RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Rich guy needs two super bikes- the best you can buy!(46 posts)

Rich guy needs two super bikes- the best you can buy!Buck Marshell
Jun 16, 2001 10:12 PM
Hi everyone!

I'd like to get into cycling, for health reasons, but also for fun. I used to ride alot when I was in my teens and remember how much I enjoyed it, so I'd like to re-experience some of that joy again and, while doing so, lose some weight.

Let me say that I believe in getting the best equipment and since I am wealthy, I don't mind spending whatever it takes to get the best bike I can have. Actually, I'm looking for two bikes (road bikes) and I'd like one to be made out of carbon fiber and the other out of titanium. I'd also like to have the best equipment put on these frames. The bike shops in my area have made so many different recommendations about what frames, wheels and parts group to get, that I really don't know what would be best to get.

Hopefully, I can get a consensus on this bulletin board, about what the best carbon and titanium frames are, as well as what are the best wheels and other parts. By the way, I intend to have atleast 4 sets of wheels for the bikes, so what would be the best 4 to get.

Having said all of the above, let me say that I sincerely plan to make cycling a hobby of mine, but if some reason it just isn't my cup of a tea, I'll probably donate atleast one of the bikes to a charity organization and give my grandson (he needs to lose a few pounds too) the other bike. Anyhow, no matter what, the bikes won't end-up just sitting in the garage house.

Thanks All!
re: Rich guy needs two super bikes- the best you can buy!AD14
Jun 17, 2001 6:11 AM
How about a carbon frame from calfee or a colnagoc40. Titanium recommendations include serotta or seven. Groupsets? Dura ace or record. This board seems highly partial to Mavic ksyrium wheels. Your local shop can fill in the rest. Be sure you get a fitting from the bike shop so they can recommend bar, stem etc. Wish I had your problem.
Second the Calfee, Serotta, Seven...(nm)Jim Burton
Jun 17, 2001 9:47 AM
Hmmmm.......Car Magnet
Jun 17, 2001 6:28 AM
Are you talking about "Most Expensive" or the "Best" bike for you?
Pardon me but it sounds like you are more concerned with ego-economics
than ride quality and fit. Have you actually test rode any bikes yet?
Anyway, For a carbon bike make an appointment with Ernesto Colnago and have him custom make you a CF-1 with Campy Record, hand-machined Ti crankset and Zipp carbon wheels, or make an appointment with the guys at Seven Cycles or Ben Serotta himself for a nice Ti bike. I don't know what the airfare or consultation fees will cost you, but what the hell you're freakin' loaded right?
Yeah.... riiiiiight...Velocipedio
Jun 17, 2001 7:47 AM
This doesn't smell real to me. This guy is having us on.
I SUSPECT TROLLColnagoFE
Jun 18, 2001 10:57 AM
he also posted at cyclingforum.com:

http://www.cyclingforum.com/forums/Thread.cfm?CFApp=2&Thread_ID=2780&mc=40
Poor guy needs just one!cuddly N' cute
Jun 17, 2001 8:45 AM
Hi,
Would you like to adopt me? I am cuddly and cute and nice to have around the house. I don't need much, nor do I take up much space. I am a little fuzzy around the ears though, if you know what I mean, but likable non the less. Pets like me too. All I ask for is a new Colnago CF-1 Limited Edition Ferrari Bicycle. ( see link ). You could get yourself one too! Then we could ride together and I could impart my knowledge of cycling to you. We would become best of friends and ride off spinning and laughing for miles on end. :-) Life would be great then! Ahhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!

