RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What song/music motivates you in a race?(26 posts)

What song/music motivates you in a race?Largo
May 31, 2001 8:07 PM
In the " useless drivel" post category.
Found myself on a solo break last weekend humming "Gimme Shelter"
Not my usual choice, but it just popped in there.
lord don't get me startedlonefrontranger
May 31, 2001 8:55 PM
Anything from Limp Bizkit to Ministry to Moby to ABBA to the theme from the Love Boat (that's on a really BAD day...) I try to get things started off right with a good CD while cruising to the race in our luxe sail barge (Dodge Grand Caravan, loaded, premium sound system).

I had endless Bowling Skinheads on my commute home tonight, thanks to Mr. McMahon. Good thing I like Kamper van Beethoven (Pictures of Matchstick Men is my fave).
well, not a racer, but i like to think i will be one day, so...dustin73
May 31, 2001 9:36 PM
i like NOFX, Rancid, sometimes Op Ivy...or any fast punk, basicly. on the home stretch, i like to switch to Green Day - Basket Case.
lord don't get me started4bykn
Jun 1, 2001 12:30 AM
Wow, somebody else listens to Ministry!. Music to ride by: any Led Zeppelin(and not just because I ride a Zep'), and for fun...Spinal Tap, "Big Bottom".
lord don't get me startedjschrotz
Jun 1, 2001 12:37 PM
I often find a couple of songs wandering through my head while I'm riding.
White Zombie's Thunder Kiss '65
Fishbone's Everyday Sunshine
God Save the Queen by the Sex Pistols
just about anything by Frank Black or the Pixies
Beer for Breakfast by the Replacements
Gimme Shelter--great song/great moviemike mcmahon
May 31, 2001 9:31 PM
Well, the movie was great in a creepy, murderous kind of way. Altamont: Jagger getting punched; Grace Slick trying to keep the peace; Hell's Angels beating people with pool cues and stabbing a guy to death on film. The end of peace, love, and flower-power.

I don't race any more, so I can't respond to what motivates me in a race, but I can say that the song that I most regularly have in my head while riding is the Girl from Ipanima. Unfortunately, I don't know the lyrics in Portuguese, so I just end up humming the song over and over again. At the other end of the spectrum, I sometimes get "Bulls on Parade" by Rage Against the Machine in my head when I'm really going hard. I'm not a big Rage fan, but there's something about the cadence of that song that gets me going. I suppose if I had to pick one song to be blasting over a loudspeaker during a race, that would be it.
Guerrilla Radio is the perfect tune ...lonefrontranger
May 31, 2001 9:38 PM
For getting in that awesome frame of mind to do a hairy, sketchy b*lls-out crit. "Break Stuff" comes a really close second.
re: Girl from IpanimaBreck
May 31, 2001 11:17 PM
sergio mendez and brasil '66 did a great job on this(a&m records). only had the open reel version and just picked up a cd copy month ago at tower records in san diego town. saw the group live at the hollywood bowl fronting old blue eyes back in the 70's. --awesome!

when going on a camping trip up to big sur in 1968 me and the missus in the old volvo were passed by a large group of hell's angels. i gave tham a lame wave and a weak smile. they gave us back their patented "look". scary group back then. big sur was filled with flower children setting around reading poetry. nothing the rangers could do but they were harmless & "borrowed" some red wine off us. "those were the days my friend i thought they'd never end" but they did & now us old hippies drive the bimmers. tundra for me :)

hay i'm thinking neil young now, may get "ragged glory"(reprise 1990) & tom petty's "wildflowers"(wb 1994) ....any one comment on these?

cheers mikey
Bangles, bobbles and beadsmike mcmahon
May 31, 2001 11:28 PM
I love Sinatra's version of the song. Who ever would have put Sinatra and that song together? But it was genius. I found recently found the best pizza in L.A. at a place called Vito's on Vermont. They've got an autographed photo of Sinatra circa 1965 that says: "To Vito's, the Best Pizza in LA, Baby! Frank"

I can't comment on either album. The only Neil Young albums I've had are Harvest and Rust Never Sleeps. The only Petty album I own is Damn the Torpedoes.

