RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


LOOK cycle customer service(14 posts)

LOOK cycle customer serviceDave Hickey
Jun 11, 2001 4:00 PM
I just wanted to pass on a recent experience with LOOK cycles in France. I was looking for a LOOK jersey and handlebar tape for my bikes( I currently have two LOOK's). I went to the Look website and looked up the name of the US distributor. I send the US distributor an email asking where I could buy the jersey and tape. They replied that they choose not to import these items. I decided to go directly to LOOK asking who what web-retailers in Europe sell jersey's and tape. I received an email reply from LOOK asking for my size and what color tape I needed. I assumed they were going to pass this info on to a retailer. In my mail box today was the LOOK jersey and two rolls of LOOK bar tape. Not only did I not pay for these, but they arrived in 4 days(France to Texas). Thank you LOOK.
Wow!!Lazy
Jun 11, 2001 4:12 PM
That's super duper. All companies should consider this type of service. I would venture to guess that they just earned themselves a customer for life. Nice!
Thanks Dave!look271
Jun 11, 2001 4:35 PM
I have 1 Look, a KG 271. I'm alway looking (no pun intended!) for cool and different looking stuff to ride in/on. Think I'll drop them an e-mail! Thanks for the info. I was little leary of getting a French bike, not because of the bike, but because of customer service, being able to get ahold of them, etc. This puts my mind at ease should I ever have future concerns. BTW, what do you ride?
I have twoDave Hickey
Jun 11, 2001 5:32 PM
My main ride is a KG286. My other bike is a KG243. I'm really please with both.
I have twolook271
Jun 11, 2001 5:53 PM
The 286 is the replacement to mine, I think. I have always been fixated on the Looks and last summer I got my 271 on clearance. Best combo of speed, lightness, and comfort I have been on. Nice to know that you'll PROBABLY be the only one on a Look on your group rides (although there are 2 women who ride in my area who have Looks-2 smart ladies!).
KG286Dave Hickey
Jun 11, 2001 6:12 PM
The 286 is an older model all carbon monocoque(sp) frame. This was built in 1996-97. It's not as light as your 271. It's been replaced by the 386 all carbon. My next bike will be a KG281 unless they come out with something new between now and next year. When I ride group/charity rides in Texas, I've never seen another LOOK bike. To me, that's part of the appeal.
impressiveDuane Gran
Jun 11, 2001 6:38 PM
I'm always on the lookout (damn, these puns are accidental) for my next ride and I'm leaning heavily toward Look. I probably won't be in the market for 9 months, but stories like this are nice to hear. Actually, it is a relief from the negative things we often hear about customer service. So... did you call them in France from the US?
impressiveDave Hickey
Jun 11, 2001 7:28 PM
No, I just send them an email from the "contact LOOK" on their web site.
Contact Look?look271
Jun 12, 2001 4:43 PM
I've been trying to get to their site, but have been having problems. I've tried http://www.lookbicyclesusa.com (as I have in the past-I think!) and my browser keeps giving me the "this page can not be displayed" routine.I THINK that is the correct url. Have I gone completely insane?
Contact Look?Joe B.
Jun 12, 2001 7:58 PM
http://www.lookcyclesusa.com/

This thread piqued my curiosity as well...

Joe
Thanks-look271
Jun 12, 2001 9:01 PM
Found it myself a little while ago. In my most sincere effort, I've e-mailed them,too, hoping to get some swag! Who knows? Can't hurt. Then, not only will I have the 2nd coolest bike in the area ( one of the lbs owners have a kg 281 that I lust after, built w/ full record 10), I'll have the coolest jersey. :-)
lookcycle.comDave Hickey
Jun 13, 2001 5:02 AM
Don't go to the USA site, that will take you to the US distributor's LOOK site. Go to www.lookcycle.com. That is the actual LOOK site.
Wow Wow WOW! So how about some serious reviews??SimpleGreen
Jun 11, 2001 8:01 PM
That's a fantastic story! I'm glad you posted. Whenever I get the Excel Sport catalog, I wonder how well the Look bikes ride. I've heard good things, but I've never had the chance to ask anyone about it.

Some concerns I would have if I were to get one is the slack seat angles for the smaller frames. The STA is 72.5 degrees throughout the whole line. A 52cm (C-C) frame typically has a 73-74 degree STA. So fit would be a concern for smaller sizes.

There's no listing for Look bikes on this website, so I'm sure people would like to see a full review from all you Look owners right here on the message boards.

Happy Riding!!

SG
more good LOOK experiences...seamus
Jun 22, 2001 12:41 AM
I bought my dream bike, a KG 281 recently, and after building it, the look post wouldn't stop slipping. A call to Veltec (the US distributor) netted me another post, which still slipped. So they hooked me up with a THIRD post AND a new frame. Turns out the original two posts were a little undersized, but they tossed me a new frame anyway, just in case.

These guys really take care of people...