RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Look arbon frames - any opinions?(17 posts)

Look arbon frames - any opinions?muncher
Jun 25, 2001 8:06 AM
Check out the deal at www.deesidecycles.com (and the mich tyres too).

Thinking about it - any views welcome....

Tks - M.
Carbon frames even....(nm).muncher
Jun 25, 2001 8:13 AM
Go for it.look271
Jun 25, 2001 3:49 PM
You won't be dissappointed. My kg 271 is the best bike I've ridden or owned. The 231 should be great for you as well, especially if you're not a bigger guy. The 231 would be flexier than the 271 or 281, but comfy, light, and rock-solid stable. Case in point; I came down the side of a mountain that I normally go up on that side. Hit 51.5 mph. It tracked true as an arrow and the road surface was less than smooth. Join the group!
re: Look arbon frames - any opinions?seamus
Jun 25, 2001 10:35 AM
I have a KG 281. The ride is awesome, and so far, everything else is great, including my dealings with US Importer Veltec Sports. One thing I've noticed is that you won't find much response from other riders on LOOK bicycles because they're pretty rare...you'll probably be the only one on the group ride with one.
Thanks.muncher
Jun 25, 2001 11:12 AM
Good to hear. What do you weight and what set-up have you got?

Funnily enough, there was one out on our ride yesterday, but that was an Al one - "look"ed nice though, ha ha.

M.
Thanks.seamus
Jun 25, 2001 11:16 AM
Mine has Ksyriums and Record 10, and weighs a little over 17 lbs.
Thanks.seamus
Jun 25, 2001 11:26 AM
There's another guy on this forum who goes buy the name KG271 who's been riding a Look KG271 for over a year now, with a buddy who rides a KG281. He told me they've both had zero problems and are very happy with their rides.
re: Look arbon frames - any opinions?Dave Hickey
Jun 25, 2001 12:10 PM
I have two LOOK bikes. The first one is a steel KG243. Sweet riding. The second is an older KG286. This frame is a monocoque similar to the Kestrel or Trek. The best bike I've ever owned. The bike your looking at is their entry level carbon frame. Geometry is the same as the KG271 and KG281. THe KG281 has hand shaped tubes whereas the KG131 has round tubes.
Good deal for carbon - but how old is this model?MeDotOrg
Jun 25, 2001 12:22 PM
KG 231 - is this current? How is it different from the 281?
Good deal for carbon - but how old is this model?seamus
Jun 25, 2001 12:26 PM
I don't think the KG231 is current in the US, but they may still be doing them in France. Check www.lookcycle.com to make sure. As for the differences, the KG281 is Look's most advanced frame. The lugs are slightly different, and the tubes are FEI (finite element analysis) designed, butted and shaped to address every element of stress that a frame goes through, and the 281 will be lighter and stiffer than the 231 but just as comfortable, especially if you get it with the HSC3 (not the 2) fork.
Good deal for carbon - but how old is this model?MeDotOrg
Jun 25, 2001 12:34 PM
KG 231 - is this current? How is it different from the 281?
Double Post - Sorry! (nm)MeDotOrg
Jun 25, 2001 12:35 PM
(nm)
Hold on.look271
Jun 25, 2001 4:29 PM
I have read that about the 171's as well, but trust me, the 281 (and 271) are not flexy at all. You are talking about a whole generation of developement between the two. I am 6' 185lbs and that bb won't flex for me, so I would not be concerened about it.
Hold on.JohnG
Jun 29, 2001 8:16 AM
I'm close to ordering a Kelme 281 and would like an opinion on the sizing and seat posts. Is the factory sizing chart accurate??? Also, how common is seat post slipage with this frame and the Look seat pin?? I've read this from a couple of people.

I normally ride a 54X54 cm frame and will probably order the 52cm Look frame.

Thanks JohnG
Hold on.seamus
Jun 29, 2001 10:26 AM
A couple things...

First, I have a yellow 281 and I totally love it. Quite possibly the best frame Ive had in 15 years of riding. For sizing I normally ride a 55cm but went for a 54 to get the top tube length right, and everything else fits perfect.

There can be some slippage issues, but it's not common, and it's the post, not the frame, that's the problem. My first frame had some bad seatpost slip, and after Veltec sent me a second seatpost, they ended up getting me a new frame and yet a third post. The third post also worked fine in my first frame, but they gave me a new one just to make sure I was happy...Veltec is a very, very cool outfit.

Careful on the Kelme and Credit Agricole paintjobs. They come with the HSC2 fork, which is known to be way too flexy. The other paint finishes come with the HSC3, which has slightly curved blades and is much, much stiffer.

That said, I'd highly recommend buying a KG281, even over other carbon and titanium offerings out there.
I'll second that. (nm)look271
Jul 2, 2001 8:34 PM
totalcycling.com has them for $1200 US!!Lazy
Jun 29, 2001 11:25 AM
With the HSC3. That caught my eye. I was thinking about getting one myself. They're $1850 US at excelsports.com with the HSC2!