RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Douglas frames?(8 posts)

Douglas frames?BillyGoat
Jun 24, 2001 7:17 PM
Does anyone know anything about the Douglas Ti frames sold by Colorado Cyclist? I heard that they're built by Litespeed.
Help!!!
re: Douglas frames?tirider
Jun 24, 2001 7:47 PM
I heard that they're made by Titanium Sports....
http://www.titaniumsports.com/. They are a Ti tube manufacturer (used to be Sandvig I believe) who also welds the Ti frames for Mongoose and Dean. I wouldn't hesitate to get one in lieu of the likes of Habanaro or Airborne.
Agreepmf
Jun 25, 2001 9:20 AM
I looked into "bargain ti" for a friend last year. The frames sold by TST seemed like the best deal. They are full alloy rather than alloy and CP mix tubes as is the Airborne (CP, or commercially pure ti tubes aren't as strong as alloy). They're made in the U.S. rather than China as is Habenero (I avoid stuff made in China for political reasons).

You can get the plain jane frame from TST for $700. However, you'd be hard pressed to build it up with the stuff CC is offering for any cheaper. So, IMO, the Douglas bike being sold by CC is a bargain.
ResearchSteveS
Jun 25, 2001 3:50 PM
I am impressed with a person who does a thorough job of research, so as the avowed owner of an Airborne, exactly how many Airborne frames with CP4 ( you do mean the bottom bracket and headtube only to be correct don't you?) have failed in this area? If one has done research that shows this as a deficiency, there must be a significant number of failures to base your opinion upon, otherwise there is no statistical or performance difference. A hint: I know the answer in advance, make sure you make an accurate statement.

I have no problem with a buyer getting a Douglas frame, but I have been unable to find a website other the CC, is there one? Isn't this frame warranted for only 5 years? Mine has a lifetime frame replacement warranty, what is CC's policy?

It is true that TST no longer makes Dean ti frame, but as Sandvik they did produce Dean's, so the prospective buyer can search the archives to read what owner's said of their Dean/Sandvik/TST frames, that is, if the archives still have the reviews in them from MTBR.
Not DEANbike_junkie
Jun 25, 2001 2:06 PM
TST hasn't built frames for DEAN in a couple years. All their frames are done in-house in Boulder, and worth a look for Ti on a budget.
re: Douglas frames?rodemiles
Jun 25, 2001 5:36 AM
I just recently (last week) received my Douglas from Colorado Cyclist. I have absolutely no complaints in any area: the bicycle or the experience with CC. The frame is absolutely beautiful and rides really nice. I've been a lifelong steel rider and expected there to be a noticeable difference in the ride, but the Douglas rides as good as anything I've ever ridden. Thoroughly satisfied.
re: Douglas frames?Lone Gunman
Jun 25, 2001 9:28 AM
So if there was no big diff in the steel to Ti ride, then I like 853 steel and I should stick with steel?
re: Douglas frames?rodemiles
Jun 25, 2001 11:01 AM
I went with the titanium because of the maintenance. I've destroyed every steel frame I've had with my sweat. No matter how vigilant I am about keeping it wiped down and clean, eventually it begins to rust around the bottom bracket. By the time this happens, usually around 4 or 5 years, the equipment on it is beginning to be obsolete also. I really can't compare 853 to titanium since I've always ridden Columbus frames, but I have heard some pretty good comments about it.