RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


POLL- most over-rated bike and why?(34 posts)

POLL- most over-rated bike and why?nm
Jun 15, 2001 8:15 AM
nm
The more expensive bikes are the most overated. Colnago DeRosa.Whaler
Jun 15, 2001 9:20 AM
nm
The more expensive bikes are the most overated. Colnago DeRosa.Cima Coppi
Jun 15, 2001 10:25 AM
How can you say this?!?! Is it because you cannot afford one. I cannot either, but I will not say they are overrated. These two frames have been used by professional teams for decades. If there was something wrong with the frame, I'd say you would not see so many on the pro circuit.

Back up your shallow statement with some hard evidence.
Easy.Wailer
Jun 15, 2001 10:56 AM
First let me point out that I didn't post that, but don't necessarily disagree with it. Your response seems a little harsh and attacking (can't afford one, "shallow" statements) considering you are for the "pact." I forgive you, your human, and artifices like pacts are nothing more than attempts at manipulating a group to fit someone elses measure. Good on you for rebelling!

However, your post does contain a comment, specifically: "These two frames have been used by professional teams for decades. If there was something wrong with the frame, I'd say you would not see so many on the pro circuit.", that I must respond to.

People often have the impression that if a pro uses it, they must be believe in the product or feel it offers them an advantage. Mebbe so back in the day, but not today with huge commercial endorsements. Professional cyclists ride what they are paid to ride and they are paid by their sponsors. Most bike companies don't have deep pockets so they are not title sponsors, they just provide free bikes, gear, support, and some cash along with it. Any company with the money can sponsor a team, therefor, sponsorship is not indicative of quality but of marketing and bank accounts. Huffy has had bikes in the grand tours, sure they were not built by Huffy, but a lot of bikes you see in the show are not built by company label on the downtube. Did you know that Huffy sells more bikes than all the other manufacturers combined? Must be something good about them if so many are riding them?!
there is something good about huffyColnagoFE
Jun 15, 2001 11:04 AM
and others like huffy...they are CHEAP!
Beg to differ...Cima Coppi
Jun 15, 2001 11:15 AM
You are right that Huffy had sponsorship for teams, but it was mearly a name on the frame. The frame was actually built by Serotta. Other's do the same, but you can look closely at Mapei Colnago's, and see they are indeed Colnago's

Given the grueling conditions the pros put their bikes through over the year, I'd have to say they are using the best equipment available to them. Yes they are given the bikes by the sponsor, but do you not think the teams would drop the manufacturer if the frame had high occurences of failure? I know in Paris-Roubaix, Domo had the top 4 places on Merckx's, and Eddy is a director of the team (I wonder how they decided to use those bikes), but there must be something said for the quality of manufacturing (not to say rider strength had nothing to do with it, it did) to have 4 Merckx's finish in the top 4 of the harshest one day race on the planet.

Your point is half taken...
I agree, I have owned both frames.Allen D.
Jun 15, 2001 9:57 PM
Colnago pays ProTeams to ride their frames.
If expensive = overated then...terry b
Jun 15, 2001 1:45 PM
My Colnago cost $3200. There are plenty of Litespeeds, Cannondales, Treks and Specializeds that come close or greatly surpass that value. Are they overated as well based on this assertation? I often wonder if the general bias against Colnagos on this site is not is some large part due to the ignorance of how much they actually cost.
re: POLL- most over-rated bike and why?TJeanloz
Jun 15, 2001 9:34 AM
Moots, all that money for straight gauge ti? Why? I'll give you that the welds are beautiful, as are Merlin, Seven, Serotta et. al.; and you actually get a tubeset that was designed after 1990 with the others.
re: POLL- most over-rated bike and why?AD14
Jun 15, 2001 9:51 AM
All the expensive bikes although the point about ti from moots is well taken. I own a colnago masterlight. Are you telling me this frame, which is not made of the latest and most advanced tubing, is worth 1500 dollars? No way. Is a lightspeed palmares worth 3000 without customization? The list could go on and on.
It must be worth it...ColnagoFE
Jun 15, 2001 11:06 AM
you bought it...as did a lot of others. if it wasn't somehow "worth" it then nobody would own one. worth and value are relative terms. using price/benefit scale then nobody would own a seven and we'd all be riding steel treks.
It must be worth it...AD14
Jun 16, 2001 8:26 AM
Actually my colnago was a gift. I would not have chosen it( for what it cost).
re: POLL- most over-rated bike and why?Cima Coppi
Jun 15, 2001 10:21 AM
Why don't you ask Moots?!?! There may be a very good reason they use straight guage, but don't knock it without good evidence against it.
re: POLL- most over-rated bike and why?TJeanloz
Jun 15, 2001 4:35 PM
The bicycle industry is the only one that I've ever known. I also live in Colorado, and have been to the Moots facility in Steamboat a number of times. My first bike shop job was with the #1 Moots dealer in the U.S. I know why Moots uses straight gauge tubing- it lowers costs. As a manufacturer, that is a very good reason to use straight gauge tubing. Straight gauge tubing will build a fine bike, one that most of us would be proud to own, but there are better bikes out there that come with a lot less hype.
Another worthless poll..Cima Coppi
Jun 15, 2001 10:19 AM
Whether or not a bike is over-rated is in the eye of the beholder. All bikes are currently on the market have a niche to a particular consumer group. If one says a Colnago is over-rated for one reason or another, someone else (who probably owns one) will tell you otherwise. You cannot, and should not have such a poll. There are particular manufacturers I do not care for, but I will not knock them. If someone is comparing bikes for purchase, and wants hard evidence for why they should choose one particular bike, then I will give my opinions and back it up!!
Cima's right, let's bag this right now! (nm)RhodyRider
Jun 15, 2001 10:43 AM
Deja Vu (nm)We just did this last month...
Jun 15, 2001 10:25 AM
flipside, most under-rated bike?Dog
Jun 15, 2001 10:28 AM
Don't really care for these polls, but a more intriguing question to me is, what are the under-rated bikes - the sleepers? Good value, fast, relatively cheap bikes that many people over look or look down upon?

