RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Think we'll ever see disc brakes on road bikes?(53 posts)

Think we'll ever see disc brakes on road bikes?keith m.
Jun 20, 2001 11:07 AM
would be nice to lose the ugly brakes on the frame and forks. Not to mention no worries about overheating the rim on fast long descents.
are you serious?ColnagoFE
Jun 20, 2001 11:22 AM
Ugly would be seeing those big discs on the wheels. No way they will ever make them light enough for road use and then the only advantage would be in wet conditions. There really isn't a need for these anyway as road brakes don't need to be nearly as powerful as MTB brakes do.
are you serious?screamingbunney
Jun 20, 2001 11:40 AM
absolutely, why not discs, as you said the need for power is not there so you could use a smaller disc and save weight while reducing uglyness. As far as the weight issue, by eliminating the need for braking surfaces on the rim you could very easily reduce the rim (rotating mass) by a substantial amount. Obviously you have never sampled the necktar that is the sweet modulation of hydrolic disc brakes, poor you, try them before you just dismiss the idea
are you serious?Parker
Jun 20, 2001 12:13 PM
Yah, I agree hydrolic brakes are sweet, but for disks to be a reality
on road bikes, there would have to be a weight benefit (I think)
All that hydrolic fluid adds more weight than would be made
up with an eliminated baking surface on the rim.
If they can figure out how to make it overall ligher than standard brakes w/o sacrificing performance, I don't see why anyone wouldn't want it.
Until that happens though, I see no need since there really isn't any problem w/ standard brakes.
In the rain they work better, but if your flying down a mountain road
in the rain on a road bike, odds are you would slide out to your
death before you'de need the benefits that disks provide.
At this point there's a huge overall weight penalty.
If they can make them lighter than standard stoppers I'll be the
first to place an order.
Until then, they'll just be on my mtb.
Plus the maintenance!ColnagoFE
Jun 20, 2001 1:43 PM
Everyone I know with discs on their MTBs are constantly messin with em. I've heard a good number say they will be switching back to Vs.
what? my Formula's are 2 yrs old, and fine....IAmtnbikr
Jun 20, 2001 7:58 PM
I have had NO trouble with the Formula Evoluzione's on my Giant DS1 full-suspension mtb. They are an open style full hydraulic. As for going back to V's, that for me is not a possibility. Why? Ever ride in muddy/wet slop and stop with V's? Good luck. Even with ceramic rims you still can't get the power of a disc. My King Disc/X317 wheelset is lighter than many mtb rim brake wheels are. Sure, the disc setup weighs a little more, but I would give up that pound or less to be able to control my bike in that slop that many times you are not expecting on the trail. I think the key to discs is to set them up correctly the first time, and do your homework before you buy a system. Most of the cable ones blow. The only benefit I can see to a disc roadbike is the rim heating/wear situation, but I doubt too many people will fit that catagory. Yes, I have Ultegra brakes on my roadbike, and love them too!
HuH?!?!Twilight Error
Jun 25, 2001 6:36 PM
Maintence? Constant fussing? What discs are your friends using? I've got two bikes, both with Magura Louise discs, the maintence I've performed since I got them has been limited to the very occasional pad adjustment. They actually take less maintence than the calipers on my road bike!

