RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Hi Doug Sloan. Why??(18 posts)

Hi Doug Sloan. Why??railer
Jun 15, 2001 3:24 PM
Why are you so concerned about this forum? Where do you get your motivation to make these pacts? Im all for being nice to people too, but I just dont understand your strong motives.

I just use this forum for entertainment. Sometimes I kinda like to read the rants or wacky ideas, it makes for good reading. If someone is mean to me or someone else I still fall asleep at night.
good questionDog
Jun 15, 2001 4:01 PM
I value the people here. I enjoy the discussions, even with the differences of opinion.

I can't stand juvenile, rude, nasty rants. When there gets too much of that, I'd rather not even see it, and just stay away.

If most people here prefer to do it that way, to have basically a graffiti wall to display their expletives, then fine, it's up to the owners to permit it or not. I'm just say, I think most people would prefer not to participate or see it.

What is wrong with trying to raise the standard for even a small segment of the community?

I have spent a whole lot of time here in the last year and a half. I sort of feel I have an investment of sorts in the forum. So, at times I feel a little compelled to help maintain it, sort of like committing to picking up litter on a segment of a local highway.

Nonetheless, anyone is free to disagree.

Doug
Your efforts are appreciated Doug. nmrailer
Jun 15, 2001 5:51 PM
nm
Bravo! DougKen
Jun 15, 2001 11:08 PM
Now if the owners of this site would only install an "IGNORE" button like they have on YAHOO message boards. Works great there. Gets rid of all the immature, obnoxious end evil rants of the depraved.

Ken
Forum Pact III?ColnagoFE
Jun 15, 2001 4:03 PM
Well...I think his heart was in the right place, but come on now, does yet another "pact" really help? Don't people already know that they should behave civilly? When they don't it's a concious decision?

I propose all of us to take a pact to never again respond to another "forum pact" post.
Forum Pact IVHank
Jun 15, 2001 6:36 PM
Here's my pact:

Use your brain before you post. Take 30 seconds to go through the archives to see if someone has already asked the same question 400 times.

If it's not a sincere question or a geniunely useful answer, try to make it interesting at least. And if you want to insult someone, do it in an artful or funny manner. Try to have maintain a sense of humor.

Post under one name.

Come on, who's with me?
Forum Pact Pact.9WorCP
Jun 15, 2001 7:57 PM
I'm w/ you buddy. Hey! maybe we could agree to have separate pacts in the same forum. We could have "pact factions" and daily holy flame wars. Gregg could award negligable prizes to the victors and punish the losers by forcing them to post in the triathalon forum for a week. I believe this aproach (or "approach" if you prefer the English spelling)would solve most of our problems.
HEY! Easy on the tri-guys/gals!! : ) (nm)newt
Jun 16, 2001 12:08 AM
Forum Pact IVDINOSAUR
Jun 16, 2001 8:46 PM
Good idea Hank. Sometimes I get a real good laugh at some of the posts. What I do if I get flamed, or if someone is trying to get my goat, I let it sit overnight, then I come back the next day and I realize how frivolous and petty some of this stuff can get, and I just let it go. Or sometimes I write a reply and I don't send it.
I think part of the problem is we all want to be heard. We all think that we are experts. I guess it goes with the mindset of a cyclist. It takes a special person to get out there and hammer on the roads with 4 wheel beasts that outweigh us by a couple of tons.
Cyclist I think on the whole are loners. They feel a need to bond together, I think that is the major reasons behind cycling clubs and forums such as this.
I think one thing that goes with getting old is that one day you wake up and finally realize that you don't know anything. I'm not afraid to admit that I'm a bonehead about a lot of stuff. I do know that I love the open road and cycling fulls my spirit and each time I ride, regardless of how I am sucking, I am very thankful that I did one thing right in life when I came back to this sport.
Some of us have been posting here for a long time, hopefully we can keep the ball rolling.
To put things in perspective, getting flamed on an internet forum, on the scope of the conditions of the world in this day and age, is a low buget item. We should just feel fortunate to have a computer and know how to type.

