RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Not your typical saddle question(11 posts)

Not your typical saddle questionDave Hickey
Jun 15, 2001 7:15 AM
Here is my problem. I'm looking for a saddle for my rain bike. My two "good" bikes are using the 2001 Specialized Body Geometry Pro. This saddle is very firm and fits me well. I don't want to spend $100.00 for a third saddle for my rain bike. I'd like to spend
$40-$50 at the most. Is there an inexpensive saddle that is firm?
re: Not your typical saddle questionCima Coppi
Jun 15, 2001 7:36 AM
Dave,

I do not know if the Flite saddle is comfortable for you, but if so, the price of the basic saddle has come down dramatically. I have seen it for around $50 on the web. If you go to:

http://www.excelsports.com/item.asp?major=&minor=&description=Flite+Titanium+Smooth+Saddle&vendorCode=SELLE

Excel has it for $47.95

Hope this helps!! Happy riding (on all bikes)!!!
I think that the standard flite is being closed out, as inbill
Jun 15, 2001 9:13 AM
extinct.
re: Not your typical saddle questionRay Sachs
Jun 15, 2001 8:39 AM
The Specialized web site has closeouts on last year's BG Pro for $60. It's not quite in your price range, but it's probably the closest you're going to get to a saddle that fits as well as the ones on your good bikes. You still have to be comfortable on the bike when it rains, no?

Regarding Flites, they're good deals, but my observation has been that people who like BGs tend not to like Flites and vice versa.

-Ray
Why not ebay or the classifieds here...Mike Prince
Jun 15, 2001 9:28 AM
I think you should be able to find a used BG in your price range. I find saddles to be too personal and once you find one you are happy with you should stick with it. Just my opinion, though.

Cheers
Mike
Why not ebay or the classifieds here...Dave Hickey
Jun 15, 2001 9:43 AM
I agree mike, but the new BG is not the groved saddle. You can find the groved saddles alot of places. The new BG is a more traditional saddle. I have not seen these being sold as used yet.
Why not ebay or the classifieds here...Mike Prince
Jun 15, 2001 9:55 AM
True. I just remembered seeing the new Pro in a shop here in the UK and it is different than the original. If you're looking for firm, I have a San Marco Regal that's a bit too firm for me (I switched back to a Flite) if you're interested.

Looked on the classified board here and found a Fizik Pave for $20, http://www.roadbikereview.com/market/bikeparts/messages/34976.shtml. I've heard this is a firm saddle but I've not used one. May be worth posting a "WTB" message on the classified as someone may have bought a new Pro and found it doesn't suit them.

MP
Not Grooved?Ray Sachs
Jun 15, 2001 11:59 AM
The groove doesn't run all the way through the nose like it did on last year's, but the cutout and groove in the rear 2/3 of the saddle is as large and the shape at the sit-bones looks to be the same. Have you tried one of last years? I'd bet it would feel more similar to what you have than anything else out there.

-Ray
Might want to try Nashbar or Performancelook271
Jun 16, 2001 1:19 PM
Nashbar used to have a grooved saddle like the Specilaized. Might be close enough to your Specialized and I'm sure that it would be in you price-range.
re: Not your typical saddle questiontraveler
Jun 15, 2001 10:11 AM
I have a Selle Italia genuine gel saddle (2000 model- maybe tri comp or something) with probably less than 500 miles on it. Will sell it if you are interested. $30 gets it shipped to you. It is red and black.
Concor $29.95 Excel Sports - Lance's saddle (nm)Hank
Jun 15, 2001 10:19 AM
nm