RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Opinions on these frames.(21 posts)

Opinions on these frames.Thioderek
Jun 20, 2001 11:16 AM
I have an extra Record 10 speed grupo laying around the house (dont ask me why) that I want to use. Here are my choices in frames(I am up for other suggestions-as long as it isnt a CDALE):

Colnago - I really have no idea which frame to choose-they have so many.

DeRosa - I ride a Merak. I was considering another Merak, but I think I want a different bike with a similar ride. Two in the same house would be a little much.

Ciocc - I dont know anything about these bikes.

Wilier - I know nothing about these bikes.

Peracini - I know nothing about these bikes.

I want something that is comparable to the weight and the handling of the Merak (1100 gr - made out of the Scandium stuff). It is a tight, stiff, sometimes unforgiving ride that handles like a dream. I dont want something that is heavier than the Merak or it will mess up the way I ride.

Any feedback would be appreciated.
re: Opinions on these frames.Lardog
Jun 20, 2001 11:32 AM
Well, I've got some info on the Ciocc. Stick with the top of the line, the Challenger Carbon. Dedacciai SC 61.10 tubing, carbon chainstays. One of the most beautiful and light bikes I've ever seen. Ciocc is along the lines of the Coppi's, Masi's, etc.

I must ask, why are these your choices? Ciocc is also on of the most expensive bikes for an American to acquire.

I saw one at a local shop in L.A. and talked it up so much at my club rides that a friend of mine turned up with the Challenger at the beginning of this season. He got a GOOD deal on the bike with Record 10 at $5500. Good luck.
re: Opinions on these frames.MCCL
Jun 20, 2001 12:58 PM
I am also leaning towards the CIOCC and think I know why this person is in love with it. Since you know about it I would like to know what it ride is like. I currently ride a Masi 3V and like it's ride but not it's weight. You said there is a LBS in the LA area that handles this bike. Could you be so kind as to inform me of them. The bike is much cheaper in England and I do think that is where this person is coming from because the bike shop I know of in England handles all these current named frames except Pinerrelo. The price of the Ciocc is around 1000.00 dollars. Thanks
You are right.Thioderek
Jun 20, 2001 1:05 PM
The bike shop in England has amazingly low prices.
You are right.MCCL
Jun 20, 2001 3:17 PM
Thioderek are you in touch with Mike at the shop. Ask him what he thinks of Ksyrium wheels. Have you got their flyer with prices. That CIOCC LOOKS BOSS. Good luck with your purchase.
You are right.Thioderek
Jun 20, 2001 3:31 PM
I actually have a set of Ksyriums laying around the house with the gruppo because of the upgrade that never happened. I havent ridden them yet because I didnt know what I was going to do with them.

I think we are talking about the same shop in England though, but I dont know if I have been in contact with Mike.
re: Opinions on these frames.Lardog
Jun 20, 2001 1:27 PM
I. Martin Imports on Beverly had one last time I was in. Bike Adrenaline in Simi Valley as well. I know where the one at Adrenaline went, to my friend.... :( I ride a Klein Quantum Pro.

I indeed fell heavy for the Ciocc, just couldn't lay down the over $5500 necessary. The going rate that I've seen anywhere in the U.S. for the CHALLENGER frame/fork set is somewhere around $2200US. Could go get a steel one today for $700US. Alu for $1300.
1899terry b
Jun 20, 2001 4:37 PM
at Bulltek sports (http://www.bullteksports.com), Challenger = 1899. considering it comes with the fork, and even with Record 10, how did your friend jack it up to $5500? seems more like $4000 to me.
1899Lardog
Jun 21, 2001 10:22 AM
I don't know, maybe wheels?
Masi? pleasehuh
Jun 20, 2001 1:04 PM
Ciocc and Coppi bikes are out of (modern) Masi's league... if you meant old Masi, that's another animal altogether- doesn't compare
Masi? pleaseMCCL
Jun 20, 2001 3:08 PM
Yes, it is a old Masi. In fact it's the commemorative Russian 3B which is all in Russian. In fact it has the CCCP on it. I guess I am still a com ey Bastard! Still get's a lot of attention. But it's time for a new one and that CIOCC is tit's on my list. If any one is interested in the England supplier which made a statement to me about the fact that only 10 Colnago Millenniums were shipped to England and his shop got 6 of them. Also a third of his business is exporting and he can get it to your door not to a shop. I will if any one is interested give his E-mail and Web address tomorrow. The pound is very weak vs the dollar and the time is now as my friend is pondering above. Also the price of Record makes you want to strip the Durace right off your current bike. I think the pound is low right now due to the English being hesitant to join the EURO. or is that BURO. Hey thanks for the shops in LA guy's. I still want to test ride one of these CIOCC. Is there any current team's ridding on them?
Ciocc please!!Cima Coppi
Jun 20, 2001 4:01 PM
Ciocc's are awesome frames, and they have been building high quality frames since the '70's

