RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


O.K. grz monkey, you win! Spinergy rant...(11 posts)

O.K. grz monkey, you win! Spinergy rant...keith m.
Jun 29, 2001 6:45 PM
This is about the Spinergy wheels that Grz loves to hate. As some of you know, I have owned two sets of Spinergy Spox R-2 wheelsets. One for me, and one for the wife. Both sets had hub failure after very few miles. Took forever for Spinergy to fix them. Then one day while at Supergo, the manager offers me a set of the SR-3's for my campy equiped bike. Great I thought. I really like the way these wheels ride, until I hit about 1200 miles, then the other shoe dropped. The hub FAILED! And these are the Edco hubs, not the Spinergy designed garbage. Well, I took them back to have fixed under warranty. FIVE WEEKS LATER, I get them back after the manager finaly threatens the rep to bring over the parts or else. On the first ride out, my drivetrain (campy record ten) sounds like it's trying to chew itself up. After one week of trying to adjust my deraileur, and checking the alignment of EVERYTHING, and also checking to see if the frame (Bianchi EV2)is cracked, I finaly figure out that the hub is toast again, right from day one. CAN YOU SAY CHEESEWHIZ! Consider this a warning to anyone interested in Spinergy products!
plus, they make false claims of "vibration damping"Hank
Jun 29, 2001 10:49 PM
Spinergy claims their wheels "absorb 25% more road vibration than any conventional wheel design"

http://www.spinergy.com/road/pbo.asp

the folks at Ada have it right:

"To dampen road shock, a wheel would have to flex in the vertical plane, and no wheel does this."

http://www.ada.prorider.org/faq.html#Do%20the%20durabiliy%20and%20stiffness%20o
Their Rev-X's are great.Doll Face
Jun 29, 2001 11:09 PM
And are still being used extensively by 7UP, Mercury, Bonjour, Net Zero and others, even though they can ride with any Spinergy wheel.

Some of the European based teams are using them with Ambrosia decals - ie World Time Trial Champion Sergey Gontchar (Liquigas) in the Tour of Italy.
let me ask you this?keith m.
Jun 30, 2001 8:04 AM
do you think those teams (the riders specificaly)have to deal with Spinergy's customer service when they have a problem. NO! The mechanic just grabs a new set out of the truck and slaps them on. The old ones get sent back. You will hate dealing with their service if you ever have to. For both my Spox and my SR-3's, not only did they take forever, but they could'nt even say when they would be ready. Not on top of things!
re: O.K. grz monkey, you win! Spinergy rant...Roger in PA
Jun 30, 2001 5:09 AM
In the US Spinergy are making hubs for the SR-3's, so they may not be Edco produced hubs.

Sounds like you need a better mechanic in any case.
re: O.K. grz monkey, you win! Spinergy rant...Lardog
Jun 30, 2001 7:46 PM
I love my REVXs. No problems whatsoever. Some people claim them to be heavy. I don't know. My clinchers weigh in at around 100 grams over the Rolf Vector Pros. Not too heavy in my book.
re: O.K. grz monkey, you win! Spinergy rant...TJeanloz
Jul 1, 2001 12:06 PM
We sold a bunch of Litespeeds with the SR-3 with an Edco hub. The failure rate has been ~65%. It's not pretty for anybody.
re: O.K. grz monkey, you win! Spinergy rant...Ken
Jul 1, 2001 9:40 AM
For me it was a nobrainer. Italian CF bike, Record drivetrain and Campy wheels. No compatabiltiy problems. Works like a precision Swiss watch.
My Spox R2's have been fine...Lucky
Jul 1, 2001 3:16 PM
I had the rear hub bearing loosen after the first couple months, tightened it and had no trouble since. I've got 1900+ miles on mine, but then again, I'm a light rider, and I check my equipment often. I'll keep an especially close eye on the hub bearings after what you posted, and I'll mention it to some of my Spinergy-riding friends. Thanks.

Kathy
re: O.K. grz monkey, you win! Spinergy rant...xyz
Jul 2, 2001 8:06 AM
It took "one week" to figure that out?
Hubs OK, but I have other complaints...Jim A
Jul 2, 2001 2:30 PM
I have not had problems with my Spox R2 hubs, but I do have two design complaints. When truing the rear wheel, it seems to be impossible to get those two little custom spoke wrenches engaged on the left (crossed) side. The spokes cross so close to the hub that there's no room to get the wrenches in there. Also, it seems like there's no way to adjust spokes on the right side while the cassette on because my big cog (27) gets in the way. Anybody have a solution to the cross side problem? Also, the wheel diameter at the wheel centerline (between the rims) is larger than on most rims. This makes it VERY difficult to get some tires on, like my favorites - Axial Pros.