RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What do you ride? What would you like to ride?(42 posts)

What do you ride? What would you like to ride?peloton
May 24, 2001 6:57 PM
Another one.

What is your current rig? What do you like or dislike about it? What bike would you ride if you could have any bike you wanted? Price or availibility is no limit?

My current- A Schwinn Peloton with lots of upgrades

What I would like- A Pinerello Price, or a custom Seven
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?look271
May 24, 2001 7:33 PM
Look kg 271. Love it. Has Mektronic shifters, ksyrium wheels. What I would like to ride? A Kg 281.
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?ad14
May 24, 2001 7:47 PM
I ride a colnago master light with mostly record (8 speed). I would love a seven ti with dura ace or record. Lately I have spoken to two shop owners who carry serotta,seven,and merlin. Of these three bikes they both said they prefer the seven because their customization of the bike is more extensive. The master is stiff but the ride is harsh compared to ti or even the newer tig foco or 853. Iam one of those that feels the paint(yellow art deco) is great. Also, I would paint any ti bike as I dont care for the brushed look of titanium.
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?breezer04
May 30, 2001 5:03 PM
I ride a Breezer Venturi with 25th Anniversary Dura-Ace on it and I love it. If I wanted or ever was going to get a different bike I would get a Look Kg281 with full Record
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?GTRider
May 24, 2001 8:08 PM
Well seeing that i have only been road riding for about month,on a 2001 Allez A1 with 9spd tiarga triple.I really don't know what i would to ride.Since i am really not picky i guess i would not mind having a GT Lotto Team with campy 10spd record and a nice clydesdale wheelset.
GTRider
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?G.E.T.Racing
May 24, 2001 8:40 PM
I ride a Zipp 2001, and a Litespeed Blade. Both are set-up with 650 wheels, and full areo. I would love to find a Hooker Elite bike.
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?Erik W
May 24, 2001 8:46 PM
I ride a steel Ritchey Road Logic frame/fork with Campy Daytona 10 speed. I REALLY like this bike so I don't have much bike envy. . . but I always liked the looks of a Moots VaMoots
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?CyclingWolf
May 24, 2001 8:57 PM
What I have:

Purchased August '00
-Trek '00 5200 OCLV Silver full Ultegra groupo
-Shimano Ultegra wheel set (Which I won right here on
roadbikereview.com a few weeks ago! Put on Vittori Pro Team
Open Corsa CX TT Tires (Back Up tire set is Rolf Vector Comps
which originally came with the bike
-Look 396 Pedals (Just arrived today and took my first ride w/ them)
formally Icon Del Sole (sp?) SPD's w/ Shimano Shoes upgraded to
Nike Poggio's with my new Looks AWESOME Combo! (No foot numbeness
or hotspots after 30 miles!!
-Selle Italia Titanium Flite
-Cateye Enduro 2 Computer

What I dislike about the bike?

It sits in my house unridden way too much! (Grin)

What I would like to have if money were no object?

The above with full Dura Ace groupo the rest the same!
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?mike mcmahon
May 24, 2001 9:28 PM
What I ride: New Strong custom Foco with Chorus 10, Xaeros, Newton stem/bar, Ouzo Pro fork.

What I'd like to ride if money no object: To be honest, I'd probably be on exactly the same bike, but I'd throw on Record primarily because the carbon levers and rear mech look so cool. As it stands, money is an object, so it's not worth the extra $400 or so for a little more carbon and ti.
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?DINOSAUR
May 24, 2001 10:01 PM
My current ride is a '99 Klein Quantum Race. I really don't have any dislikes other than the rear dropouts that face backward as opposed to other bikes. If I were to upgrade I'd swap out the Rolf wheels and Icon seatpost, I already swapped out the Icon stem.

A dream bike? Tough question, especially when money is no object.
Not by choice, in random order:

A Klein Quantum Pro with Open Pros and Campy Chorus:
A Colnago Master X-Light with full Campy Record (what else on an Italian bike?).
A stock Bianchi XL EV2 (Bianchi was the first road bike I ever owned back in '62) I have a craving for that celeste green color.
A Cinelli Uncia, something different. Built up with Dura Ace.
A Richard Sachs custom.
Or order a built up bike through Gary Hobbs. I saw a frame I liked (Cinelli). I could have it built up with Campy Chorus and Mavic open pros. Price out the door under 2K (excluding pedals.

I don't know, I have to sell my old classic car in the upcoming future and then I can make that purchase. Lots of bikes to choose from.... I promised myself a new bike on my 60th birthday as a goal to keep riding Aug 18, 2002. My wife didn't blink when I told her that goal, so I guess it's a keeper.....
here's a horror story...peloton
May 24, 2001 10:13 PM
about the Bianchi XL EV2 that you mention.