No Such Thing As A Best BikeJon Billheimer
Jun 17, 2001 11:29 AM
For starters, I think this whole thing is a setup...whatever! So are you looking for the best bike for you or simply the most expensive ego-booster you can find? If the answer is the latter, for sure go for the Colnago, Ferrari edition. You'll be making a substantial contribution to Colnago's already inflated bottom line. If you're looking for the best bike for you, try out a bunch of them, both cf and ti frames. Pick the ones that fit you best, feel best, and look best to you. The differences between high end bikes of similar frame materials are marginal and may or may not be discernible to you. So realize, in the end, that your choices are very subjective. The choice of wheels should be heavily dictated by your weight, riding preferences,etc.
just be sure to spend at least $5000 per bike at a good shopHank
Jun 17, 2001 11:38 AM
you'll get bikes that would make most pros jealous. Hard to go wrong as long as they fit right and you like the way they look.
I agree with the 5k price tag!Thioderek
Jun 17, 2001 3:06 PM
In a good reputable shop 5k will get you the best set up you can find. If it is a good shop the service and fawning from the owners will probably make you sick but will be worth it.

On another note, you might want to consider DeRosa in your choices. These bikes will fit the bill as you have laid it out.
yupHank
Jun 17, 2001 4:09 PM
For five grand, there is a lot of service and fawning from the owners. Makes me kind of ill just thinking about it.
Columbine and RivendellDog
Jun 17, 2001 11:50 AM
Hey, doesn't look like you intend to be a pro or anything. I'd get a Columbine or Rivendell -- beautiful steel bikes. Check them out: http://www.columbinecycle.com/ http://www.rivendellbicycles.com/.

They are works of art that would make any cyclist drool.

Doug
here's a sampleDog
Jun 17, 2001 11:53 AM
check the photo, and others at the site; overwhelmingly fine craftsmanship
and another:Dog
Jun 17, 2001 11:54 AM
I love these photos:
I wanna learn to make lugs like THAT!!! (nm)Jim Burton
Jun 17, 2001 11:59 AM
they make a Colnago look like it came from WalmartDog
Jun 17, 2001 12:10 PM
Especially the Columbines. They are so far superior in looks that nothing I've seen even comes close. Sort of like comparing a Duesenberg to a Ford. Even the best of Colnago paint jobs look orginary. If you want uniqueness and panache, I'd get the Columbine. Plus, you have the 'rich' factor, but without the poseur factor. Go for it, you'll make everyone drool.

Doug
You said a mouthful there, partner...Jim Burton
Jun 17, 2001 12:31 PM
Man, I would be afraid to ride these bikes. It reminds me of guitar players with intricate inlays and jewels in their instruments. Usually and unfortunately, the guys that can afford these guitars never have the discipline to learn to play them as beautifully as they look. Seems that the real greats have very plain guitars, or very understated bikes, don't you think?
You said a mouthful there, partner...Dog
Jun 17, 2001 12:44 PM
Know what you mean. When you are into serious performance, looks can be pretty irrelevant. You are using the thing as a tool.

But, performance didn't seem to be the primary motive here. I don't begrudge anyone for wanting something nice. You don't have to be an F1 driver to enjoy a Ferrari Testa Rossa. The rest of us can enjoy looking at it without paying for it.

Besides, I think life is better knowing that fine craftsmanship is alive and well. Someone has to buy the stuff to keep them in business. Who better than this sort of guy?

Doug
You said a mouthful there, partner...Jim Burton
Jun 17, 2001 12:52 PM
I agree. This guy will be perfect for this sort of bike.
Riding that thing would be a tragedy!!!Marlon
Jun 17, 2001 12:45 PM
Ohmigosh. Doug, thank you. Seeing that bike just made my day - I've been to countless art galleries, seen tons of fancy paintings and priceless objects, appreciated fine music and good food, but that... that bike...



If ever I marry, I'll marry the bike.

