RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone here have experience with Performancebike?(21 posts)

Anyone here have experience with Performancebike?peloton
Jun 23, 2001 12:34 PM
In what seems like a neverending search for new tires, I found a good deal on some Michelin Hi-Lite Prestiges from Performancebike. The Axial Pros are my favorite tire, but I can get three Hi-Lites for a little more than one AP. I went ahead and ordered up three Hi-Lites and some Michelins ultra-lite tubes to go with them. I was just curious to see if anyone else has ordered from Performance, and what they are like to deal with.
re: Anyone here have experience with Performancebike?KEN2
Jun 23, 2001 12:41 PM
Lots of people on this board have a "relationship" with Performance, since they also operate as a quasi-LBS in many large markets. Plus they're the largest mail-order bike outfit.

I've had very good experience with them in multiple mail orders. And I've run those same Michelin tires and they are an excellent value. Not "cool" like Axial Pros but light and grippy with a good road feel, and they wear well.
No ProblemsRich Clark
Jun 23, 2001 1:26 PM
I've used them quite a bit without issues. No problems with returns when necessary, no undue delays in shipment. Their prices are not the best except for on-sale stuff, and since they have a lot of brick-and-mortar stores in a lot of states, chances are good you'll have to pay sales tax on your online orders.

My favorite jerseys -- coolmax jerseys with Henley collars! -- were made by Performance (now discontinued).

Performance now owns their former main competitor, Bike Nashbar, but their operations are still separate.

RichC
Also no problems here.boy nigel
Jun 23, 2001 1:44 PM
They have some of the lowest prices you can find, and often have things on sales (Their Web site has lots of on-sale and clearance items).

Their customer relations people are plenty nice, and they pretty much deliver when and where they're supposed to.

I'm a member of Team Performance. This costs about $25 a year, but they upgrade shipping of every order to 2nd-day UPS for FREE. Also, for each order you place, they take 10% of that order (the goods, though, not the shipping costs) OFF your next order. Well worth the $25. Plus, they have special deals available only to Team members.

They're one of the best around, and have a pretty decent, mainstream collection of stuff. Nothing particularly racy or Euro-looking, but for the most part, good stuff and good brands.

Nige
QualifiersBQ
Jun 23, 2001 5:14 PM
First, I just purchased a membership and the fee was $20, not $25. Makes me wonder if the fee will go up next year.

Second, you may not get 10% off of your very next order. To quote their fine print: "Members must earn a one time minimum of 1000 points (purchase $100) before points may be redeemed". That said, it's pretty easy to spend $100 on bike stuff, especially at their store. Nice place, nice people, good products. What's not to like?
re: Anyone here have experience with Performancebike?Cigar
Jun 23, 2001 2:27 PM
6 orders or so never a problem.
re: Anyone here have experience with Performancebike?GregJ
Jun 23, 2001 2:56 PM
I have always had good experiences with Performance. I am currently riding these tires and like them quite well, they were a great deal for 3. Michelin tubes have been my standard for years.
re: Anyone here have experience with Performancebike?DINOSAUR
Jun 23, 2001 8:11 PM
I've been doing business with them for two years. I did experience some trouble last year when they were changing ware houses, then they merged with Nashbar, which was another glitch. They have super deals once and awhile. I just ordered three Forte Pro Kevlars @ $19.98 a tire. The only problem I have found with mail order is that you must plan in advance and don't wait until you desperately need an item, because if you do, Murphy's Law dictates that you will have a problem. Sort of like talking about flat tires. I don't belong to Team Performance but I am thinking about joining. It cost $20.00 a year, and you get automatic 2nd day ship at no extra charge. A tip..don't order anything on a weekend, they won't ship until Mon or Tue, it's best to order around the middle of the week.
The only problem I have encountered is with clothing items. Each manufacturer sizes differently and you take a chance unless you are familar with a certain brand. Primal Wear for instance, sizes small, so you need to order a larger size than usual.
Better late then nevercycleguy
Jun 23, 2001 11:23 PM
I have been dealing with them for over four years. I have also been a team member at 20 per year. And they have a local shop in my area. For shimano parts and just clothes they have a good selection. I have never been disapointed with their house brand for inexpensive shorts and jerseys. And they offer some great deals. Free shipping on items orderd that were not in stock, from their sale items, when ordered from a store. My first choice for the basic stuff, not high end or campy.
Thanks for the repliespeloton
Jun 23, 2001 10:09 PM
Performance has been around so long, and grown so large that I figured they must have a few happy customers justifying their size. I was just a little curious in dealing with a mail order that I have not dealt with before. I see from eveyone's responses that they can be pretty good. Thanks for confirming that with me.