Mike
ol' blue eyesBreck
Jun 1, 2001 9:31 AM
he had a hit in every decade he sang! was the first to not be a big band stand out only when he started his solo career. learned to sing off the note with tommy dorsey band and paid attention to lady day's style. in a recent poll of 44,000 pop music lovers and artists, etc he came in first; elvis second. dooby-dooby-doo... i hve all his material and hand down my favorite pop singer. Sinatra ..i've got you under my skin ...croon it baby!

i remember "bobbles, bangles, and beads ting a ling a ling" from some orchestral group back in the 50's but cannot recall the group.
cheers
For time trials - Heading Out to the Highway, Judas Priest (nm)Andy
May 31, 2001 9:52 PM
Alright! I also like "Living After Midnight" ...Greg Taylor
Jun 1, 2001 6:50 AM
The Judas Priest version rocks, but you should also hear the version by "The Donnas". Think Joan Jett while she was with the Runaways...faster, with more PMS. Good and agressive.
SteppenwolfBreck
May 31, 2001 10:57 PM
"Born to be Wild"
"Magic Carpet Ride"
-from STEPPENWOLF, Dunhill 1968

hay worked for Hopper & w/Fonda ridin' Captain America.
...well almost. Rednecks rule in dah South.

check it out dudes.
i'll take this over a c40! jes kidding, Ernesto :)
http://allenmuseum.com/captain.htm

cheers
Springsteen from Asbury Park or DarknessHaiku d'état
Jun 1, 2001 7:42 AM
often, this one (82nd Street) or Growin' Up. don't ask.

hey bus driver keep the change
bless your children, give them names
don't trust men who walk with canes
drink this and you'll grow wings on your feet
broadway Mary, Joan Fontaine
advertiser on a downtown train
Christmas crier bustin'cane
he's in love again

dock worker's dreams mix with panthe's schemes to
someday own the rodeo
tainted woman in Vistavision
perform for out-of-state kids at the late show
wizard imps and sweat sock pimps
interstellar mongrel nymphs
Rex said that lady left him limp
love's like that
Queen of diamonds, ace of spades,
newly discovered lovers of the everglades
they take out a full page ad in the trades
to announce their arrival
and Mary Lou she found out how to cope,
she rides to heaven on a gyroscope
the Daily News asks her for the dope
she says: "Man, the dope's that there's still hope"
Springsteen JuiceRocco's Big Ride 2001
Jun 1, 2001 10:10 PM
Great crank pumping tunes by Bruce also would have to include, Living Proof, Better Days, Loose Ends and for that long goddamn hill at the end of every ride...... Drive All Night.
re: What song/music motivates you in a race?dwight yookam
Jun 1, 2001 8:48 AM
Rage Against the Machine - the new album first song the main lyric is

"I'm the E-F-F-E-C-T a smooth operator operating correctly"

I repeat this over and over cause I'm just that the effect not the cause and I'm also trying to be a smooth operator operating correctly.

I'm housin' by EPMD the lyric

"Relate to the matter as I drop the bomb"

Then anything else that I'm listening to at the time... Recently some Paul Simon, Phish, Frank Zappa..
Not a racer but as far as motivation...Delia
Jun 1, 2001 9:13 AM
Not a racer but as far as motivation...

"More Human Than Human"

"Blue Monday" Both Orgy and New Order Versions

And various NIN songs.
Not a racer but as far as motivation...Michelle
Jun 1, 2001 10:40 AM
Dead Milkmen - 'nuf said
Wow! Second Dead Milkmen reference in 24 hrs (nm)mike mcmahon
Jun 1, 2001 11:01 AM
nm
'tacoland' & 'rocketship' have snuck in my head a few times NMHaiku d'état
Jun 1, 2001 11:50 AM
Nothing Bad Ever HappensLazy
Jun 1, 2001 11:18 AM
Or any other Oingo Boingo song.

