RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


klein or cannondale(11 posts)

klein or cannondaletstamm
Jun 21, 2001 9:52 AM
I need some opinions, I am 6', 172 lbs. and cannot decide between buying a 2001 quantum race or a 2001 cannondale r2000si. Which one would you choose? I have ridden both and they feel equally comfortable.
re: klein or cannondalequisp
Jun 21, 2001 9:57 AM
simple answers depending on your priorities:
the one that fits better, the one that is cheaper, the one that looks cool, THE ONE YOU LIKE BEST- you have to live with it, so only you can make the right decision
re: klein or cannondalePsyDoc
Jun 21, 2001 10:04 AM
If they truly feel equally comfortable, then I guess your decision comes down to cost and which one you like the best. If you like the look of one bike over the other, then go with that. Some people would prefer not to have internal cable routing whereas others like the look of it. Some people truly "drool" over the paint job of Klein's while others do not even give it a look. Basically, I guess you should base your decision on which bike you will truly enjoy riding the most. After the decision is made, then more than likely you will start to find fault with the bike you did not choose in an attempt to justify your decision...at least that's what consumer research shows.
Would lean towards the Klein...vram
Jun 21, 2001 10:16 AM
Although my last steed was a Cannondale and I loved it, I have also test-ridden the Klein quantum race. I just love the paint job and finish on the Kleins compared to the Canondales. Klein is a pioneer in designing oversized tubes, but Cannondales are race-proven and have improved significantly every year. It is a hard choice. How about the component group and wheelset? How do they compare?
kleinWadeOmatic
Jun 21, 2001 4:04 PM
I've owned many 'dales. I would go for the Klein. They look better and are more design stable. The 'dales go out of date really quickly compared to other bikes. And EVERYbody's got a 'dale.
another for klein...jba
Jun 21, 2001 5:24 PM
I'm about the same height and weight as you. I ride a 1996 57cm Klein Quantum II which is essentially the same frame as the quantum race. I am impressed with the bike every time I take it out for a ride. I can't explain it... the bike just "feels" right. maybe it was a good fit for me. The ride is not harsh despite the solid feel of the rear triangle when sprinting or climbing out of the saddle. The front end handles nicely too. The bike behaves predictably.

The frame has held up well despite what some people claim to be a delicate frame because of the thin-walled aluminum. I've only crashed twice (never hit anything; just slid out on slippery surfaces and had the bike tumble a bit). There was no damage except scratches. The paint holds up very well.

I really dig the internal cable routing and snazzy paints (not sure if klein is still routing cables internally for its road bikes). At any rate, the bike looks sharper and cleaner without the cablestops and cables all over the place. Makes it easier to clean also.

My only complaint has to do with the rear-facing drop-outs. It's nice that they are tiny and lightweight, but the fact that they face rearwards makes it harder and sloppier to remove/replace the rear wheel. I always have to touch the chain to loop it onto the cassette. But this is a minor problem.

I love the bike...my next road bike will be another klein.
Rear dropoutsGadfly
Jun 22, 2001 9:58 AM
I never understood why some Klein owners have problems with the rear-facing "microdrops". IMHO, they make rear tire changes a breeze, very quick. Never any problems.
re: klein or cannondaleCrash
Jun 21, 2001 11:59 PM
I just purchased an R2000si a couple of weeks ago and I love the bike. I hadn't ridden a Cannondale road bike in about 12 years and am really amazed at the progress they have made. Very well equipped, full Ultegra and Mavic Ksyrium wheels. I'm just over 5'10" and the 56cm fits me perfectly. That said though, I also really like the looks of the Klein and they have a great reputation as well. As most people will tell you one of the bikes will probably fit you better, make sure you ride them enough to see which. Also, look at the components of each bike. Which dealer do you like better ? Does one of them have a better service waranty ? I think you will be really happy with either bike you pick, they're both great bikes.
One last thing, have you looked at the Trek 5200 ? Another really nice bike in the same price range. If you have a Trek dealer near, you should take one for a spin !
re: klein or cannondalegot2ryd
Jun 22, 2001 6:06 AM
so, what color did you get? i got mine a couple of months ago in yellow. love it!
re: klein or cannondaleCrash
Jun 22, 2001 9:47 AM
Yellow ! I thought the silver was nice, but I wanted something a little more 'visible' for the road. The bike is just incredible !
I bought it to build up my conditioning for off-road, but I'm having soo much fun with the R2000si it may be awhile before I get back to my mountain bike ! A question, what kind of pedals do you use ? I'm using SPD's with Sidi dominators to start with, but I plan on getting Sidi Genius Mega's soon. What's a really good road pedal ???
Thanks !
re: klein or cannondaleLardog
Jun 22, 2001 8:44 AM
Gotta go Klein. I ride a Quantum Pro myself. Newton bars, DA, Ult. brakes, Spynergy Rev X, Synchros post, etc.

The new CAAD6 frameset is pretty tempting though, but it's still a 'Dale....