RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Douglas Titanium bikes(9 posts)

Douglas Titanium bikesrode
Jun 5, 2001 6:40 AM
I'm currently very interested in a Douglas titanium bicycle from Colorado Cyclist. I've been unable to find any ratings on this bike. Can anyone tell me anything about this bicycle or where to find a rating on it?
They sure do look purty. Right or wrong, I pretty much trustbill
Jun 5, 2001 10:36 AM
CC. Been thinking about trying some of their clothing. Anyone have experience?
CC clothing. Detailed write-up.boy nigel
Jun 5, 2001 11:08 AM
I'm kind of a b*tch (in the bad way--no offense meant to women) when it comes to clothes, since I'm about 5'5 and very picky about fit. I ordered CC's Coolmax Alta jersey, and a pair each of their Dryline (less expensive) and Powerline (more expensive) bibs.

Due to fit (or lack thereof for me, anyway), they were all returned (Frustrating!!). However, they all seemed to be made well and thoughtfully. The jersey was a great material with a LONG, hidden zipper on the front and three pockets (four, really, since there's a small middle pocket that zips on top of the normal open middle pocket) in the back. It's cut a bit loose, without grippers on the arms, but that's pretty much Alta jerseys for you. Nicely made jersey, but it sat on my saddle in the back--too long for my short body in the small size.

The chamois on both bibs were decent, but the ACS Powerline chamois was superior, and very nice. The legs came almost to my knees (common, but I can't ride in legs that long), but the straps were of a good size. THE PICTURES OF THEIR BIBS IN THE CATALOG ARE COMPUTER-GENERATED, NOT ACTUAL. This frustrated me greatly. For the Drylines with the white straps, the thin, ventilated white material starts about two inches above the chamois pad in front. Basically, I had to "arrange" myself to one side or the other so that I didn't threaten to "pop out" of the top and enter others' view if my jersey rode up slightly. Sorry to get graphic, but the photo shows four inches of black short above the chamois--NOT TRUE AT ALL. First shorts I've tried that had such low "clearance" in front. Made me self-conscious, even while riding. The white straps also offer no "support," really, and seem a bit flimsy (though comfortable). More substantial material makes for a better fit and slims one down if they're carrying a LITTLE extra in the middle; this material does nothing for support or appearance.

The Powerline bibs seem to be made with elite athletes (read: very slim/skinny folks) in mind, which makes sense. The material covers lots of your side and back, which means that the front section opens up to "expose" anything extra you're carrying around, instead of helping "hold it in" like other bibs do. I'm not fat, but I'm not skinny either, and these bibs--though they seemed comfortable and made well--accentuated the negative, shall I say. Because the straps sit wider, there's less front coverage. Just my take.

I hope this helps. Overall, they seem to make very nice stuff, and the construction/fabrics are great. For me, the fit was more important, and so I returned them. For "average-sized" riders, they'd find some nice stuff with CC.

Nige
Bummer...PsyDoc
Jun 5, 2001 11:46 AM
Thanks for the review. I have been thinking about ordering a pair of their "ACS Powerline Short Short" as it has a reduced inseam. Most of my shorts come down too far.
real world results! you just saved somebody $ & time! thanks! nmHaiku d'état
Jun 6, 2001 6:58 AM
nice review.
Glad to, jeffreyh.boy nigel
Jun 6, 2001 8:16 AM
I'm pleased to have helped save people $ and time. I've been waiting for a chance to write-up my thoughts on the CC stuff, but I didn't want to start a whole "rant" thread about them. I dig CC, and dealing with them has always been a pleasant experience. Again, their stuff seems great, but I simply had a caveat or two for the peeps on the board here. I was especially let down BECAUSE the stuff seemed really nice but didn't fit me well, particularly in the length.

Cheers,
Nigel
re: Douglas Titanium bikesG
Jun 5, 2001 12:33 PM
I recall reading somewhere that the Douglas frame was made by Sandvik(TST). Looks real nice, but I was suprised that it only had a five year warranty as opposed to a lifetime warranty. Ti is a durable metal so I don't know if that really matters.
re: Douglas Titanium bikesGary M
Jun 5, 2001 1:07 PM
I bought a Douglas Ti about 3 months ago from CC and have been very happy with it. The welds are beautiful as is the polished finish (which may not be available anymore in some sizes). All of the package components were excellent. The ride is very smooth and I haven't noticed any of the "ti flex" I keep reading about. I have looked at the frame in CC's store and compared it to Merlin and Litespeeds they have on the floor and honestly I can't see much difference between them. But given the price differences there must be some. The frames are made by Titanium Technologies (http://www.titaniumsports.com/) Bottom line: a terrific value for a ti bike from a reputable source.
Agreedpmf
Jun 6, 2001 7:37 AM
I did some research on bargain ti bikes for a friend last year and concluded that the frames made by TST are the only ones without some obvious problem (e.g., made in China, use of CP alloy, etc). This company makes frames for a bunch of other labels. They sell a plain jane frame (no paint/decals) for $699. However, I doubt you'd be able to get the frame and build it up any cheaper than what CC is selling them for. I think the bike is a bargain.

I wouldn't worry about the 5 year warranty.

I've bought bikes from CC in the past. I've also helped friends buy from them and had them delivered to my house where I set them up. The bikes always came perfectly built up with very little for me to do. The most time consuming part is cleaning up all those darn foam peanuts.