I know of no one in the mountain bike community that has abandoned discs for Vees.
Sooner than you expectzelig
Jun 20, 2001 3:57 PM
I was in Berlin a last weekend and saw a Nishiki road/commuter bike. Al frame, Nexus 7 spd and disk brakes I'd never seen before. The disk was about 4-5 inches in diameter with a very small caliper unit. Way smaller than the current mtb stuff. These were fitted front and rear. I didn't even notice a reservoir for hydraulic fluid but I'm sure there's one somewhere. I didn't ride the bike but you can see it at Nishiki's website, at least in the German section. I'll assume it's another Shimano product but the weight's getting down to where I for one would put one of these babies on the front. Its a tiresome thing to apply the brakes just to dry off the rim on any long ride in soaking rain. For those in SoCal, I agree its probably not an issue but those in wetter climes and those who ride in all conditions, that front disk will be coming sooner rather than later. Just imagine the torsional effect on those radial laced fronts.
Thats one downside. No more radial lacing. nmrailer
Jun 20, 2001 4:10 PM
Downside?grz mnky
Jun 20, 2001 5:23 PM
So how's not being able to radial lace really a downside? Radial lacing is the fad du jour, but it isn't as strong as the rest of the choices. I dunno anyone who was going to go disc, but decided not to b/c they could no longer radial lace.
Many or most modern day wheels are radial laced. With exceptionrailer
Jun 20, 2001 5:54 PM
of the driveside rear. With a disc you would no longer have this option. Its heavier to have a 2 or 3x wheel. So that was the downside. Sorry to make it so hard to get my point.
It's Still a Fadgrz mnky
Jun 21, 2001 11:57 AM
Naw, it ain't hard to understand your point - I question the validity and the status quo. According to the published works (Brandt, UBI/DT manual, Art of Wheel Building) radial lacing actually offers very little benifit. Sure there's a few grams of weight, but you compromise rigidity. Sometimes larger gauge spokes are used on radial lacings so you negate much of the advantage. Also, some of the lighter hubs will not take thestress of radial lacings, so....

BTW - Mavic Ksyrium's are radial laced on the _drive_side_. So much for the conventional LBS wisdom.
not a problemEvan
Jul 1, 2001 2:09 PM
2 things, use cable actuated because there almost as good, easy to set up, easy to modulate and much lighter, the only change would be that you would use a 2 or 3 inch rotor not a 4 in.

also u would only use 3 bolts to attach to the hub, not 6 to save more weight.
And make road bikes more expensive?! yeah right!! (nm).Groucho Marx
Jun 20, 2001 1:50 PM
never say neverHank
Jun 20, 2001 11:41 AM
everything is so hype and market driven these days, I can pretty much guarantee they're coming...anyway, they could be cool for cross bikes.
here nowcyclopathic
Jun 20, 2001 11:53 AM
Diamondback Podium

http://www.bicycling.com/interbike2000/bikes/ bike #4
I dont know? I think its a possibility. Right now, XT discs onlyrailer
Jun 20, 2001 11:38 AM
add about 5-6 ounces per bike compared to an XT V-brake set up. So its not really a huge weight issue. Road bikes could get away with a smaller rotor and maybe even one made out some kind of carbon-composite. I think it could happen.

At the Sea Otter I did see that all the Giant guys had discs on their cross-country bikes and for training they would just throw on some 700c road wheels with discs. It was a good idea and was an easy and very quick way to make an MTB a road bike. Well, almost.
You can see them now...MrCelloBoy
Jun 20, 2001 11:41 AM
on road tandems. They are a great high powered option to V-brakes nd dual pivots. Some tandem teas are substituting a single rear disc for the added Arai drum brake commonly used as a "drag-brake" for long steep descents.
not on tandemsalansutton
Jun 20, 2001 11:58 AM
They don't have enough mass to absorb the energy and are too small to dissipate the heat. I've seen a tandem with Hayes 8" DH sized rotors (frt/rear) get completely cooked on a only a 3 mile decent. Hayes says NO to using their brakes on tandems. The only tandem disc I've seen that came close to working was a Hope DH setup with specially constructed rotors that were very thick (and heavy). But even then, due to Hope's open hydraulic system, the fluid expanded due to the heat buildup in the caliper and required constant on-the fly reservoir adjustments. Not something you want to be doing on a tandem at 40 Mph.
Sure--it's one more bauble to sellcory
Jun 20, 2001 12:04 PM
I don't see any need for them on road bikes, and IMO they're WAY uglier and more obtrusive than existing brakes. But it's another gimmick the manufacturers can peddle to the rich and/or obsessed, so I'm surprised we haven't seen them already.
Yup, you hit the reason why on the head...Greg Taylor
Jun 20, 2001 12:11 PM
...heating up rims on long, fast descents. The best road application (other than tandems) would probably be for loaded touring. Couldn't really see it for racing. No need for it, and a wheel switch would be a pain. But picture this: mountain stage of the Tour, hard climb behind them, the leaders do a bike switch at the summit of (name your col) and switch to their "downhill" bike with fade free discs...hello 60 mph.