My vote, most Bianchi's.

Doug
any small, quality, local steel builder without an ad budget nmHank
Jun 15, 2001 10:37 AM
nm
tell that to lennard zinnColnagoFE
Jun 15, 2001 11:09 AM
i can't believe how much he charges for a frame comapred to others like anvil, et al though i imagine his main gig is velonews and he doensn't want tons of work he can't deliver on.
well...Hank
Jun 15, 2001 11:21 AM
that's what I meant - the guys you don't hear of like Anvil or Mikkelesen are the most under-rated (and check out this guy Matt Chester who does custom ti singlespeeds at custom steel prices). More power to Zinn (or Sachs or whoever) if he can get as much as he does. Those guys have been around a long time in a difficult industry and have paid some major dues. And in the case of someone like Sachs (I can't comment on Zinn), I'd still say that money is well spent.
well...badabill
Jun 15, 2001 3:46 PM
John Slawta at Landshark builds a great frame. His work in brazed steel is classic. The plus on any af these builders is the custom geometry you can order.
yupHank
Jun 15, 2001 6:09 PM
Slawta builds really nice bikes. Some of the paint jobs scare the hell out of me though.
tell that to lennard zinnTJeanloz
Jun 15, 2001 4:38 PM
To be honest with you, the execution of Zinn frames is pretty poor. Lennard doesn't do anything except design the frames and geometry- and he is almost certainly the best designer for awkwardly tall people. A lot of framebuilders can build a big bike, but Lennard's designs are worth the money (for tall folks).
flipside, most under-rated bike?AaronL
Jun 15, 2001 11:09 AM
Yo Doug,

I gotta agree. Many people overlook the top model Bianchi bikes when shopping for a pro-level ride. I have a 2001 boron steel that is the best bike I have ever owned. The frame is only about $1K. Not bad for what you get.
EV2 framesets are only $799 at Supergo right now! nmkeith m.
Jun 16, 2001 7:32 AM
nm
Kestrel 200sci...vram
Jun 16, 2001 1:39 PM
The Kestrel 200sci isn't the cheapest bike out there, but I think it is way under-rated. In my opinion it is a better bike than a Trek carbon or Look--the monocoque design is superior, stiffer, more durable than the thousands of carbon-lugged bikes that folks buy. Unlike a TRrek 5200 or a Look, a crashed Kestrel frame can be repaired, not so with the lugged construction. And the Kestrels come with a life-time warranty. Kestrel is a pioneer in fabricating carbon bikes and since they've been doing it longer than any of the other manufacturers (that design carbon bikes) they know what they are doing.

The reason they are under-rated, IMO, is because there are no pro teams that race with them (at least no Div 1 or 2 teams).
OCLV, C40, EV2, Vortex, TCR, or...Hank
Jun 15, 2001 10:33 AM
any other frame pros are seen winning on.
Any bike I'm on at the time. (nm)Slow
Jun 15, 2001 10:57 AM
nm
OCLVmuncher
Jun 15, 2001 11:10 AM
From a UK perspective - I really can not imagine how anyone, good though I am sure they are, can comtemplate paying the thick end of $6400 for an off-the-shelf bike. Maybe I'm just tight though...
US Bikes in the UK and Non-US Bikes in the USzelig
Jun 15, 2001 1:06 PM
From a value angle, perhaps not over-rated perspective, buying non-in-country stuff skews the price due to import duties and taxes. Both Muncher and I know that the Vortex I ride is priced in the UK at about £2,300 or around $3,450. I'm not even sure that at US list, that it's a good value but I certainly didn't pay list.

A Colnago Ovalmaster, Colorado Cyclist listed at $2,450 with Force Fork costs £1,350 or about $2,025 and that includes 17.5% VAT which more or less (actually less) equates to sales tax in the States.

The point is that when one incorporates pricing into rating, and who can avoid the inclusion, one's not comparing apples to apples.

For me the bike that's so over-rated that its under-rated is the Colnago C-40. I may mentally diss the bike as I contemplate my questions about its longevity, its pricing and the Colnago mystique (who can forget the first time they saw the yellow paint in the clover leaf lug cutout's of those early-70's monochrome models) but at the same time I lust for one because of all those reasons. Nobody said a Ferrari was a practical car to own but I've wanted one since the mid-60's, the lust has gone unabated and I wouldn't keep it in the garage. Once you drive one, you're hooked. Oh yes, and back to the pricing.
Over-rated- any bike that does't fit..... (nm)Dave Hickey
Jun 15, 2001 11:39 AM
nm
Colnago CF-1 - You've ridden the bike, now drive the car?MeDotOrg
Jun 15, 2001 7:46 PM
I believe this bike sells for nearly $10,000. Anyone slower than a Tour De France top 10 finisher would look like a poseur on this bike. But let's face it folks: You're paying several thousand dollars to have "Ferrari" painted on your bike...
But boy is it pretty!!! nmLazy
Jun 16, 2001 8:22 AM
nm