RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Hey Breck, need some music guidance.(18 posts)

Hey Breck, need some music guidance.bobbly
May 24, 2001 10:39 AM
You seem to know a lot about older music. I love all kinds, from mullet-rock to pachelbel canon. Recently, I have gotten into some Sara Vaughn and Dina Washington. I want to hear more of this type of music ( im 28 and this is before my time) but don't know where to begin. Do you or anyone else have any knowledge to help me find some more cool artists with this sound?? Who sings that song that I think is entitled "Rain in September?" It's a female. Don't know who it is but it sounds great.
"September in the Rain", dinah washington.Breck
May 24, 2001 11:32 AM
also george shearing had a go at it xylophone. all my old lp's of those got traded 1968 for an eico component stereo set(which later gave away at garage sale) and have not re-cd'd them. Julie london was buried there too ...cry me a river, as was stan kenton and les paul. only thing i saved was early stan getz "focus" and "reflections" :(

try net search & thanks for the reminder to replace these gems!

cheers.
try these cd's ...Breck
May 24, 2001 12:01 PM
had them filed under jazz cd's as they should have been, not r&b!

Sarah Vaughn
"Sassy swings the Tivoli"
Polygram, 1987 ...ADD cd

Dinah Washington
"What a Difference a Day Makes"
Polygram, 1984

also try...
Billie Holiday..........
"Classic Live Recordings"
JCI, 1990 ...AAD cd
"The Legacy"
Columbia, 1991 ...3 cd set.

Lena Horne........
"Stormy Weather"
BB, 1990

and an must,trust me on this one!
Ray charles with Betty Carter....
"Ray charles and Betty Carter"
Dunhill, 1988

for what its worth, etc.
straight electrified chicago style blues!
Johnny Young
"Chicago Blues"
Arhoolie, ?yr

cheers
ok, IMHO: you're out of the doghaus.128
May 24, 2001 12:08 PM
BUT I'm keeping my eye on you! ;)
Lady Daymike mcmahon
May 24, 2001 12:28 PM
Absolutely, you can never go wrong with Billie Holliday. She could say more with a sigh than most can in an entire song.
Strange Fruit...whew.....that's the real deal.128
May 24, 2001 12:45 PM
eerie scaryBreck
May 24, 2001 5:59 PM
for the boards edification the "strange fruit" were the hanged Negroes from ropes in the trees.

no cheers
an apologyBreck
May 24, 2001 7:08 PM
sorry if the term "Negro" offended anyone. It was not my intention. I see from the current ENCARTA World English Dictionary that the term is considered highly offensive to Blacks. My intention was from a historical perspective as can be found in Barnhart Concise Dictionary of Etymology, the Orgins of American English Words. In my zeal for accurate historical context it got by me although should have checked.

Breck
Lady DayBreck
May 24, 2001 6:06 PM
Old Blue Eyes the Chairman of the Board(Reprise) Frank Sinatra learned from her, and as you know the Prez, Lester Young , was her favorite horn man.

cheers
Wow, those are all newer than I thought. THanks I'll check emBobly
May 24, 2001 12:43 PM
out.
reissues allBreck
May 24, 2001 5:54 PM
Anything recorded before about 1950 was 78rpm which were phased out by 1957. The 45rpm and 33&1/3 long play record were introduced about 1950 in monophonic. Stereo arrived by 1959. CD's phased out the commercial all label grooved record by end of 1991. Now we have HDCD with the higher sampling rate. The great thing about cd's is all the reissues and complete boxed sets with booklet, etc. LP album cover art was the best though, imo.

cheers
Ella's Birthday in RomeMeDotOrg
May 24, 2001 1:01 PM
On Ella Fitzgerald's 40th Birthday, she gave a concert in Rome. She was in great voice that night...
Ella's Birthday in RomeKen56
May 24, 2001 1:39 PM
Almost any of Ella's recordings are good, but I would highly recommend any of her "songbook" albums, where she recorded only songs of one composer (e.i. Cole Porter, Rogers and Hart, Gershwin, etc.) Also recommended: Carmen McRae, Anita O'Day, and Shirley Horne. There were many singers that sang with the big bands including, Margaret Whiting, Helen O'Connell, Peggy Lee, Helen Forest, June Cristy, but you would probably have a tough time finding recordings of them.
Not to sound too nostagic here, but I was just thinking that all of the great male pop singers that I grew up listening to in the 50's are now gone. Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., Mel Torme, and now Perry Como have all passed away. Who will take their place?
It's ImpossibleBreck
May 24, 2001 5:45 PM
sing it Perry.

http://home.istar.ca/~townsend/singtome.htm

Great list. Used to listen to these on a Monkey Wards portable Airline record player back in the 50's. Was fortunate enuff to see Frank Sinatra at the Hollywood Bowl live along with Sergio Mendez & Brasil 66 back in the 70's.

cheers
Ella's Birthday in Romedustin73
May 24, 2001 2:54 PM
man, ella and frank singing "they can't take that away from me"...greeeeeaaaat song...
Not a woman, butrollo tommassi
May 25, 2001 8:41 AM
Jimmy Scott is fantastic.
Also not a woman,mike mcmahon
May 25, 2001 8:52 AM
and not a singer, but John Coltrane's version of "My Favorite Things" gives me goosebumps every time I hear it (heard it yesterday on the way to work). You can't go wrong with "Blue Trane," "Soul Trane," or "My Favorite Things." For that matter, you really can't go wrong with any Coltrane.
john coltraneBreck
May 25, 2001 10:20 AM
try:
the best of john coltrane
pablo, 1983

the paris concert
pablo, 1979

and the essential....
a love supreme
imp, 1995

you might check out
"jazz for dummies"
one of the series of idg books
including "blues for dummies", etc.

one can never be too dumb as i have shown on numerous occasions. jazz is my first pick for early morn coffee. my current listen is the old miles davis "sketches of spain" followed by "porgy and bess" and "miles ahead". also chet baker has the same muted sound -"let's get lost",ceyo(?)'89; "the route"w/ art pepper,PJ ??yr; "renuion"w/jerry mulligan(jeru on bass sax) ...are all good piks.

cheers