A Cross bike with discs might be interesting too...
Heating up rims....ColnagoFE
Jun 20, 2001 1:46 PM
I never understood how someone could heat up the rims so much on a descent...even a technical one to cause problems. Maybe on a tandem, but a single rider? I don't see it unless they are just riding the brakes all the way down.
Heating up rims....Greg Taylor
Jun 20, 2001 2:01 PM
It does happen on big, screaming descents. While I've never personally gone fast enough for long enough where this would be an issue, keep an eye on some of the stories that will come out of the Tour this year, especially on the mountain stages. They always have a few wheel/tire failures due to heat build up.
Ive personally melted a front tube twice. Althoughrailer
Jun 20, 2001 4:24 PM
it was off-road and both times it was a Panaracer GreenLite tube. Dont know if butyl would have done the same. It was about a 4500' drop in about 25-30 minutes. Major brakes and major steep in some spots. In the Lemurian Classic this year also, I was wondering if I was going to melt some tubes. Thats a tough decent. Youre just praying for it to be over.

I think discs are coming. I dont know how a Ti rotor would work but Id like to see that if its possible. Even a carbon rotor would be cool. Already used on race cars but they rely on heat to work properly. Dont know how or if they would work on bikes. Im sure somebody is messing with these possibilities.
Steep twisty mountain roads....grz mnky
Jun 20, 2001 2:14 PM
I've weighed in on this topic before - like last week, but...

Steep twisty mountain roads - for some of us this is routine - discs would be nice. C'dale already markets a road version of the Jekyll with 700C wheels and discs, but this isn't even close to a real road bike.

Also, don't forget the entire MTB world thought that there was no real reason for any shocks or suspension. Until a few years ago no one thought that a full suspension bike could be a good XC race machine, let alone front suspension. Canti brakes were just fine. Then V brakes were just fine. Now discs and full suspension are pretty common. Discs offer not only power, but modulation. Overall the benifits have to out weigh the costs.

My observation is that the MTB world is quicker to adopt things and doesn't have a lot of resistance based on tradition to over come. Roadies have been resistant to change for many good reasons, but it is coming. Think about 1-1/8" threadless headsets as an example. Once the weight is down via a cable disc we'll start seeing road frames and forks designed to handle the mounting and stresses of the disc systems. Besides, think about what a great marketing ploy this will be for the bike industry - they'll get to sell a whole bunch of new equipment to the same people. They don't have to "grow" as many new customers. It's just too beautiful from a marketing person's perspective.

It's a real paradigm shift, which history has shown repeatedly that most people can't see coming. On the otherhand we use VHS instead of Beta for VCR formats, so it's not necessarily a given that the discs will catch on.
I dont think the mechanical (cable) set up will save much weightrailer
Jun 20, 2001 3:09 PM
over a hydraulic set up. I know its not apples to apples but the Avid mechanical (with cables and housing)weighs more than say an XT hydraulic unit.
I Beg to Differ w/Datagrz mnky
Jun 20, 2001 5:18 PM
Railer - I dug up some quick published data for review - the Avid info is from Colorado Cyclist website and Shimano info is from their website. Not necessarily the best independant sources, but just quick data.

Avid Cable Disc Setup:

Caliper + Rotor: 290 g.
SD-7 Lever: 190g./pr. 95 g. ea. (Use a plastic SRAM lever and save even more weight ~50 g.)

--->Need to add cables, housing, & rotor fixing bolts to 385 g. sub-total per wheel

Shimano XT Disc Setup:

Rotor (w/fixing bolts): 140 g.
Caliper: 152 g. F/ 154 g. R
Hydraulic Lever: 192 g. each.