Last year, saw a brand new one being built up. All Dura-ace, and everything else was top notch componentry as well. Mechanic places the partially built bike on the counter in the back room to make a quick adjustment on another customer's derailler who had just walked in. Frame falls onto floor. Large dent on seatube. Frame is ruined with zero miles. Actually witnessed this. (It wasn't my bike he stopped to adjust, in my own defence!) I won't name the mechanic or the shop. It was bad...
here's a horror story...DINOSAUR
May 25, 2001 10:30 AM
Thanks for that input, that is one of the things I was unclear about with that frame. Perhaps another Bianchi model???
here's a horror story...peloton
May 25, 2001 11:29 AM
I don't know if the dropping incident that I witnessed was really the fault of the frame or not. Maybe it goes to show how much the frame would hold up in a crash? I was just more shocked to see such a nice, new frame destroyed before it's first mile.
I hate to tell you this,mike mcmahon
May 24, 2001 10:20 PM
but my dad turned 60 today. He was born on the same day as Bob Dylan. He wasn't happy when I pointed this out to him today, as he had just seen a picture of a pretty rough-looking Dylan in the paper. My guess is that, like my dad, you're holding up physically much better than the former Robert Zimmerman. :-)
MicrodropsGadfly
May 25, 2001 8:56 AM
Why don't you like the rear-facing "Microdrops"? I think they make wheel changes a breeze and have had no problems.
MicrodropsDINOSAUR
May 25, 2001 10:24 AM
Stupid me had a problem remembering that the dropouts faced backward when I was changing the rear wheel when I encountered my first flat. I was used to yanking the wheel out in the other direction and I managed to put a couple of scratches on the chain stay. They say the design on the dropouts increases their strength. I guess if Gary Klein designed them that way there must me a good reason.... I gotta admit it that is the only gripe I have about my Klein, it's a pretty good bike......Other than I have to watch my speed when descending or I might crash (again)...
Steel is real!!!Jonathan Zook
May 24, 2001 10:15 PM
My current rig is an Eddy Merckx Corsa Extra with full Campy C-Record, Ambrosio tubulars, and a second set of Mavic Clinchers for training. I have never had a complaint about the Merckx. Its an awesome climber, solid and stable descender, and if I'm felling lucky, it will keep up in the sprints.

I have my dream bike on order from a custom builder who's identity I will not reveal, as I believe he is currently the best kept secret in the country. His quality ranks right next to Richard Sachs. I want a ride that few others have. There's nothing worse than seeing every other rider with a Colnago, Merlin, Serotta, or Lightspeed. They are like Honda's on the highway. The new bike will be steel, Dedaccai to be exact, built up with 2001 Campy Record and FiR wheels built by Joe Young.
Dig the New Breedmike mcmahon
May 24, 2001 10:24 PM
The steel frames that are being put out these days are awesome. I couldn't be happier about my decision to go with a custom steel frame from a small builder. Good luck with your "private" builder and be sure to post a picture of the finished product.
Dig the New BreedJonathan Zook
May 25, 2001 7:12 AM
Mike,

I'll send out a message when the picture is posted on the website. Enjoy your steel, and happy riding!!
oh, c'mon. Reveal. I promise you this, your friend thebill
May 25, 2001 9:11 AM
buiilder would want you to say it loud and proud. While I'm sure you're an excellent fellow and a great rider, I fear that your endorsement will not result in flooding the roads with this frame, spoiling your fun.
Not till it's completedJonathan Zook
May 25, 2001 8:13 PM
I have vowed not to reveal anything until the bicycle is finished and in my hands. I will be posting a picture of it on this website, so you'll just have to wait. As far as wanting to give the builder good publicity on a site such as this, frankly he wants to build fewer frames and spend more time riding. Can't argue with that.
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?vram
May 24, 2001 10:49 PM
I just sold my bike, Canondale cad3 w/daytona. Currently riding a waterford (filet-brazed and all) with 8-speed Record. This bike's on loan, will return it when my new bike's built-up. New bike: Pinarello Opera w/Chorus and either Nucleons or Electrons (haven't decided).

I have a couple of dream bikes on my list all of them equipped with 10-speed Record and Carbon cosmic/Nucleons/HED/Zips (depending on the occasion and mood :):

1)Seven Onadata (sp?)--saw one being built-up at my LBS for a 61 year old guy! Beautiful bike, love the carbon touch and the dull ti look. Not the lightest bike though.

