RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What to do during injury time out?(12 posts)

What to do during injury time out?TypeOne
Jun 18, 2001 1:05 PM
Damn, I seem to have strained the ol' IT band on my left leg on a long century climb. This is debilitating pain, not just a tweaked knee, and I had trouble putting weight on it the next day. I have now realigned the cleat, lowered the saddle a wee bit, iced the knee, done lots of stretches, and resigned myself to taking a full week off the bike. Things are improving after only two days, so my "diagnosis" and treatment seems to be correct. But this week is going to kill me!
What do people do on injury time? What can I do to keep motivated yet not drive myself stir-crazy? Should I enjoy relaxing while my fitness level falls off, or is there anything I can do for exercise?
I guess I'll be reading the threads here on this board for the next week. Arggh.
re: What to do during injury time out?alansutton
Jun 18, 2001 1:39 PM
You need time to recover. Relax and watch some tv shows. You're fitness level will fall a little, but you'll get it back.
re: What to do during injury time out?Big Lug
Jun 18, 2001 3:45 PM
I agree with Alan. Take the time off completely and relax. Your body can't heal unless you give it time to do so. Recuperation only takes place during times of rest.
re: What to do during injury time out?bestT
Jun 18, 2001 1:58 PM
swim! I ruptured a disk in my back and couldn't ride for a year. Swimming with a master's club kept me in shape and sane!
Try being as screwed as me...E3
Jun 18, 2001 3:59 PM
As reported recently on this board, I can't ride my upright bike because of deteriorating lower discs, so I converted exclusively to a Wishbone RT recumbent. Now I've aggravated my left IT band, which has given me problems for several years, off and on. Stretching, seat adjustments, and ice do not help. I suspect more than the typical IT strain.

This past weekend, I was unable to ride at all for the first time in many months. It was a totally empty feeling to watch the leaves on the trees barely ripple, knowing that I should be 50 miles down the road on such a day.

Between my back and my IT band, I'm totally screwed unless I find a medical miracle.

Take care of yourself and feel fortunate to know you'll be back cycling so soon.

Sorry to sound like I'm whining, but it's not easy to adjust to being a non-cyclist when cycling is a major component of what makes my life good.
Try being as screwed as me...Hank
Jun 18, 2001 6:21 PM
I don't know if you've seen me post before, but this was the medical miracle that cured my back problem - I'd been off the bike for two years and had tried everything else. Cured me in two weeks and haven't had any back pain since. Good luck.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0446392308
I bought the Sarno book...E3
Jun 19, 2001 7:33 AM
...after reading all the positive posts. Admittedly I've read only part of it so far. I agree that emotion can trigger pain responses and muscular tension. Were you ever diagnosed with any particular condition to explain your pain?

The skeptic in me says Sarno's ideas won't do much in the face of an x-ray and MRI that show two thin, bulging, black discs. It's very obvious that I have a structural problem.

Thanks for your concern. I'll finish the book this week.
I bought the Sarno book...Hank
Jun 19, 2001 10:03 AM
I was told that I had a herniated disc by two different doctors. I was told the same thing by a chiropractor and a PT. I spent two years seeing everyone, doing all the therapy, getting all the opinions. I was in really awful pain. Couldn't even look at my bikes. I never had a MRI, though, and I'm sure it would have been tougher to accept Sarnos ideas had I seen something really scary. However, studies have shown that you can take MRIs of 100 people who complain of back pain and MRIs of 100 people who have no back pain and you'll get an equal number of deteriated-looking discs (have seen this elsewhere - not just in Sarno's book). Srano maintains that what doctors called "herniated" discs is just a natural part of the aging process, that it's not the source of the pain. I'm pleased you bought the book. I admit it takes a leap of faith, and that if you do go ahead and try out his ideas, the first few days will be quite strange. I lept into it all pretty enthusiatically - started slumping, bending over "wrong" at the sink and carrying heavy items again, and the pain got quite a bit worse for a day or two. Then, as I had read about in the Sarno book, the pain started jumping around. All of a sudden it moved from my lower back to my uppper back. Then to my neck. By then I was just laughing at it. I was on my road bike after two weeks (after 2 years off) and riding my hardtail mtb down my favorite technical trails a month later. Anyway, good luck. I hope it helps. I know some other people who have been cured by it (including some who saw some of those scary MRIs).
Thanks for the detailed reply.E3
Jun 19, 2001 1:17 PM
Your experience has convinced me to give it a chance. Thanks.
Thanks for the detailed reply.Hank
Jun 19, 2001 1:30 PM
Great! Glad to hear it! Best of luck!
Ouch, sorryTypeOne
Jun 18, 2001 8:28 PM
That is tough luck. I do feel fortunate. Worse, though, because I know I hurt myself being stupid, while you probably didn't do anything to deserve your pain.
Yeah, I suspected my cleat was misaligned but thought the float in the LOOK pedals would counter it. I climbed 8,000 feet and sat through most of it. When the knee began hurting, I must have figured this suffering was what being a real roadie is all about, and I kept going. How stupid. It was an organized ride and there was a SAG, but I wouldn't do it. The next day, I couldn't walk.
I feel improvement with rest and ice so far, but I need to remind myself to stay off the bike during these nice summer days.
Good luck out there - enjoy the ride when you can!
My Tipsgrz mnky
Jun 19, 2001 11:51 AM
Yes, rest is critical and difficult to do when you're hooked into getting excercise ona regular basis. In addition to swimming (whihc is excellent) I'd suggest checking out kayaking and rowing (scull). However, rowing does work the legs fairly heavily so it may not work for you. I used it for recovery from shoulder surgery - no impact and very satisfying and one of the most complete full body workouts. Kayaking and rowing can be done in both flat and open water.

Have you considered the IT surgery deal? Had a buddy who was a hard core triathlete and had problems with his (over training) - he was going into the Navy SEALS and knew his knee was going to hold him back. He went and got a partial cut in the IT band to lengthen it. I know it doesn't sound appealing, but it's worked for him and it's been well over 10 years. He made it through SEALS as an officer - which means he got "extra attention".

Probably the toughest part of the whole injury thing is the mental aspect. Getting your heart rate up and blowing out the daily sludge is critical to your mental well being.