Oh woman in all thine beauty, you turn mine head, but you'll never spin me 'round like a bike...
"Oh woman..." Did Shakespear say that? (nm) :-)Dog
Jun 17, 2001 12:49 PM
nm
Riding that thing would be a tragedy!!!cycleguy
Jun 17, 2001 9:08 PM
Great to look at, but I have always believed the true beauty of any bike only apears when you are riding it. Then again, I would love to have one! LOL But for someone who is just looking to spend money on a bike to ride at any cost would never understand the difference anyway.
they make a Colnago look like it came from WalmartAD14
Jun 17, 2001 7:39 PM
I never even thought about a Columbine. I remember drooling over them when the pros all rode steel(I am 45) and the review in bicycling was that it was not only great to look at but a joy to ride. I think that they were using 531 back then. He sure would look good on that at any speed.
Looks pretty gay to meStarliner
Jun 17, 2001 12:45 PM
I can see Liberace riding one in heaven. I guess I'm more of a black on black stealth type.

I'd go for a Calfee, but take control of the painting/finishing to make it look cool. Airbrush some snakes around the tubing, etc.
you have no passion for the sport!merckx56
Jun 17, 2001 7:57 PM
if you think that this photo looks "gay", then you have know passion or reverence for cycling. accept the bike for what it is, someone's hard work.it's a piece of art. if you like it, great! if not, outstanding. or you could always put your passion-less, carbon, oak stump of a frame on the roof of your camaro(with a flame job, of course) and go ride with the rest of the know nothings! that's just my opinion, i could be wrong. btw- when is calfee/carbonframes/lemond going to change their name again?
Know passion?Starliner
Jun 17, 2001 11:03 PM
I don't know how you can judge whatever my passion level for cycling is just from reading my own personal opinion of a fou-fou frameset, and frankly I don't really care. If you want one of those under your butt, then its different strokes for different folks. Based upon your presumptiveness, I'd guess you've never ridden a Calfee before so I'll dismiss your additional comments regarding carbon frames as I would do to a spoiled wine.
Know passion?merckx56
Jun 18, 2001 8:10 PM
actually i raced one as a team bike for a season and it did, indeed, ride like an oak stump. no feedback, no swing, no life. a dead ride!
it should be called a luna, it rode like a piece of moon rock and crumbled in less than six months. carbon lugs, what a good idea! next you'll tell me that an oclv trek is the next coming!
you have no passion for the sport!Fred(notFred)
Jun 18, 2001 10:03 AM
I have plenty of passion for the sport, and this design is pure nausea. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, I'll concede that, but my opinion is that the Columbine bikes are exceedingly ugly and ostentacious. When I saw the photos I honestly thought it was an elaborate joke.
Thorstein Veblen, in 1898 I think, laid out, in "The theory of the Leisure Class" the terms of conspicuous consumption, mainly in the vein of people who buy things that have absolutely no function. Others have expanded on the idea that those who want to display wealth buy things that specifically detract from function--watches you can't read, velvet outerwear, heavy filigrees on a road bike.
The designs are sickeningly indulgent. Hard to know exactly what tortured aesthetic one might be indulging *in*, but it's sickening nonetheless. End of rant. Apologies for my pedantry.
Fred.
Art in lifeDog
Jun 18, 2001 10:14 AM
You may not like it, but would you agree the bikes are artful?

While conspicuous consumption isn't to be highly valued (what if someone owned 10 bikes?), there is something to be said for aesthetics and art, and how they increase quality of life in some ways.

The world would be a different place without art and those who appreciate it. What if there were no paintings, fancy buildings, symphonies, or quality, aesthetically pleasing craftsmanship? Sure, we could all ride black bikes, drive black Ford Tauruses, and live in square boxes with no frills, but that would be very dull. Why not support and applaud the artisans and craftsmen? I think it makes the world a better, at least more interesting, place.

Doug
They're artful, butFred(notFred)
Jun 18, 2001 10:23 AM
... it's not an aesthetic that I enjoy personally, which was what my post said. Far from denigrating the importance of art and aesthetics, I was expressing my opinion about what I like and dislike.

I agree with all your comments about the importance of art and craftmanship. What's great about all of it is it's a matter of taste, and I'd argue that one can have a powerful negative reaction as well as a powerful positive reaction to a work of art. I'm a big fan of Kandinksy and DeKooning. I have a close friend who thinks their work is crap. So there you go.