2)C-40 in the color scheme that Doug got--the map of the globe

3) Kestrel 300 EMS in ruby or amber clear-weave
Heavyweight Odonata?MikeC
May 25, 2001 7:49 AM
What wasn't light about the Odonata? Seven claims 2.5 lb for the frame! Was it being built up with cast iron?
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?darragh
May 24, 2001 10:55 PM
Custom Pegoretti Marcelo (Steel)
Campy record groupset
Deda Newton Bar and stem
PMP Seatpost
Ambrosio F20 tubular rims with Veloflex Superstar tubs.
17 lbs.
What I like - It flies; Up hill, down hill and on the flats. I had heard the hype and believed it all. Then it arrived, and it was more than I imagined.
The bad; My other bikes are now crap.
What would I ride if I could have any bike - I have it.
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?Raywood
May 24, 2001 11:39 PM
Seven Axiom Ti, mix of Campy Chorus and Record. Rides like a dream and the fitting experience with Seven was first rate.

Would like to have an Italian Steel frame (Pinerello, De Rose, Cinelli).
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?MrCelloBoy
May 24, 2001 11:53 PM
Calfee Tetra Tetra Carbon tandem
ibis custom chromoly road
Gary Fisher Sugar 2 FS MTB
ibis Scorcher fixed gear

My Stoker rides:
Merlin Echo Softail MTB
Trek 5500 Carbon road

I'd like a Seven Road bike with those sweet 16 spoke Shimano wheels!
And a Moots Moontaineer MTB
Waterford 2200Cliff Oates
May 25, 2001 1:36 AM
It was built with Chorus 10 and Nucleon wheels, and a picture is buried way back in the gallery here. There is absolutely nothing that I dislike about this bike, except maybe the paint chips on the chainstay.

If I were to add a bike to my stable, which is presently at a self-imposed limit of 2 bikes, it would probably be a custom Calfee Tetra built with Record. Price and availabily aren't the constraints, I just need to save $$$ to own my own garage (w/attached human dwelling) before I start buying more bikes.
SEROTTA LEGEND TI; SEROTTA LEGEND TI, RESPECTIVELYDan BB
May 25, 2001 5:20 AM
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?Doc
May 25, 2001 5:52 AM
Current: Hujsak Custom 854 Pro Team steel, carbon fork, Ultegra drive train, open pro's. I'd add maybe a few tweeks here and there. I loves this bike. It weighs about 18 pounds and does everything well. Frame built by Skip Hujsak in Wimberly, TX.
current: specialized, bianchi. w'like: single speed, cyclocrossHaiku d'état
May 25, 2001 7:00 AM
current:

'00 specialized allez a1 sport double

like: everything

dislike: came without pedals, has old 105 look compat, need new pedals

'00/'01 bianchi giro triple

like: everything. no regrets on the triple. i just don't use the granny at home.

dislike(s):

* came with stock bianchi look-compat, they suck, need new pedals
* stock saddle also sucked, replaced with specialized body geom comp

what i would like:

single speed cruiser and/or roadie
cyclocross bike

manufacturer/model unimportant. i ride a 57-58, if anyone's feeling generous.
Old news here ...Humma Hah
May 25, 2001 7:14 AM
Current ride: 1971 Schwinn Typhoon (classic Chicago-built cantilever cruiser), original frame and a few other bits, stock S7 rims, but heavy-duty spokes, reinforced and chopped straight bars, longer seatpost, modern seat, and way more brakes than it came with. Still runs a singlespeed coasterbrake. It is a MTB conversion from before that term existed.

Likes: Absolutely adore the handling -- the cruiser geometry and massive wheels make it absolutely smooth and predictable. Rugged -- if I'm not paying attention to obstacles I can ride right over most of 'em with no worries. Very good for the less bike-friendly local roads.

Dislikes: Well, heck, the mutha weighs 42.5 lbs. That doesn't include the several pounds of wrenches and other tools I usually carry in case I need to do something like, say, remove a wheel.

Would like: A vintage Paramount, something of similar age to the cruiser, with chromed Nervux lugs, rigged as a singlespeed/fixed, with brakes front and rear.
Current rig: Tommasini SintesiDSA
May 25, 2001 8:57 AM
bought in November '00 from Colorado Cyclist:

Tommasini Sintesi 53cm (Columbus Neuron tubing) frame & fork
Chris King Headset
Deda Murex stem and 215 bars
Campagnolo Chorus 10 speed gruppo
Thomson Elite seatpost
Selle Italia Flite Ti saddle
Speedplay X2 pedals
Training wheels: CXP33 rims on 32h Chorus hubs & Axial Pro tires
Climbing/racing/TT wheels: Edco Olympus hubs with 20h front/28h rear FiR rims & Veloflex Pave 22mm tires with Michelin ultralight tubes

My only complaint with my current setup is that the 110mm Murex stem, while a work of art with its angles and narrow profile, is too flexible for my 180 lbs - it's downright scary when I brake on descents. I'll probably swap it out for a stouter stem sometime soon.

