced is amazing.