Fred
gotchaDog
Jun 18, 2001 10:31 AM
on the same page; do you like this one better? Myself, I sort of do, anyway:
Thorstein VeblenWailer
Jun 18, 2001 10:39 AM
Glad to meet you Fred(noFred). Anybody who can relate Veblen's work to disfunctional bicycles is someone I'd like to have a beer or 10 with.

I agree with you completely. If you look at the lugs on those bikes you can see they have been reduced to mere decoration, meaning those bikes were made to be looked at, not ridden. If there is a sin in the world, it is a bike that has been stripped of its function in pursuit of status, ego, and of course, conspicuous consumption.

As a display of a jeweler's skill, that sculpture is fine, but as a bicycle, it is a tragedy.
"as a bicycle, it is a tragedy." Whooaaa.bill
Jun 18, 2001 1:19 PM
Really? I agree with you to the extent that they are not to my taste; I don't covet them. Not here, not now, anyway. But, you don't know how they ride, do you? They can be fabulous bikes and intricate works of art as well, can't they? The aesthetic emphasis doesn't necessarily ruin their function.
Some of the most interesting pieces of Americana to me are the industrial buildings built at the height of the industrial age. Money was flush, commerce was king, and the buildings reflected the grandiosity of the passions driving the period that arguably built America as it is. Those late 19th, early 20th century buildings, with their intricate brickwork, grand arches, pillars, etc., on buildings that a generation later would be built as concrete blockhouses are monuments to an ideal. You may not share the ideal, finding your passion in pure utility, but I can't say that I'm sorry they were built as they were.
I used to sort of sniff at guitars that were more woodworking than, to my eye, instruments, but you know some of them are both wonderful craftsmanship and wonderful instruments. The foofiest electric guitar I've ever played was also won of the meanest, coolest, hottest, and most versatile. And I sweat over it just as I would my Telecaster. It just sounded a lot better.
You misunderstandWailer
Jun 18, 2001 1:41 PM
or I did not make my meaning clear. The lugs on that bike has been reduced to such an extent that they can no longer perform their function, at least not under purposeful riding. That is my objection. If the bike was just decorated, in manner not corrosive to the structure, then it affects the whole no more than a tattoo on your arm. But, if in the process of the beautifying the skin, you remove the bone, what purpose will the skin serve? What will the muscle act upon? The arm cannot be used, only the skin can be admired. It only resembles an arm, but it is functionally useless.

You comments about architecture and guitars are well taken, but those buildings are decorated facades over sound structures, not facades through and through. Guitars are much the same. As long as the decoration does not impenge the sound, it is merely decoration, once the sound suffers, it is only vanity.
Less gay but still gaudy....Starliner
Jun 19, 2001 12:58 AM
Here's another one of those "artful" framesets. While the Columbine is quite powder-puff pretty, this one evokes more of a conquistador/Louis XIV feel:

http://www.cwo.com/~lunarlab/image18.htm

I think every bike shop should have one of these works of art hanging in their front window. That's probably as far as they really need to go.
way too muchHank
Jun 17, 2001 4:12 PM
how 'bout a plane jane Richard Sachs?
Columbine and RivendellSteveS
Jun 17, 2001 9:05 PM
You betchum, mega-dittoes or whatever, these two would be great bikes to have, something out of the ordinary mentioned by person after person. I may have to have a stem custom made by Columbine to upgrade my "budget ti" frame. Beautiful craftsmanship.
re: Rich guy needs two super bikes- the best you can buy!Jim Burton
Jun 17, 2001 12:22 PM
Just a couple of thoughts...

If you are for real, and want to get into cycling, going out and buying the most impressive bike you can find will be a waste of money even if you have it to waste. Being a beginner, you undoubtedly will not know what you want in a bike. There is no way to tell what riding style you have, or what particular kind of riding you may end up doing until you have ridden for a while. Just going out and getting high dollar equipment because you can is, to me, sort of an insult to the sport and those of us who ride beaters while saving up pennies for our modest dream bikes.

