RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


SEVEN OR LIGHTSPEED(13 posts)

SEVEN OR LIGHTSPEEDcashnloaf
May 28, 2001 8:57 PM
I am considering both. Is the Seven worth the extra money to get a custom drawn and sized frame. They sound like a great company! Let me know!
I anticipate most people will say SevenJeff B
May 28, 2001 10:02 PM
as there are a lot of Litespeed bashers. Seven cycles are very nice frames and you will be paying for the sense of exclusivity and obscurity inherent in riding such a bike. I have only read good reviews of Seven but the positive remarks were based as much on the custom fit benefits as they were on the build quality. However, you can get a custom Litespeed as well. I own a Litespeed Classic for over 4 years and I can say it rides beautifully and the welds are very nice. People will hark about Litespeed quality but only because they have proliferated and become so popular. A few years ago when they were in less abundance, people raved and coveted them as they do the Seven and Colnago c 40 now. If Seven sells as many bikes as Litespeed, people will find another bike to covet and subsequently find reasons to bash Seven (I guarantee this). Litespeed make 75% of all titanium frames for a reason. Lifetime guarantee. Lance Armstrong rode Litespeed up until last year and was vocal about them being his favorite rides. If they are good enough for him they sure are good for anyone here. I love my Litespeed and couldn't ask for a better bike for my needs. They also offer more models to meet your induvidual needs as well as Seven only has 2 rode bike models. Good luck and I look forward to the others refuting my opinion. You'll see
easyHank
May 28, 2001 10:34 PM
go ride a Litespeed. If you like it and it fits as good as custom and the price is right, go for it. If you're not gonna find a good fit with the stock sized Litespeeds and have the money and don't mind the wait, get the Seven.
easyLarry Meade
May 29, 2001 4:12 AM
Of course, Litespeed also does custom frames as well. It would probably end up coming out about the same as the Seven after figuring in the custom up charge. I have three Litespeeds and love them. I have owned 3 Merlins that were built by the bunch that is currently Seven and prefer the Litespeeds. I am a big sprinter type and the Litespeed Ultimate is the only ti frame I could get that was stiff enough for my taste.

Larry
easyHank
May 29, 2001 10:58 AM
the nice thing about Litespeed is that in most places they are readily available to test ride and you can often get very good deals on them. I know I would get a very good fit on the stock 57 and I like the idea I could ride before I buy. Back when I worked in shops, I had to deal with a few Litespeeds that came through with sub-par finishing work, but hey, if you are buying through a good shop, they're gonna deal with that. Most people bag on Litespeed because they see so many of them on the road or because they don't have the cool vibe of some of the smaller builders. I imagine that Seven could have built a bike that was stiff enough for your tastes, but you got the Ultimate because it was a known quantity and it was probably less expensive.
love my litespeed...jayz
May 29, 2001 5:29 AM
im sure you will be happy with both...
i was concidering IF or Litespeed...and when i asked shops about it...the majority said IF....when asked why, the main answer i got was how the welds were so pretty, and that my bike was built by one person, not a line of people, and because IF is a small shop, as compared to the HUGE litespeed.

yeah...true.... but personally, i dont think that makes it a 'better' bike.. i dont know...seems like there is more to a bike than just pretty welds...

dont get me wrong, Seven's are incredible, as are IF's
im sure you will be happy with either of those bikes!!
(how could you not???)
re: SEVEN OR LIGHTSPEEDxxx
May 29, 2001 8:14 AM
Is it just me or does everyone else notice how much a L-speed owner has to defend his/her purchase?
re: SEVEN OR LIGHTSPEEDLarry Meade
May 29, 2001 9:10 AM
None of the above replies have been in the least bit defensive. They were all merely expressing how much they like their bikes. None of them attacked Seven or any other brand but stated preferences and opinions. Litepseed riders will tend to speak up when people throw around unfounded statements about quality control, big bad mass producer, etc. As a rule, the vast majority of people bashing Litespeed have never owned one, built one up, spent any significant time riding one. I'm not saying Litespeed makes the perfect bike or that there haven't been mistakes made in some frames. They are built by humans and humans make mistakes.