Dream rig? Maybe I'd add some Record components (I love the Record crankarms & rear derailleur), but other than that, my Tommasini is my dream bike. Of course, if I were to win the lottery tomorrow, I could see myself adding a Colnago C40 OOF or custom Seven Odonta with full Record and Nucleon wheels to my stable.
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?Len J
May 25, 2001 9:06 AM
Current Ride:

Trek 5500 full D/A, Rolf Sestr. Wheels
Had now for 3 months. Absolutly love the ride, the fit & the quality of the shifting.

Dislikes: (Honestly) too many others out there. (How shallow of me). Not crazy about the Carbon red Color.

Dream Ride: Probably a custom Seven TI or Serrotta Legend Ti that I could spec out completely top end.
Why: Just because.
i'm probably gonna lose respect for this...dustin73
May 25, 2001 1:17 PM
my ride:
Specialized Allez Sport double w/ 105 and ultrega pedals. not sure about wheels...

my dream ride (please don't hurt me):
Colnago C40 w/ USA scheme
Record 10 groupo
Ksyriums

for the past year, i thought the Trek 5500 was the best bike ever, in the world...i'm just now starting to see the pretty bikes that come from over seas and custom rides, so give me some time. i'm sure my dream bike will change...
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?12x23
May 25, 2001 5:55 PM
Three oclv's - two 5500 and one 5900, one Lspeed Classic, one Colnago Masterlight, and a couple/three framesets for sale. I like 'em all and ride 'em all....,a lot. Don't know about the dream ride, but when I see it, it'll be mine.
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?Ian
May 25, 2001 6:09 PM
Current ride - Look KG281, full D/A, Velomax wheels. There really is no other bike I would choose over this. Now if I had the money to have a whole garage full of bikes then - Maybe a Seven or Roark in ti, a steel Serrota, C-40 (I like some of the paint jobs), Trek 5900 but without the USPS decals, a KG281 w/ Record. And you know what else, a custom cruiser w/ big chopper handlebars, big fat tires and a custom paint job w/ some kind of fire and flames.
Richard Sachs, etcDMoore
May 25, 2001 10:42 PM
What I ride:

Richard Sachs - custom lugged steel, Record 10
Brian Baylis - custom lugged steel, Record 10
Bill Holland - custom lugged steel, Record 9
Litespeed Ultimate - Ti, custom paint, Record 9 with lots of superlight parts

What I'd like:

Ummm... Gee... I'm pretty happy. But maybe something superlight, supertrick - a Foco frame with carbon stays, or a Scandium frame? I still lust for Richard Moon, Columbine, Spectrum.
re: What do you ride? oldie but goodie.froze
May 26, 2001 1:22 AM
I ride on a 19 year old Trek 660 with Reynolds 531cs dbl butted lugged frame stays and fork with 100% Suntour Superbe stuff rolling on Torelli master series rims with dbl butted spokes. After hearing my buds complain of their alum Cann's flexing after 4 to 5 years and Carbon fiber coming apart especially in the crank area and also having to help repair their bikes when the componets break make me marvel at the fact that my stuff never has broken. I something were to happen to the bike I would probably go to a Bob Jackson frame. These folks still build frames the way mine was built and they look good. Check out their web site and read infor on tube construction and welding vs lugging.
Got my dream!James
May 26, 2001 2:17 AM
I ride a Specialized Allez, It's great, Although i'm beat up after long rides and bumps. I added a Kestrel Fork and it helped about 30%.
I just purchased a Kestrel 200 SCI and am building it right now, I have wanted one forever. I got the titanium/ Carbon handle bars too, I can't wait to try em'.
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?schnebit
May 29, 2001 4:53 PM
airborne zepplin with lots of dura ace 9 speed.......easton carbon ec70 fork threadless.....king hs......cinelli alter stem....mavic cosmos wheels, blue baby.....syncros titanium post.....flite gel saddle.....what would I ride.....another airborne zep... this bike rocks.....
Well...boy nigel
May 29, 2001 7:43 PM
I ride a '00 Giant TCR2 (the head-turning yellow one) with Speedplay X/2s. I love how it rides, handles the bumps, climbs, and accelerates. I wouldn't change a thing. If I could ride any other bike, I'd like to see how the Merlin Aegis (sp?) compact frame rides, since I've never ridden a ti bike.

Can't see my being much happier with something other than my TCR, though. :)

Nigel
re: What do you ride? What would you like to ride?voitto
May 29, 2001 8:05 PM
52cm postalroadbike w/armstrong autograph , + durace components , grammo titanium stem , like ride 50cm superlight postalroadbike w/durace calipers + components