---->Need to add SS Hydraulic lines and oil to 484 g. sub-total per wheel

So given that the Avid setup is already a 100g. lighter and the remaining Shimano parts weight more than the remaining Avid parts for an apples to apples comparison how do you figure the XT setup is lighter?

For some real giggles check out the weight spec on a set of XT disc hubs and compare to Hugi 240 Disc hub. The Shimano XT disc wheelset is a total pig.
Do you really think those XT levers really weigh almostrailer
Jun 20, 2001 5:50 PM
a half pound each? 192 grams is for the set.

It really comes down to what weighs more hydraulic lines or cables. hydraulic cables would probably be heavier but I dont think by that much. Especially the Hayes version that are plastic as opposed to Shimanos steel-braided lines.

A cable and housing is almost solid steel with a bit of plastic and rubber added.
ha hah haa ha haineedtoknow
Jun 20, 2001 7:04 PM
nm
Its OK GRZ, you can admit you were wrong. We'd all actuallyrailer
Jun 21, 2001 9:31 AM
think a little higher of you if you did. I know its hard.
Dream Ongrz mnky
Jun 21, 2001 12:15 PM
First, I used the published info from the mfr. and an outfit that weighs everything themselves - - and it is for each - sorry if you can't read and comprehend. Everything you've stated has been just your opinion. You can believe anything you want, but it doesn't make it true. The XT hydraulic stuff is heavy as sin - check it out at a LBS.

Next you could use your brain. For what you said to be true then it means that a pair of XT hydraulic levers is almost exactly the same weight as a pair of Avid SD-7 levers. When your buzz wears off you'll realize there's reality and a whole lot more metal and guts in an XT lever (piston, diaphram, valving, reservior, etc.)

You think that there's not much difference in weight between oil filled SS hydraulic lines w/end connections and a set of cables w/housing (remember that the back cable housing isn't required for the whole length) - again you can believe what ever you want. Probably time for a reality check.

Come up with some data and something other than snide remarks that demonstrate your ignorance.
Your reference was Shimano. Where does itrailer
Jun 21, 2001 12:21 PM
say 192 grams each.

Theres not much difference between cables and Hydraulic lines. These things are like 3/16" OD.
Dohgrz mnky
Jun 21, 2001 12:47 PM
Well, when they mean "pair" they state pair. Check out the XT std. V-brake levers - it says "(pair)". The hydraulic stuff does not and it isn't like the Japanese to mess up the details. It also is a function of how stuff is sold and the XT disc stuff is sold seperately. You may think this is a huge leap of faith...or not. I too am sleptical on mfr. published weights b/c things usually weigh more than advertised.

Weigh some hydraulic lines (w/oil) and compare to cables. Remember the Shimano setup advises using only Shimano lines and fittings.
Point about MTBers more ready for changeMel Erickson
Jun 21, 2001 9:31 AM
is a good one. I find this true for myself. I'm more willing to try different things on my MTB than on the road bike. It's the tradition thing. However, I think your example of the 1 1/8 threadless headset is not a good one. This was basically forced on roadies by the manufacturers. There is no advantage to this on road bikes and several disadvantages, the biggest one being the inability to adjust stem heights over a relatively wide range. It's cheaper to manufacture a threadless setup and cheaper and easier to stock one type of setup for road and mountain bikes in your inventory if you're a manufacturer. Since the MTB rules the marketplace, road bikes get some of their technology by default. There may be a niche market for disc brakes on road bikes but I don't see them flying out the door in the future, unless there is a weight savings with no penalty in stopping.
This is a great point.....Len J
Jun 21, 2001 9:45 AM
and one I hadn't thought of. This would seem to imply that, unless MTB disc brakes were made small and light enough to be usable by both roadies & MTB'ers that there would be no economic beneftit (similar to the headset benefits (inventory, cost etc.) to the industry to shift (unless the economic benefit was retrofit). That seems to leave performance as the only motivation to shift. I personally don't see a performance advantage, other than on dangerous long fast descents. Is this significant enough for the average rider?

