RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Italian Steel frames(26 posts)

Italian Steel framesLone Gunman
Jun 22, 2001 8:01 PM
I got the hots for an Italian steel frame. Narrowed choices down to a Gios, Coppi, or Pinarello. Any ride experience comments appreciated.
Right idea, wrong frames. Tommasini, Moser, Merckx are best..calm
Jun 22, 2001 11:14 PM
Merckx is not Italian (nm)tommyb
Jun 23, 2001 6:00 PM
nm
More on Merckx, and others..calm
Jun 23, 2001 7:54 PM
Ugo DeRosa did get Merckx started in the business, and built many of Eddy Merckx's bikes during his career. I choose these three bikes because of their geometry, they have laid back seats and long top tubes compared to Colnago and others.
Pinerellos have short TTs....sykelist
Jun 23, 2001 9:13 PM
....compared to Colnagos. Check out the geometry charts on their websites. You might want to look at a Cinelli Super Corsa too. Beautiful bike.
Yes, the Cinelli Super Corsa is a cool steel bike. nm.calm
Jun 23, 2001 11:29 PM
re: Italian Steel framesJohnG
Jun 23, 2001 12:14 AM
You should certainly take a look at the Colnago steel frames also.

Good rides
JohnG
Check out Pegoretti or Mondonico. NTCar Magnet
Jun 23, 2001 7:19 AM
re: Italian Steel framesmackgoo
Jun 23, 2001 8:12 AM
And Bianchi. From the race shop.
re: Italian Steel framesMothhunter
Jun 23, 2001 11:03 AM
I just ordered a Mondonico EL-OS. I too wanted Italian steel and the craftsmanship of the Mondonico is hard to beat. I'm betting you'd be happy with any of the frames you mentioned. The Pinarello Opera is a sweet frame, and light for steel. Good Luck.
re: Italian Steel framescycleguy
Jun 23, 2001 11:55 PM
Two choices that you will not see everyday. Mondonica and Marin. I have fallen in love with Mondonica. The best craftsmanship I have seen. A true family business from what I have found. And you can also get their frames painted in the US if wanted. But I love the orange to black fade from Italia! No I have not ridden one but sometimes you just gotta believe! I have however tried the Marin and its a great bike. Yet for some reason they are not that well known. They just look and ride great
You didn't explain why >>>>>>>>>>>>Live Steam
Jun 23, 2001 11:21 AM
your choices were narrowed to these three mfgs., but if you are still open to suggestion, I woild consider the Pegoretti Tri-State mentioned. I saw one recently for the first time and was impressed by the quality of the craftsmanship and it's fine lines of geometry and detail. By the way, Tri-State, where are you in the Tri-state region. I'm on Staten Island.
no Tommasini or Colnago?C-40
Jun 23, 2001 1:47 PM
Tommasini is one of the finest in the business. The $900 Sintesi is a better buy than the Gios Compact Pro, IMO.

Check out www.tommasini.com. The lugged Tecno is probably the finest example of classic steel around. The quality of paint and chrome are better than Gios. Tommasini has painted and clearcoated graphics, not decals.
Master X lightLou M
Jun 23, 2001 3:00 PM
Try the Colnago Master X light, widely known also rated (bicycling mag) as the best steel frame. I love mine.
Master X lightDINOSAUR
Jun 23, 2001 8:24 PM
I'm buying a Master Xlight 8-18-02. It will be my reward to myself for lasting 60 years on this earth.
Lou, I installed the Forte Pro Kevlars today, I haven't ridden with them yet. I will let you know how they work out.
Dino
Master X lightSteel Fan
Jun 23, 2001 9:50 PM
I have to give a ringing endorsement to "Steel by Colnago". Got my Master X Light about a month ago. Absolutely terrific. Climbs like a champ, descends on rails, and eats up New England pavement with style and grace. Stomp on it and it goes. I was in the thick of a tightly contested sprint earlier today - fast run-in to a right hand turn that leads to an uphill sprint. The road surface was cracked and chipped. Out of the saddle, in the drops, through a turn, through the rough stuff, and the Master X Light tracked through it all perfectly, giving me 100% traction and pedal-to-the-metal power. I am not fibbing when I say that the bike has increased my level of confidence and comfort.

Train on it. Race on it. Do it all.

Be warned that the fit is not for everyone - a shorter than normal top tube was what I needed, but is at odds with certain body types.
Master X light - what did you expect?.calm
Jun 23, 2001 11:32 PM
Steel is the hot new trend in high performance road bikes!
So are you giving the Klein away? I'll take it gladly.9WorCP
Jun 23, 2001 10:13 PM
Hell, I'll pay for the shipping. Actually my goal is to get a C-40 before I'm forty. Five more years of saving.