(Placing tongue firmly in cheek now) The main thing that has surprised me about this thread is that no Seven owners have come out waxing poetic about how Rob Vandermark personally flew out and measured them, went on a seven hour ride with them to insure proper fit, consulted with them on the exact tubing to be used in each tube of the frame, how beautiful the welds are and how it is the best bike that anyone could possibly expect to ever buy. Further, there would be chastisement for even mentioning Litespeed in the same sentence as Seven.(Tongue out of cheek now)

Seriously, I think that Seven riders or GT riders or Merlin riders or Moots riders, etc., are every bit as vocal in their praise of their chosen brand as Litespeed owners are. Litespeed just has the misfortune of being the big boy on the block and people love to take shots at the "big impersonal mass producers of titanium filth". Thus Litespeed owners are called upon to defend their "brand of choice" more often. Trek owners deal with the same mentality.
re: SEVEN OR LIGHTSPEEDxxx
May 29, 2001 9:51 AM
"....big impersonal mass producers of titanium filth...." Larry, I think you are seeing the light.
re: SEVEN OR LIGHTSPEEDLarry Meade
May 29, 2001 11:09 AM
xxx, may I call you x? No I was being facetious. If you want to hear your friends say OOOHHH and AAHHH!!! when they look at your bike, buy a Seven. If you want to hear your friends say OWWW and AARGHH!! as you torture them on a brutal ride, get a Litespeed...;-) Litespeed has a very utilitarian approach to frames they aren't the prettiest frames around but they sure do ride well. They make a frame that will work for about any purpose and price range. Seven, makes 3 ti road models. Well I feel kind of funny engaging in a long discourse about the relative merits of the two with someone named after an adult picture rating so I will end this and just agree to disagree.
re: SEVEN OR LIGHTSPEEDVaMootsman
May 29, 2001 10:05 PM
Pretty good answer, Larry. I call myself xxx as it's about the first three keys I tapped when I first stared this. It coulda been zzz, www, rrr. Regardless. My bikes all garner the ooohh's and aahhh's. They garner the others only when I make them. Which isn't as much as I'd like. I'd state the name(s) of them, but I want no publicity for the company(ies). They/it is (are) plenty busy right now - I know what's good cause I've been in the biz 20ish years. I avoid the fads, I give credit where credit is due...if something is good, then it's good....if something sucks, then I state that as well. I think Trek is great, they've made a million bikes and have many happy customers. I, also, would never ride one because of that reason. I do not like McBikes...(but lots of people do). I've just seen too many L-speeds with overly poor quality standards. Damn, I wish I could state my credentials, history, but I know it would get me and others in hot water, etc...I'm a regular at Interbike, lots of world cups, nationals, etc., etc. I see these bikes. I have sold, bought, been to, OEM'd, wholesaled, retailed, built, warrantied, seen, witnessed, you name it...I've been involved when it comes to titanium. I recall a couple years ago, a well know builder and I walking thru Interbike before it opened...we went by Litespeed, stopped and looked. Picked up a couple frames (they were locked up, etc., etc). noticed a few details, looked at each other, shook our heads and walked away. We were like: 'would never leave our place...(let alone be a show bike)' If you like your L-speed, cool, ride hard, ride safe...I'm betting the next frame you look at won't be one, let me know and I'll steer you right.
Hey Larry?Bob in Indiana
May 29, 2001 12:07 PM
Larry,

I tried to send you an email question to a reply you made to a recent post of mine, but your listed yahoo email address returns mail undeliverable.

If you don't mind, send me a message, so I can you ask you that question...If not, no problem.

I'm at bmwclass@excite.com.

Thanks.
re: SEVEN OR LIGHTSPEEDRaywood
May 29, 2001 4:44 PM
I recently changed from a Litespeed to a Seven. When I built the Litespeed I ordered the frame from a LBS and mailordered the components and assembled it all myself. Unfortunetly, I didn't size it properly and didn't get the proper size stem and bar so could never get comfortable on it. After stopping in another LBS that carried both Litespeed and Seven I was sold on Sevens sizing efforts and ordered an Axiom. It is so much more comfortable and easier to ride and Seven is a great company to deal with. However, if I had gotten fitted properly with the Litespeed I might still be riding it. A previous poster stated you will get nore attention with the Seven. I find the opposite, most people have never heard of the Seven but I got lots of attention with the Litespeed. I don't think you could go wrong with either.