I guess that if weight came down without sacrificing performance, and if the major teams started using them, as with most things, we would eventually follow. Wheather they would be necessary may end up a moot point.

Sorry for the ramble, but as you have probably noticed, I process out loud.
Advantages for threaded and 1 1/8.railer
Jun 21, 2001 9:50 AM
I personally like threadless over threaded. Its so clean and light. I was glad to get away from quill stems. I abslolutely LOVE the removeable face stems on road bikes. And MTBs too for that matter. Of course this could have been done on a quill also but for some reason never was.

But I can see the other side as well. You don't have as much range of height adjustment. That doesnt bother me as Im not looking to move my stem around a lot.

Also, 1 1/8 does have advantages over 1" as on a carbon steeerer it is much less likely to be crushed by overtightened stem bolts. Other than that, it might provide a little more torsional rigidity but I doubt this could be humanly detected.
re: Think we'll ever see disc brakes on road bikes?Cliff Oates
Jun 20, 2001 4:50 PM
A) i don't think brake calipers are ugly, and
B) i barely touch the brakes on fast descents.

disc brakes would make sense for a rain bike, other than that, they're solving a non-existant problem.
re: Think we'll ever see disc brakes on road bikes?Dutchy
Jun 20, 2001 5:47 PM
As far as overheating brakes/rims go it depends on where you live. In summer it's quite common to get over 38ºC/100F where i live (Australia). Believe me I have had ridden on days where the roads are so hot that when you stop at traffic lights you can barely touch the rim. So applying brakes on VERY hot days for longer periods than normal can create severe heat build up. I do worry that one day the tyre will just blow out from the heat. If the air temps 38ºC the road is about 50ºC+. I don't mind the idea of discs but they would have to be as light as current brakes, and that is probably a few years away yet. CHEERS.
why would you touch the rim?ineedtoknow
Jun 20, 2001 7:03 PM
tell me, please
I had a flat.Dutchy
Jun 20, 2001 7:12 PM
Because one day I had a flat at the bottom of a steep hill, and I could barley touch the rim to change it. The tube felt like it was going to melt, and the tyre itself was very hot. CHEERS.
The way the future will be.....muncher
Jun 21, 2001 9:54 AM
is with inboard discs - where the disc is part of the rim itself, and the cliper is mounted just inside the rim. No issues of fork give (they will be single sided anyway) and loads of time/space for heat dissapation. Large contact area = low wear, lower working pressure and lower parts weight for the caliplers.

They are here on motorbikes already, so it's on the way....
I dont think this would be feasible.railer
Jun 21, 2001 10:09 AM
Given some thought to this already. On a bike you would just be shooting yourself in the foot to add weight to the outer part of the rim like that. Thats the absolute most important place (besides the tire and tube) to save weight. You couldnt put a rotor there without it adding too much to your rotating weight.

By the way, what motorcycles have this? Just curious as I havent seen this yet. I can see it on a Superbike, mounting the rotor to the rim as opposed to the hub. The rotors are already so big anyway.

Also, what are the advantages of a single sided fork when a two-legged works fine. I dont see weight savings as a possibility here. Is it?
Wrong placemuncher
Jun 22, 2001 2:49 AM
If by rotor you mean the callipers for the brakes - they are not on the rim, but on the fork. If you mean the disc - the rim weight is pretty much the same (and we are talking hitec materials here anyway) as it's effectively just a different profile - tapering into a braking surface towards the hub - not that different from a deep profile rim at the moment. Some form of light alloy/carbon would probably be sufficient for cycles.

They are knocking around on the project circuit, and there have been protortypes tried arond the WSB world - I think I saw a Brembo set-up in a mag on this principle. The general idea is already in production - see the rear of the new VFR800i, thought the disc is still a bolt on you can see the principle in action.

Re forks - I think that with cutting edge materials, one fork leg could be enough - what does a Lefty weight at the moment compared to conventional forks? There would be reduction in drag I suppose.