There is a Division 2 team in Europe whose bicycle sponsorship is Ciocc, but I have been unable to find out which team they are. I believe they rode in the Giro last year.
CioccAurora
Jun 20, 2001 6:02 PM
Old Ciocc was known for steel (Columbus, way before Dedacciai arrived on the scene), not the newfangled alu, alu/carbon. I don't think Giovanni Pelizzoli or his boys are even involved in the Ciocc business anymore... it's part of the Masciaghi conglomerate (Coppi, Gion, etc.). And the new eagle motif I just don't get.

Watch out for golf balls.
Funnymike mcmahon
Jun 20, 2001 6:16 PM
Watch out for golf balls. It took me a minute.
Colnago Milennium????JohnG
Jun 20, 2001 9:30 PM
Please explain.... never heard of such a thing. Doesn't Ciocc make a "millennium" model.... is that what you ment?

Thanks JohnG
re: Opinions on these frames.Hank
Jun 20, 2001 11:49 AM
I'd look at the latest and greatest from Colnago, Pinarello and Merckx (which has Italian threads). You can check 'em all out at cbike.com. Can't go wrong if you see one that will fit. Pinarello Prince or Merckx Team SC look pretty sweet (you didn't mention a price range). Have fun.
re: Opinions on these frames.Brian C.
Jun 20, 2001 11:54 AM
I can vouch only for Colnago's Master X-light: the Columbus steel tubing is so smooth to drive and very comfortable over the long haul (at least compared with the aluminum Cannondale and maybe that's a wrong comparison).
Pray tell, though, how do you enjoy such an embarrassment of riches, having a spare Record laying about the house? (Don't tell, if you don't want to; just curious.)
It was an accident.Thioderek
Jun 20, 2001 12:03 PM
I had an accident on my other road bike and was going to upgrade the whole gruppo. I bought the parts and then saw the DeRosa on Ebay and couldnt resist. It was too late to send the gruppo back and it has been in the box ever since. I just cant stand seeing it go to waste, so I am going to build up another bike. I might build it up to sell it, but I doubt it.
re: Opinions on these frames.JohnG
Jun 20, 2001 9:34 PM
I just finished my 54cm MasterX and as much as I love the bike it is NOT as "smooth" as I had hoped. It's actually nearly as stiff as my Caad5 01 frame. :( Oh well..... works better for heavier riders (and bigger frames) I'm sure.

JohnG
Opinions on these frames.CFVeloDan
Jun 21, 2001 11:51 AM
My favorite bike is the Pinarello Montello. That is the nicest frame I have ever seen. Plus I am a carbon fiber fan.
re: Opinions on these frames.Lazy
Jun 21, 2001 1:14 PM
My opinion: the best frame to throw those components on is mine! But, barring that I have seen a few of the Wilier frames. They look pretty sweet. No idea how they ride.

Look at some of the higher end Carrera's (Hercules, Giove, etc...). They make a nice bike. I have a lesser alu. Carrera and it's a sweet ride so I'm sure the higher end ones are way cool.

Also, there's an F. Moser scandium frame that's way light.

For more info see http://www.redroseimports.com


Man, I wish I had this problem.