RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Good deal on a Colnago?(14 posts)

Good deal on a Colnago?Lou M
May 30, 2001 11:12 AM
I bought an used Colnago about a month ago and I would like some feedback on it. The frame is a 2000 Master X-tra light (spotless)with precisa chrome fork. The groupset is Campagnolo record 8-speed. I paid $2,000 for the bike and I am very happy with it. The question remains on whether I got a good deal on this. I would appreciate some feedback on this. Here are the details:

- Campy Record 8-speed
- Campy Shamal wheels
- Conti GP 3000 tires
- ITM handlebar and stem

I spend the past decade on a mountain bike. As a result, I wasn't up to date with road bikes and components. I was told that the groupset had about 400-500 miles and the frame 40-50. I can't find any reviews on Campy Record 8-speed, what year did they introduce the 9 and 10 speed components? Again the bike is in excellent conditions.

I appreciate any feedback.
re: Good deal on a Colnago?ColnagoFE
May 30, 2001 11:50 AM
well if it's like new then maybe though the 8 speed is definately not state of the art now that 10s are out. Shamals are nice wheels though. Tires are not much of a consideration since they wear out so fast. I'd say you got a reasonable but not killer deal on this. A new Colango Master XL with 10 speed record, handbuilt wheels, etc. can be had for a little over 3K these days...and some places overseas you might even be able to get them cheaper.
re: Good deal on a Colnago?Lou M
May 30, 2001 12:00 PM
thanks for the reply. Is it worth upgrading to Record 10 speed? If so, what needs to be replaced??
re: Good deal on a Colnago?ColnagoFE
May 30, 2001 12:05 PM
probably not worth upgrading from 8 if your 8 speed is working OK. You'll have to to replace most if not all of the gruppo. I'd just ride it and enjoy. My Master XL is a great bike. Good long term bike and a great ride. I bought it for the long run. When your 8 speed stuff wears out you may be able to find replacement parts, but most likely you'll be shopping for a new group at that time. Cassettes, chains and stuff should be fine, but it might be hard to find replacement parts for the other stuff.
re: Good deal on a Colnago?Lou M
May 30, 2001 12:12 PM
the 8 spd group is working great. Also, I live in South Florida (not a lot of hills) not sure that I need the extra gears. The bike is great and I am very happy. I'll probably replace the gruppo in a couple of years.
Sounds like a good dealBrian C.
May 30, 2001 12:10 PM
I recently spent almost twice that amount for a store-bought 2001 Master X-light, and it has just one more speed than yours - Ultegra 9.
Like you, absolutely no complaints.
You got robbed...vram
May 30, 2001 12:10 PM
A brandnew Master X-light can be had for $1050 (@totalcycling.com), and 2001 10 spd Record gruppo for $1070 (@sdeals.com/parker/totalcycling). $2000 is too much to pay for a used Master X-light with a 8sp record gruppo that has 500 miles on it. I would have payed $1000-1200 for it, max

Anyways, don't mop about it, especially since you like the bike and you've got a great set-up. Happy riding!
You got robbed...Lou M
May 30, 2001 12:19 PM
those are great prices, the cheapest I found was $1300-$1400 for the frame and fork and $1200 for the Record 10 speed. Also, the Shamal wheels run in the neighborhood of $700. I feel that I paid a reasonable price, probably could have done better with more time. I just fell in love with it, it was meant to be!!!! Thanks for the input.
My bad..vram
May 30, 2001 12:23 PM
I overlooked the Shamal wheels, and they do add quite a bit to the value.
totalcycling.comColnagoFE
May 31, 2001 9:08 AM
How much is that though once you include duties and shipping? And put on some Shamals etc? probably still a good ddeal but you gotta add the duty tax.
It's only money, ride it and enjoy......DINOSAUR
May 30, 2001 5:15 PM
Lou,
My friend I saw this post before I went for my late morning ride.
I am constantly checking and comparing prices on various bikes.
I hesitate to say that the price you paid was not the deal of the century, however you didn't get robbed. It's difficult to judge a price without seeing the bike. The truth is, it's only money. You have a fine machine, I will be purchasing a Colnago Master X-Light next year.

I've read that the Master X-Light is one of the finest off the peg steel bike's you can buy, as long as you can handle the geometry. Ride your bike and enjoy. Ride it as it was meant to be ridden and it will be worth every single penney...
True, truemike mcmahon
May 30, 2001 5:22 PM
Let's assume for the sake of argument that you overpaid could have gotten the bike for less money. Would that detract from the joy you will experience descending with confidence at 50 mph or the satisfaction you get from admiring glances from other cyclists? Almost everyone who has owned a Master X-Light will tell you that it's a top-notch ride. Forget about what you paid for it and get out and ride.
It's only money, ride it and enjoy......Lou M
May 31, 2001 7:03 AM
same here, every single review that I have read has been that the Master XL is a great frame. Well, after a month of riding I can attest to that. The bike rides and handles great, it is worth every single penny and some more. I am getting back into shape after 6 years off a bike. I went up to 235 (already lost 15!!) and the steel frame proved to be the best for my weight, it is responsive, sturdy, cuts corners like knife, and it also very light. I have owned Bianchis in the past, all aluminum frames, there is no comparison to the Master XL.

The Master XL is worth all they hype!!! By the way the bike is sharp, orange and blue paint job with orange conti GP3000 tires and orange handle bar tape. I will post a photo soon.

Happy Riding!!
It's only money, ride it and enjoy......veloboy
May 31, 2001 12:06 PM
I ride with a guy who just did the same thing exept his is record 9-speed. His wheels are just Mavic open pros laced to record hubs and I think he still paid $17-1800. The colors are the same as yours. I don't know how many miles were on the bike but its immaculate, not a scratch anywhere.

You would be hard pressed to find a better deal deal on such a beuatiful and well built bike. Hell, it was only a few years ago that top European roadies were putting thousands of miles a year under race conditions on the same exact setup.

Good luck and enjoy.