At the end of the day, an indrustry/sport that is so conerned to change and bring in new ideas to keep selling a product that will already last for many years to a relatively few buyers (as compared to, say, cars) will embrace these things - it's just that the R&D costs have to fall somewhere first (motorbikes in this case). It's just the 5/6/7/8/9/10 speed hub, carbon frames and wheels etc issue continued - do the latter have any real advantage for the vast majority of users?
Wrong placeDavid Feldman
Jun 26, 2001 8:25 AM
I'll try to be objective about this. My KNOWLEDGE, not my "opinion,"
tells me that road bikes peaked technologically about fifteen years ago and that virtually all "innovations" since then have been deliberate, calculated attempts to defraud consumers by intentionally designing parts for shorter lives. However I'll try to be objective about this one. My view of road bike/disc brake is how to keep the fork both light and compliant. Rear disc? No problem, especially for tandem drag brake use where you get rid of the drum brake problem of an "umbilical cable" when changing a rear flat. Front brake use would be this problem: Does changing the brake location from rim to hub throw load into fork blades that would make a larger--thus heavier and harsher riding--blades necessary? Bike Culture Quarterly ran an article on this several years ago re front hub drum brake use.
The forks that failed were conventional but high quality. Could discs on road bikes be the foot in the door for product-planning crooks and con artists to declare rigid road forks obsolete? Then what about racers who want 17lb bikes and can even get their bikes stopped with those anorectic Cane Creek calipers? How will the scamsters convince them to add 1 lb. to their fork plus adding a (probably) heavier hub, 18" longer cable, etc.?
Asked in Components forum a few weeks agokenyee
Jun 21, 2001 12:33 PM
I though it was a newbie question, but maybe it isn't :-)

I thought of it because I read that it lets you stop faster and doesn't heat up and isn't affected by rain. Stopping faster is a safety issue, so better the brakes the better.

I did ask Avid if you could put their discs on road bikes and they said road bikes wouldn't have the right mounting points on the forks :-P
Stopping Faster...grz mnky
Jun 21, 2001 12:52 PM
...is also a performance issue. The hotter and deeper you can enter a corner the more you gain on the competition as they spend more time going slower. All race cars place heavy emphasis on solid brakes - except maybe dragsters and land speed record cars, they have chutes.

The mounting point issue for road bikes could be solved over night if anyone wanted to do it.

Yeah, file this one under the Dept. of Redundancy Dept.
Mounting issuekenyee
Jun 21, 2001 4:13 PM
The Avid folks seemed to think it's a showstopper.

Do you mean it can be fixed with replacement road bike forks or do you mean you can design disc brakes that work on existing forks?
Mounting issuegrz mnky
Jun 22, 2001 12:01 PM
In it's current form, yes, putting a disc on a road bike is a show stopper. However, I mean that we'd need new forks and frames specifically designed for the disc brake loads and mounting requirements - just like they've done with MTB's (this is the part where the bike industry should be salivating - they can sell a whole lot of new stuff to people that are otherwise all set). The one difference is that there are retro fit kits to put discs on MTBs (using the canti bosses) that weren't designed for them. However, the major difference is that the MTB stuff is a bit more robust - the bike has to be able to survive a kid taking a large drop on the thing - otherwise they run the risk of getting sued. I expect that road bike stuff has a much lower Factor of Safety. Now C'dale and others have gone to the point that their frames/forks are disc specific and they've removed the reinforcing and canti bosses to cut weight. I wouldn't expect that our current road bike forks could take the disc loadings without serious risk of failure.
not on racing bikesDog
Jun 25, 2001 7:54 AM
No doubt we'll see them on "city" bikes or tourers, more so on fat tired bikes.

Not on racing bikes, though. I have thought about this idea every time I descend our 9,000 foot mountains right out my back door here. Several times a week I'm treated to hairy plunges down twisty mountain roads. You know what? I've never once wished I had stronger brakes, and I'm about the fastest descender around (not sure why).