If anyone is looking for some new tires, you should check out their website. They have some great deals on a lot of different tires if you buy them in threes. The Michelins that I ordered were $56 for three, usually $36 each.

I should thank this site too for the product reviews. They were a big part of the reason I went for the tires that I picked.
Isn't Michelin Axial Supercomp better than Hi-lites?vram
Jun 23, 2001 11:11 PM
The Supercomps are also on sale-3 for $60. I would spend the extra $4 and get the supercomps they come closer to your Axial Pros than the Hi-lites prestige.
Avoid the Axial Supercomps...Andy M-S
Jun 24, 2001 5:39 AM
I bought six of these this spring from Performance in two batches. I initially was using them on rollers, and they have a NOTICEABLY lower rolling resistance on rollers than most other tires I've used. That's the good side.

The bad side: Aesthetically, they were a mess. The green stripe down the center moved around from left to right (wasn't straight) indicating poor lay-up. And they had hops--in the TIRE! My LBS checked the wheels, and they were perfect. I mounted and remounted the tires, and could not get rid of the uneveness. Finally, I removed them and replacing them with HiLite Comps, and the latter mounted perfectly the first time.

Also, the Axial Supercomps are not as flat-resistant as they're made out to be. I did around 4,000 miles last year without a flat. 300 miles into the Axial Supercomps, the rear took a cut right through the casing.

On a bright note, I returned all six tires to Performance, and within a week or so had a check for all the tires plus shipping. One thing I'll say for certain: Performance has great customer relations!
Avoid the Axial Supercomps...I've had great luck with these...keith m.
Jun 24, 2001 9:16 AM
I've been training on them for the last six months with no problems at all. Same tire as the axial pro but with an added belt. My only complaint is getting them on and off the rims (ouch!).
Avoid the Axial Supercomps...I've had great luck with these...peloton
Jun 24, 2001 7:09 PM
I avoided the Supercomps because I have heard of some being out of true with hops in the tire. I used to ride the older versions of the Hi-Lites in the past and enjoyed them. I figured that I would give the 2001 version a try. The 2001 uses a lot of the same bi-density technology found on the AP's, and has recieved good reviews on this site, and from other sources I've heard. The weight and the ride is comparable to the AP's from what I have seen.

Since the order, I actually ordered three more. At that deal, I'm in tires for a while now. Good, inexpensive tires are a good thing.
DO NOT LET THEM SEND THE ORDER USPS!!!WadeOmatic
Jun 24, 2001 5:53 AM
Unless you don't care when you get it. I had to order a duplicate order (and pay 2x until I get the USPS one returned). They said "regular shipping" and I thought they meant like everybody else every other time-them included--UPS ground--three to four days MAXIMUM.

It came slow boat. Must have been tough in the mountains.
ELEVEN FREAKING DAYS to go from there to here. (540 miles).

Now I make sure, on any order from anybody, that it is coming by something other than USPS--unless I don't care when I get it.
re: Anyone here have experience with Performancebike?hwy45
Jun 24, 2001 9:07 AM
I'm a Team Performance member and I have had good experiences with them. I live in Chicago about 1 mile from a Performance store so I shop online and at the store. Sometimes they have specials at one that the other doesn't have. Also I bought the Hi Lite Prestiges and after 300 miles I like them. I also felt that the tires had enough positive reviews on this site so i tried them. Good Luck
No problems.look271
Jun 24, 2001 10:34 AM
BTW, I had a set of those tires. I really liked them. They ride really nice and seem to roll well.
Cheap Axial Prosgwilliams
Jun 25, 2001 5:36 AM
I just bought 4 Axial Pros, Grey/Black, for $104 including shipping from Parker-International.

Gary
I seldom use them anymoreScottH
Jun 25, 2001 6:48 AM
They were the first mail order shop I ordered from. I had the team performace membership for a while. After a couple years of constant problems, lost memberships, out of stock items, etc, I stopped using them. I like PricePoint and ExcelSports much better. On some things though, I still just order from the place with the lowest price.

good luck
No problemsDean
Jun 25, 2001 6:51 AM
I have had no problems with them. The only thing I would change is that the people taking your orders sometimes know nothing about bikes.
Beware of in-store pricesAlan B
Jun 25, 2001 9:59 AM
I've shopped Performance regularly for over a year and generally like the store, the prices, the Club features and the "Performance" brand products (especially plain jersies on sale for $20 and Kevlar Pro tires for $20-$25). BUT, and this is a big "but" for me, when shopping at the store (2 stores in Orange County, CA) the price items ring up at is ALMOST NEVER the sale price in flyers, on the web, etc. If you're shopping at the store and counting on a price you've seen in a catalog, sale flyer or on the web, ALWAYS bring it with you.