Ramblings on a rest day
Dino
Forum Pact IVHank
Jun 17, 2001 11:27 AM
yeah, most of the flames are pretty weak - "you suck" kind of stuff, and it generally comes from someone who's screen name you don't even recognize. Basically, it's the lazy stuff that drags this board down - the same questions over and over and the lame, rude posts. I basically appreciate people making some effort - even if it is a flame. After a while, most people learn to not make posts they will regret later. Or they stop posting.

The best thing about this board is that you can get some pretty obscure information here, and that there are some fun, smart people hanging around. So yes, keep the ball rolling. I think some of these "pacts," while well intentioned, can discourage an interesting exchange.
Here's Whygrz mnky
Jun 15, 2001 5:25 PM
Doug is pretty much the voice of reason around here - most non-interlopers know this. He doesn't dispense morality or values on his own. Rather he has the ability to articulate and cut to the chase on stuff that most of us (OK, at least me) hack away at. Our only objective is to *try* and make the discussions informative and useful and not too personal. Everyone here likes bikes - I take that as a given. Pretty much everyone has opinions and useful experiences and sometimes they differ widely. Problem gets to be when people start virtually beating each other over the head. Emotions are usually tied in with those opinions. Styles also vary, but most can agree that sarcasm and being faciteous often doesn't transmit well, no matter how much I wish it did. Facts and data help seperate reality from wishful thinking.

At the end of the day we're just trying to have a useful discourse, trade information and opinions and hopefully learn something. I'm frequently labeled smarty pants, know it all, and/or idiot, but I have learned a great deal about bikes and myself here. Just throwing cyber graffitti up on the board and saying "Aluminum Rules!" and 'you prissy guys riding Ti are a bunch of weeenies' doesn't add much if anything to the discourse. Repeating urban bike shop legends also has little value.

No one says you can't do whatever you want, but Doug is trying to articluate a set of norms that we all find worth while. Not that any of us want more rules, but you can't get a bunch of individuals together and do *anything* without norms at the minimum and usuaully some rules. If you want to be taken seriously here then you need to learn to play the game. If you just want to be a cyber-jester then we can deal with that also.

I do not want to assume too much about who you are, what you believe in or what you value other than a significant interest in bikes. However, you should give some thought to what you've written and how you want to be taken by the group. I assume that you must get some sort of value out of this or else you wouldn't spend your time - however just 'cause you value it doesn't mean we do. Personally I found you posting on the similarities between biking and religion to be interesting and well written. I valued your input. The question is does what you do and think have any value to anyone other than yourself?

Just think of the example of actual garfitti - sure a small clique of taggers may think it's cool and th chicks might dig it, but the rest of us want to obliterate it just as quickly as we can. It's an annoyance. In the right setting it can be art. It's all a matter of presentation.

So this is my take on what Doug is trying to maintain - of course he could have said it in about 1/3 the space.
You said it better than I could! (nm)Len J
Jun 15, 2001 5:46 PM
That's an 'amen'from this corner! (nm)davidl
Jun 15, 2001 6:28 PM
YES! (thanks grz mnky!) nmrollo tommassi
Jun 15, 2001 6:28 PM
What chu talkin' bout, Willis?Wailer
Jun 15, 2001 7:58 PM
Railer, surprisingly, is asking the necessary question above. I, Wailer, am the religion/biking poster. I think you are mixing your ailers. Never a good idea.

By the way, Monkeyboy, don't sell yourself short, Doug's got nothing on you. You were off the back with the bible comment, but Doug blew up at the top of the "Christians throw crap in your yard" post. My guess is you are neck and neck now so maintain tempo and you will be fine.

For the record, I do not think Doug is the antichrist, in fact I kind of like him even if he does buy a new bike every six months. I just find it amusing when Jimmy Swaggart criticizes Jim Baker and what about poor Tammy Faye? Who is looking out for her interest?
well said grz (nm)peloton
Jun 15, 2001 10:31 PM
nm
Threaten Bible up his a$$ by grz mnkyJamm
Jun 17, 2001 7:01 AM
Grz mnky: Weren't you the one with that threat earlier yesterday?

A true gentleman.
I AGREE, Grz is a 2 faced punk. I get bad vibes from him.Bobblie
Jun 17, 2001 9:50 PM
Loser.