RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Noodle Recipe(19 posts)

Noodle RecipeKristin
Jun 12, 2001 3:54 PM
Okay, perhaps no one cares...but I discovered a great, low-cal way to cover plain noodles. I thought I'd share it--just incase anyone wants to try it. First, I'm a big proponent of HiddenValley Ranch Dip mix as a seasoning... (just a disclaimer) Cook up approx. 1 cup of your favorite noodles (I use spinich linguine) and drain Mix in: 1 Tbls Hidden Valley Ranch Dip mix 1 Tbls Dill weed 1 Tsp Olive Oil 1 Tsp Vinegar As an option add: 1 Grilled Chicken Breast sliced 1 Cup Sauteed Onions & Garlic Viola - very tasty!
do you guys see what happens when you let chicks play?bill
Jun 12, 2001 4:19 PM
jes' funnin, Kristen.
Seriously, what kind of vinegar do you use? It always sounds as if vinegar would be a good idea, but I've never found stuff I've liked. BTW, I do most of the cooking for my family. My wife is terrible in the kitchen (she's making supper now; we'll see).
re: Noodle RecipeLazy
Jun 12, 2001 4:28 PM
Sounds good, although I'm not sure why you'd add a violin like instrument to your noodle dish. I would think the strings would be difficult to digest. LOL, just kidding, couldn't resist.

Try malt vinegar sometime, it's good stuff. It's yummy on fries too.

Seriously though, it sounds good. I've never thought of using dip mix as a seasoning. I'll have to try it out sometime.
YES!!! My twin!!boy nigel
Jun 12, 2001 4:39 PM
I caught the "Viola" bit immediately (Finding typos is my trade, what can I say?), and was going to joke with Kristin about it, too. Good work, Lazy. BTW, "violin like" should be hyphenated (i.e., violin-like). Now, if one were to say, "An instrument that is violin like.", the hyphen isn't needed unless the compound adjective is immediately followed by the noun it modifies. Couldn't help myself. :)

I agree that malt vinegar's solid on fries, too. Have you ever had real-deal Belgian "frites" (fries)? They're double-cooked (fried) for God-like crispness (not meaning to infer that anyone's "God" is necessarily crisp, though), and they're generally dipped in a mayonnaise blend with other spices, including curry, garlic, or other such flavorings. Truly WONDERFUL, and possibly my favorite thing in the world. Gotta have them!

Nige
LOLLazy
Jun 12, 2001 5:02 PM
Well, your editorness. Thanks for pointing out my simpleton-like gaff!!

Frites rock. I didn't know they were double cooked though. The best part is the little tiny fork they give you to eat them with.

I once went to a McDonald's in Italy (ridiculous I know). They cook their fries in olive oil. That was pretty darn good too.

For some reason fries are better in Europe.

Later,
The Lazy one
That's cos we invented them, like cycling.In the Campy Camp
Jun 13, 2001 7:12 AM
YES!!! My twin!!nutmegger
Jun 12, 2001 6:09 PM
By "typo", I assume you mean typographical error.
Yes, a typographical error.boy nigel
Jun 12, 2001 9:26 PM
Pronounced "TIE-poe" for those out there who don't regularly use the term. Basically, a typing transposition (reversing a couple of letters) or misspelling.

Just in case....

In NYC, we've got a few places that serve Belgian Frites, including a fine spot about a four-minute walk from my door. Great mussels, too! NYC has anything you could want, cuisine-wise. :)

Nige
Tartare sauce...Stampertje
Jun 13, 2001 10:16 AM
...although I don't have a recipe for you. Some more classic Dutch Belgian fries combos: mayonnaise, peanut sauce and chopped raw onions; curry sauce; or just plain mayonnaise (yes, we f***ing drown them in that sh*t).

I love balsamic vinegar (and flavoured balsamics, e.g. raspberry) for salads. For cooked sauces, I usually just use white wine or sherry vinegar.
KristinDCP
Jun 12, 2001 4:57 PM
Just when you think this board is getting somewhat repetitive and just a little dull, Kristin posts sparking all sorts of responses and commentary. Thank goodness.
No doubt! nmLazy
Jun 12, 2001 5:02 PM
Kristincycleguy
Jun 12, 2001 11:01 PM
Thank goodness. Perhaps we should say, thank godness.
How about Ice Cream for pre-ride meal?The Lone Cyclist
Jun 12, 2001 5:30 PM
As long as we are talking about food, won't ice cream make a good pre-ride breakfast meal?

I made too much mango ice cream sunday and I though why not? It has lots of calories, calcium, carbohydrates...plus it's yummy.

The Lone Cyclist in Arizona
that is a sound ideaishmael
Jun 12, 2001 7:22 PM
maybe too much sugar, but i dont know if that is a bad thing..refreshing thought
coffee ice cream is best for pre-ride meal, Hagan daz or breyersredman
Jun 12, 2001 9:48 PM
nm
To GreggHap
Jun 12, 2001 7:38 PM
I guess we're going to have to add a new forum, "recipes". And, of course, it will need it's own review section as well. 4 stars on Kristen's Ranch Sauce.

Hap
Ever had home-made noodles?bianchi boy
Jun 12, 2001 9:43 PM
Try this recipe. It's called spetzel or spetzen, which I think is German for noodle. They're drop noodles and are almost like dumplings except they're not as doughy. Anyway, they're good with melted butter and parsley. I usually add them to things like chicken stew or chicken paprikash, which is a Hungarian dish.

Mix 1 1/2 cups of flour, 1/2 cup of water, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1/8 tsp of nutmeg and 2 eggs in a large bowl.

Boil a large pot of water. Drop small dabs of the batter into the boiling water. I used two spoons to do this. Don't worry about the shapes or sizes varying, that makes them interesting. Boil until they float, which is only a minute or two. Scoop out with slotted spoon and drain in colander. Add melted butter and seasoning when you're done cooking all the batter.

I learned how to make this from my brother-in-law's Hungarian parents. They put the spetzel in Chicken Paprikash. The Joy of Cooking has a good recipe for this if you want to try it. Everyone who has every tried this recipe among my family and friends loves it.
Ever had home-made noodles?Organik
Jun 13, 2001 6:28 AM
This method works great for soup. What you do is: make up that batter and wait for the soup to boil (I do this with tomato soup), then you pour the batter in very slowly in a spiral pattern (don't just dump it in). The batter will harden instantly and will make for thin, soft noodles in the soup. Enjoy.
Farmer's market recipeAlexR
Jun 13, 2001 11:06 AM
The farmers market is pretty heavy on the spring greens still, but the one in Evanston has a hydroponic tomatoe grower who has good stuff already. Good cheese guy too. He's from Wisconsin, of course.

Pasta - I like penne if it's dry. If it's homemade, i can only do linguine.
grape or cherry tomatoes - sliced in half
herbs - basil, parsley, chives would be fine, something leafy
pine nuts - roasted, walnuts would work ok
cheese - parmesan, of course, but bleu (not blue) cheese sould be funky
oil - olive

proportions - who needs proportions? eyeball it, you bozos.

Cooking time - you can prepare everything in the time it takes the water to boil. Support you local growers, shop at the farmer's market.

Alex