Road bike tires have so little traction, especially compared to mountain bikes, that stronger brakes would largely be useless, incrementally. The rear, especially, doesn't need stronger braking, but usually less -- witness Campy's return to single pivot rear. The front, too, can only handle so much, and it seems to be at the limit with today's brakes.

Better modulation might help, but I'd say not significantly so. A learned hand can modulate very well with correctly set up brakes and lubed cables.

The over all bike would likely weight much more. You'd have to beef up the forks and the area around the stays, plus the weight of the brakes themselves. Right now, the rim doubles as the tire holding thing plus the brake surface; plus, a rim has far more mass for heat dissipation than a disc, and with that mass spread out over a much larger area. There is greater mechanical advantage out near the tire than at the hub.

How are quick wheel changes with discs? Haven't tried, but that could be an issue.

If someone is concerned about wet braking, then just use a ceramic coated rim. They work wonders in the wet. A simple solution.

Tire overheating is such a rare issue that I doubt the industry will radically change design for only that. For hairy mountain descents, use tubulars on carbon rims. They don't conduct heat to the glue/tire.

I just don't see happening with race bikes. There are too may problems, and too little utility to them.

Doug
on racing bikesalansutton
Jun 26, 2001 12:30 PM
Doug for the most part I agree with you. I'm currently using discs on my commuting bike, a modified Mondonico Diamond SLX with cro-mo fork. For stop-and-go city traffic and wet weather in the UK I can't imagine going back to rim brakes. While I agree that rim calipers can have more than enough braking power, they require several times the hand energy for the equivalent power of discs. Braking power is consistent regardless of the weather, although the rubber-to-road friction is reduced in the wet, I'm not squeezing like mad on the levers. Obviously, my rims don't get worn and I haven't needed to replace brake shoes. Wheel replacements are easier in my opinion since there's no need to mind the tyre clearance. The only down side that I can think of is weight, for the extra frame reinforcements and rotor.

The weight issues will be solved over time with innovative engineering. Smaller yet higher friction carbon rotors will be produced and disc-specific frames, rims and hubs will soon be in the same weight territory as rim caliper equivalents. It's in the works. There is no stopping the inevitable progress of technology and the power marketing hype. You'll see the pros use them first in the Paris-Roubaix then in time-trial applications and finally on their standard bikes. It will all happen the same way we accepted index shifting.
Alan Sutton
The levers!Gino
Jun 28, 2001 9:23 AM
If you want those discs to be hydro's not cable, you're gonna need new levers too. As far as I know, there's no hydro disc brake levers for road out there. In my opinion, I'd never trade off my STI levers so I could go get out-of-place, overweight, and ugly discs, and also get stuck with downtube shifters.
already on road bikesneil_macauly
Jun 28, 2001 3:55 PM
kelly makes a cyclocross road frame with disc brakes. it makes sense for this because of the wet, muddy conditions sometimes encountered. it looks pretty cool.

wont make the road racing bikes unless the weight comes way down. also, the aero drag of discs is much more than normal brakes and that type of modulation/stopping power isnt called for.
What up horrible idea!roadie16
Jun 30, 2001 5:25 PM
Ok, that is seriously one of the worst ideas I've ever heard regarding cycling. First of all, getting a descent disc brake to be light enough for roadies would be pretty tough. Secondly, disc brakes are far to powerful to use on a road bike; anything more powerful than dual-pivot would simply lock up the wheels, eat up tires, and cause more crashes. Road brakes are all about "slowing-down power" not necessarily "stopping power" You don't go off the back of the saddle to brake in road so disc's would simply be too powerful. Lastly, DISC BRAKES ARE A PAIN IN THE ASS!!!! I work in a shop and just to let all you mountain bikers know, as far as disc brakes go, if they're not Hayes you don't want them. It sucks to have to bleed them, the pads take a while to get glazed over, and the Hayes ones are the only ones that ever work consistantly. Don't even get me started on the mechanical disc's either....man...

Bottom line, Disc's suck. Keep them out of road biking.