Also, because of your beginner status, I don't believe you should get a custom bike. Again, you don't have a feel for what you like in a bike yet and will undoubtedly out grow a custom. In addition, a custom bike for you will probably not fit your grandson, should you chose to give it to him, thereby rendering two fine bikes unusable. This, more than the money lost, is a tragedy.

As far as the wheels...What in the hell do you need four sets of wheels for each bike for??? You will not be able to discern small differences in the wheels. Most of the great riders I know only have two sets, training and racing. Three is a luxury. The set that is on the bike is fine for begining. If you must have another set lying around for convenience, just get a set like the ones on the bike.

The best bike for you may not be the most expensive. If you want the best fitting bike (physically and spirituallly fitting) then start slowly. Go get fitted for a modest bike. Learn to ride and then, only then, get a bike more befitting your purse. Hopefully it will also fit your riding philosophy. Don't rush into it. Don't be ridiculous with your money.
yes, but...Hank
Jun 17, 2001 4:25 PM
the economy is slowing. The only way we're gonna get out of the slump is if people, rich people especially, keep spending their money. Think of the poor LBS guys. This way, maybe some poor schmuck mechanic won't get his hours cut quite so brutally come fall.
I'm sure this is a troll, but... Confente!DMoore
Jun 17, 2001 7:18 PM
if this isn't a troll (though I'm sure it is), you should have been on e-Bay today. There was a beautiful, almost (but not quite) perfect Mario Confente bike for sale. It wasn't even all original parts, and the bidding went up to $8300. But the best part was, THAT DIDN'T EVEN MAKE THE RESERVE!!!!

Showing up in a 1962 Ferrari 250 GTO, or even a Berlinetta Lusso, will outdo somebody in any new car, no matter what it is. Same theory.
Buy 2 steel Tommasini's w/full chrome and be done with it. nmAllen D.
Jun 17, 2001 10:44 PM
Might get hurt for this one......ClimbFast
Jun 18, 2001 8:46 AM
Ok, I may be risking life and limb here by saying this....here goes. For carbon fiber.....the Trek 5900 is quite possibly one of the best. ONE of the best. The Colnago C-40 is up there, however there is a bit of a wait to get one as I understand it, and it does cost significantly more than the 5900. But hey, the 5900 still handles great, Dura Ace works, though it lacks the glitz and glamour of the higher end Campy groups. I don't mean to souind like and idiot, but the USPS team wouldn't use the bike if it sucked. I'm a big fan of the Trek carbon bikes, I ride one. I work at a shop, and my boss has had all kinds of bikes; Serotta, Litespeed, Merlin.....errrr......the list goes on but the smell of Bike Lust cuts down on my short term memory. He loves his Trek though and says "It's the best bike I have ever ridden." THe guy owns a bike shop, he could hae any bike he wants. Enough ranting. That's my two cents on the matter. Hope it helps a little.
Not Enoughgrz mnky
Jun 18, 2001 12:12 PM
You really need to buy a few more so that you will have matching bikes available for riding around to coffee shops with a super model or two in tow. You, know the ones with the silicon enhanced busts. Next you're going to need something like a Porshce Boxster S or a Lambo with custom racks for hauling said super bikes and super models around in. And don't forget the gold neck chains!
Gold neck chains!mike mcmahon
Jun 18, 2001 12:24 PM
That's nothing but funny. I have a mental image of a round old rich on a C-35 with a silk jogging suit, no shirt, and gold medallions swinging as he pedals along huffing and puffing at 9 mph. Maybe throw in a couple of pinky rings.
People with money to burn would never buy a Boxster!!!!!!!railer
Jun 19, 2001 2:07 PM
Not when theres a 911 Turbo to be had. Boxsters are the present day 924. Frequently called the "poor man's Porsche."
re: Rich guy needs two super bikes- the best you can buy!Dutchy
Jun 18, 2001 8:22 PM
He'll also be talking on his mobile phone at the same time! CHEERS.