RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


commute/wash, no stink advice needed(14 posts)

commute/wash, no stink advice neededclimbo
Jun 4, 2001 9:06 AM
Just moved offices, used to have a full shower and locker room, now I have nothing for a few months until the building is complete. How can I ride 15-20 miles and get cleaned up so I don't stink out the whole office. I'm sure I can find a relatively unused bathroom so that I can use the sink to wash, any other tips or tricks anyone uses?
re: commute/wash, no stink advice neededAndy M-S
Jun 4, 2001 9:17 AM
My commute is much shorter--7 miles each way--but even in fairly hot weather I haven't had any complaints. I shower before I leave for work, and use clean riding clothes every day. Since the main sources of, um, "ripeness" are bacterial, staying good and clean seems to kill the stink at its source.
re: commute/wash, no stink advice neededAlan B
Jun 4, 2001 9:45 AM
Ditto for 20 miles one way. No complaints so far. Keep soap, washcloth and deoderant at the office for when you need 'em. I keep a hairdryer too, more for fog than sweat (I work on the coast and May and June can get pretty foggy).
re: commute/wash, no stink advice neededDave Hickey
Jun 4, 2001 9:26 AM
I commute at least once a week in Texas heat and ride everyday at lunch. The biggest problem I find is your hair smelling from the helmet pads. I make sure my helmet is clean before every ride. I wash the pads in the sink after each ride and then spray the pads with Fabreeze. A shower in the sink works also, but it doesn't hurt to have a bottle of colone in your desk.
Baby Wipes.Gadfly
Jun 4, 2001 9:31 AM
Biker's best friend.
Baby wipes are the duct tape of the cleaning world (nm)mike mcmahon
Jun 4, 2001 9:32 AM
nm
Baby Wipes.Alan B
Jun 4, 2001 9:47 AM
Good idea. I'm gonna give that a try!
Smell's not generally a problem; it's the stickies...cory
Jun 4, 2001 9:41 AM
Nice fresh sweat doesn't have much odor--I doubt anyone would be offended. What bothers me is the sticky feeling you have the rest of the day. I have a shower now, but before we got it, I found you could do a pretty good wipedown with a guest-sized towel dampened in the sink and wrung out. Then dry with a regular towel, dress and you're done. Take the towels home at least a couple of times a week and wash 'em.
re: commute/wash, no stink advice neededBike Fool
Jun 4, 2001 10:46 AM
I can't remember the name of the product, but its new, and originally designed/marketed for the infirm. They are like oversized baby wipes and you can nuke 'em in the microwave before using. Check out your local pharmacy for them.
re: commute/wash, no stink advice neededSSgt Jeremy in Germany
Jun 4, 2001 11:08 AM
Ya, I see those things advertised on Sky 1, a british channel. They are called Deowipes, don't know if they are sold in the US though.
Talc Powdersidley
Jun 4, 2001 11:21 AM
All of the above are essential sundries but no "frenchman's bath" is complete without a liberal dousing of lightly scented talc powder.
Huggies UltraRich Clark
Jun 4, 2001 2:34 PM
I ride 13 miles each way. Shower before leaving; wipe down with baby wipes, which I keep in a file cabinet drawer along with deodorant, clean underwear, spare socks, and some triple antibiotic in case of chafing.

I really like the Huggies Ultras.

You might find that your riding clothes smell a little ripe when you put them back on in the evening, but you yourself will be fine, not having given any bacteria a chance to procreate.

RichC
re: commute/wash, no stink advice neededBender
Jun 4, 2001 6:04 PM
Definately shower before departure, followed by a sponge bath in the shink at work post ride. Shave your head (to complete the whacko biker look) or get a short hair cut, it'a much easier to clean short hair with a wash cloth. A dab of hair gel on wet hair can be molded to like you actually showered and gets rid of 'helmet head'.

Also, be sure to hang up you clothes on something (to allow them to dry). The clothing funk will be reduced but not eliminated until laundry day.

PS Nothing smells worse than BO and collogne mixed together; you're not fooling anybody.

Cheers
re: commute/wash, no stink advice neededJimbojam
Jun 5, 2001 12:20 PM
I have a gym membership two blocks away with a shower/etc, I hav'nt had to use it yet. I ride in Austin 18.5 miles one way and since it is cool in the mornings I stay OK until I stop. I shower before I leave and use good deodorant. When I arrive, I use paper towels to remove a little persperation/road grime (shaved legs make this easy, added benefit from racing) and some extra deodorant. No one has complained and I work in an office environment in a professional capacity. The return home however, I do sweat alot in the 90+ degree heat, but then I home.