RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Are Small Bike Companies Good??(9 posts)

Are Small Bike Companies Good??Westies
Jun 26, 2001 10:37 PM
I have been looking around a lot for a new road bike! But there are some questions I have on them. Like I can not find that many companys that sell them and the big companys like Trek sell there bikes at a high price. But is it worth paying 1 or 3 grand more? I found a company called bp Stealth on the internet the other day and they have carbon fiber road frames and build kits; like Trek does, but the bp stealth frames are a little less expensive! Also if I were to buy a bp Stealth I would be helping out a smaller company! Yet I do not know that much about them ! I went to http://www.bpstealth.com and it had some info on them and then I found a store on the internet that carriers them at http://www.probikeriders.com But that's all I know about them. I also found a few other small bike companies too. If anyone knows about bp Stealth let me know! Also if there are any other good road bikes that are at a good price also let me know! Thanks!!
SampsonHoward
Jun 27, 2001 5:58 AM
Try www.sampsonsports.com. I bought a bike from them a few months ago and am very satisfied.
re: Are Small Bike Companies Good??Stangt
Jun 27, 2001 7:51 AM
MARINONI MAKE TOP QUALITY FRAMES AT VERY GOOD PRICES.
QUEBEC, CANADA. CANADIAN DOLLOR WILL GO A LONG WAY.
NO I AM NOT A SPONSER. JUST GOT THE DELTA PLUS EXCELLENT
re: Are Small Bike Companies Good??MrCelloBoy
Jun 27, 2001 9:25 AM
ibis and Calfee are another two great small companies. If you've noticed, some small companies get gobbled up and become part of BIG bike companies (Salsa, Klein, Fisher, Etc.) I think that says that the small companies did something right to attract the attention of the "biggies".
What are you looking for?Mike Prince
Jun 27, 2001 9:49 AM
You mention a good bike at a good price. Some of the major manufacturers (Trek, Cannondale, etc.) certainly have products that fit that bill. Jamis is a fairly small (at least from a marketing point of view) manufacturer whose bikes seem to offer great value for the money. Another is Univega. Airborne is another company that seems to get good reviews on this site and their pricing is certainly competetive with the "big boys". It all depends what you wish to spend and what you are looking for.

Depending on your price point, smaller independent builders may scare you away if you think Trek is expensive.

My opinion is that Steelman is one of the better small builders out there. I just built up their top of the line road frame into my dream bike. It is a huge improvement over my Cannondale which has been relegated to rain bike duty.

Is this your first bike? If you are looking for a good deal then maybe a used bike is the best option. One thing I would look for from a smaller company is a good warranty and a fit guarantee. Chances are you would be buying direct from a smaller company and support from your LBS could get expensive. Hope this helps.

Mike
What are you looking for?jschrotz
Jun 27, 2001 11:53 AM
Take a look at the following list. They're not going to be the cheapest bikes around, but they will be better than any thing hammered out on a production line by the likes of Trek and Cannondale. I won't mention those that have been brought up in previous messages. Most of them specialize in steel, although Seven is best known for their Ti frames. Anvil does Ti and Hampsten also has a Ti frame as well. Strong does steel, Ti, aluminum and Scandium.

Seven Cycles -- http://www.sevencycles.com (if $$ isn't a concern)
Ritchey -- http://www.ritcheylogic.com
Co-Motion -- http://www.co-motion.com (small builder in Oregon)
LandShark -- http://www.landsharkbicycles.com (another Oregon builder)
Hampsten Cycles -- http://www.hampsten.com (yes, as in Andy Hampsten)
Strong -- http://www.strongframes.com
Anvil -- http://www.anvilbikes.com
YES THEY ARE!!!Beaner
Jun 28, 2001 1:47 PM
I am getting sick of all the big bike companies controlling what people ride! The small independent bike companies make good bikes at good prices! Please buy a bike from one of the small guys!
YES THEY ARE!!!jschrotz
Jun 28, 2001 4:05 PM
I whole-heartedly agree that the smaller companies are the way to go. You'll never catch me throwing my money to one of the big bike companies. I don't care what pro rides their bikes. I also won't buy their components or bikes made by companies that the big company bought up. Stick to the little guys who pay attention to all of the small details that go into making a great bike. You're going to be depending on that bike to keep you from kissing pavement among other things, so set high standards and buy a bike that meets them.
re: Are Small Bike Companies Good??gusriley
Jun 28, 2001 7:40 PM
Check out Aegis. They're located in Maine and are a small outfit with some great CF bikes. www.aegisbicycles.com