Big Audio Dynamite, Tool, 311, and Ministry are also pretty good.

If it's necessary to get REALLY crazy, a little Sigue Sigue Sputnik "Love missile" does the trick, or "World Destruction" by Afrika Lambata is pretty b1tchin. Or several other faves from my youth.
Roadrunner! Roadrunner! 128 when it's late at night!128
Jun 1, 2001 11:43 AM
Use songs about 80 beats per minute to help pace me, running and biking.
Like "Ain't it a Shame" Cheap Trick at Budakan: a little fast, but that drum intro I can do it all day!

and of course!:
Roadrunner, roadrunner
Going faster miles an hour
Gonna drive past the Stop 'n' Shop
With the radio on
I'm in love with Massachusetts
And the neon when it's cold outside
And the highway when it's late at night
Got the radio on
I'm like the roadrunner

Alright
I'm in love with modern moonlight
128 when it's dark outside
I'm in love with Massachusetts
I'm in love with the radio on
It helps me from being alone late at night
It helps me from being lonely late at night
I don't feel so bad now in the car
Don't feel so alone, got the radio on
Like the roadrunner
That's right

Said welcome to the spirit of 1956
Patient in the bushes next to '57
The highway is your girlfriend as you go by quick
Suburban trees, suburban speed
And it smells like heaven(thunder)
And I say roadrunner once
Roadrunner twice
I'm in love with rock & roll and I'll be out all night
Roadrunner
That's right

Well now
Roadrunner, roadrunner
Going faster miles an hour
Gonna drive to the Stop 'n' Shop
With the radio on at night
And me in love with modern moonlight
Me in love with modern rock & roll
Modern girls and modern rock & roll
Don't feel so alone, got the radio on
Like the roadrunner
O.K., now you sing Modern Lovers

(Radio On!)
I got the AM
(Radio On!)
Got the car, got the AM
(Radio On!)
Got the AM sound, got the
(Radio On!)
Got the rockin' modern neon sound
(Radio On!)
I got the car from Massachusetts, got the
(Radio On!)
I got the power of Massachusetts when it's late at night
(Radio On!)
I got the modern sounds of modern Massachusetts
I've got the world, got the turnpike, got the
I've got the, got the power of the AM
Got the, late at night, (?), rock & roll late at night
The factories and the auto signs got the power of modern sounds
Alright

Right, bye bye!
Do you think you're better off alone...Marlon
Jun 1, 2001 12:48 PM
Alice DJ - Do you think you're better off alone.

Gets me going on those breakaway attacks. Yeah... I'm better off alone, waaay out in front one of these days if I can catch the pack sleeping.
re: What song/music motivates you in a race?nutmegger
Jun 1, 2001 1:01 PM
don't race but Sinnerman has been in my head a lot.
Nothing, absolutely nothingBrian C.
Jun 1, 2001 1:26 PM
Have you noticed that everywhere you go these days, music's playing in the background, even if it's coming out of some guy's headphones across the aisle on the bus?
(Once in the neighbourhood pub, an argument ensued over which station to put the Muzac on - rock, eighties, whatever. Then I piped in and suggested no music at all, just an hour with nothing but the dull roar of human voices. They all looked at me like I was some kind of antisocial wacko.)
Oh, what a relief it is to get out there and hear nothing. Nothing but silence (and the odd mockingbird).
I Will Survive - Gloria GaynorMurph
Jun 5, 2001 9:34 AM
During my rides I don't pick out the music, it picks me. I laughed out loud when I realized this song was going through my head on Saturday's ride. I also hear the Lollypop song sometimes. The worst is when a commercial jingle starts and never stops.

-Murph