On a side note, did you ever get those Ultegra Caps?
So are you giving the Klein away? I'll take it gladly.DINOSAUR
Jun 23, 2001 11:05 PM
I'll never part with my Klein, I'll just have to figure how to hang two bikes in my garage when the time comes.

Electronic mail has it's benefits. I emailed my LBS, who also is in the online mail order business (Cambria Bicycle Emporium), and advised them of my problem (I was told to contact Shimano, Shimano does not do business with the public, you have to go through a dealer). They emailed me back (taking about two days) and they said to see the owner of the LBS and they can order the Ultegra caps). Sounds like I was provided bad information by a stressed out, over-worked sales clerk. I think I'll order two pair. The chip seal roads I ride on vibrate them into oblivion. I think Shimano had an engineering problem when they designed these things.

Oh well, my next bike with have Campy, what else on an Italian bike?
Master X lightJohnG
Jun 23, 2001 11:59 PM
Congrats on the MXlight. I'm about 200 miles into mine. The 54cm is surprisingly stiff for my 150# weight. I'm going to put another 500 miles on the bike before I put a detailed review up. First impression, however, is that it is much closer (in feel) to my ex Caad5 than I had expected.

YMMV and best wishes JohnG
Master X lightAD14
Jun 24, 2001 7:08 AM
I have seen a lot of glowing reviews of the Masterlights here and just a word of caution-mine is stiff, partly because of the heavy stiff steel fork. If your just a recreational rider you may want a more compliant ride. If you go with the master get a carbon fork and as mentioned above be aware that the top tube on a 57 center to top is only 55.5cm(FOR INSTANCE).
Master X lightJohnG
Jun 24, 2001 3:12 PM
I put a Star carbon fork on my MasterX frame. The bike handles very well.... very stable at speed, albeit a bit sketchy when hitting big bumps. Climbs VERY well.... absolutely as stiff and responsive as the Caad5.

My comments are geared toward serious riders who put 150+ miles per week on a bike. I stand by my cautionary note!

Also, the TT's on Colnagos are not exceptionaly short. Once you factor in the steep seat tube angle the effective TT length is well within the common range.

YMMV JohnG
Master X lightLou M
Jun 24, 2001 4:17 PM
Hey Dino,

Let me know how these ride. I am looking to buy some tires, if a get a good deal I might just stack up and buy a few pairs.

The Master XL sounds like a great present, I am sure you will love it. I have been riding my XL hard now for two months and I love it more everyday.

Good riding,
Lou
Tomorrow is the test....DINOSAUR
Jun 24, 2001 7:33 PM
I'll find out tomorrow. My main concern is durability. I wonder how the Forte's will hold up. Comparing them with my Conti's, the Conti's appear beefier and to be of better quality, comparing them side by side.. Then again I just ordered three more Forte Pro Kevlars @ $19.98. If they last around 1k , I'll be happy. If I could find Conti GP3000's at that price I'd order a truck load of them. No matter what, I'm sticking with all black tires in the future.

What gruppo on your Master X-light?
Tomorrow is the test....Lou M
Jun 25, 2001 10:22 AM
the frame is a 2000 edition and the gruppo is Campy Record 8 speed on Campy shamal wheels. I bought the bike used. Everything works great, I am mostly happy with the frame, if it can take my punishment (230lbs) it has passed the test. I can't say enough about it, I have owned aluminum Bianchis in the past, no comparison.

How are you planning to equip your new ride?
The Forte Pro Kevlar's are great....DINOSAUR
Jun 25, 2001 2:27 PM
The Forte Pro Kevlar's get an A. Very smooth riding, low rolling resistance, grips the road well. Very nice feel, I liked them right off the bat. The Conti's have a softer rubber compound and a harder ride. I have a flat spot on my rear rim, created when I flatened on a descent. I never noticed it riding the Conti's, when I hit a smooth portion of asphalt I can feel it with the Forte's. They match well with my Klein. These are the best riding tires I have come across since I stopped riding with tubulars in the middle 80's. The tread pattern on the Conti's had a habit of picking up little small pieces of gravel I came across on the chip seal roads I travel. The test will to see how they hold up. I ordered three more on sale @59.54 for three tires. This must have been a special offer, I deleted the message from Performance and I can't retrieve it.
I'd buy three more at this price, you can't beat them.

I'm thinking of going Campy Chorus or Dura Ace with my Colnago. If I keep on having rides like I had today with my Klein, I just going to rebuild it, and drop the money saved into a nice work stand and bike tools, and learn how to get down and dirty and do my own work on my bike.

I've never been a weight weenie, but I went back to the Giro Fizik Pave saddle that came stock with my Klein, swapping out my Brooks pro, and I went back to a smaller saddle bag and quit carrying a lot of extra stuff I never used. And I can say that it made a big difference. Perhaps not in the weight saving, but the bike was better balanced and more responsive. Maybe Doug Sloan has something there...