RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Leg Shaving(21 posts)

Leg ShavingLen J
May 23, 2001 7:42 AM
I don't get leg shaving. I've been riding for more years than I can remember, and the only "leg shavers" I can remember were racers, and even they admitted that it had very little aero advantage. From reading posts it sounds like people here believe that if you are a serious rider you should shave. Am I mis-understanding?

Why do you shave? (If you do)
Why don't you shave? (if you don't)

Just a curious observation of a seeming change in cycling behavior from a riding dinasour.
Where all cross dressers ;)ScottV
May 23, 2001 8:22 AM
Well I do it because I'm use to it. I started doing it when I raced. Road rash is much easier to deal with without all that hair. Now I do it because it feels weird if I don't do it.
Chicks dig smooth legs!mondo mike
May 23, 2001 8:41 AM
I race, but just love to ride. The big reason is that
chicks dig guys with smooth legs!
Chicks dig smooth legs!dustin73
May 23, 2001 11:31 AM
true dat...i've talked to girls about it, and they think it's sexy. i must say, nothing looks better than a pair of legs where you can see every little twitch of the muscle, especially when they belong to a girl, and the best way to get that is to ride and shave...
Sexy? Depends...Kristin
May 23, 2001 4:05 PM
Hmmmmm. I must admit, those buff legs do catch my eye when attached to a lean body and a cute face. I've discovered these bare beauties in grocery store checkout lines, at the movie theatre and the occasional Starbucks. At first notice, I'm drawn the shape and contour—I study the impressive geometry created by strong, well-defined muscle.. Um. strictly an artistic observation. :-) Secondarily, I know that these legs mean business. They belong to a committed athlete--hopefully a cyclist. Now, the only questions remaining: who, how old, how good and availability.

Of course the legs could belong to a poseur, an elitist Fred type or a drag queen. And, of course, if these legs are the real McCoy, they probably are looking for a pair of legs that can match athletic prowess. Just my luck.
mostly psychologicalJon(unregistered_
May 23, 2001 9:14 AM
I started shaving years back, because "all the serious riders do it" according to the club I was with. Once you get used to it, it feels better at speed, seems marginally cooler on hot days, and broadcasts that you're a serious cyclist to the general public (plus it makes your calves look so much more defined!)
Anymore, the first shave of the season is kind of my turning point, where rides get serious and the competition goes up a notch. You just need to watch the weather (freshly shaved legs and goosebumps are a bad mix).
Oh, the many reasonsDuane Gran
May 23, 2001 10:38 AM
There are so many reasons, mostly concocted as a way to sidestep the fact that the primary reason is to demonstrate membership in the social sphere of road racing. The more reasons we offer, the less pronounced the real reason might be. ;)

I will say this though... I have picked gravel out of my skin with hair and without it, and it is actually much easier to manage road rash with shaved legs. Crashing for racers is much more a question of "when" rather than "if".

As far as women who dig it, please introduce me. :)
One woman's perspective...Delia
May 23, 2001 11:02 AM
Since I've started road biking seriously, I've been having this on-going discussion with my co-workers (all male) about their views on guys who rides and shave their legs. It's funny how averse they are to it (of course all of them are lazy a**es and don't do any type of excercise). Somehow it threatens their very identity. I think that's hilarious but very interesting.

I buy the road rash explaination. I can see how much more awful it would be on a hairy leg compared to a hair-less leg. Personally, being a woman, I find it some what attractive...not so much because of the feel or look but more because it represents a man's self-confidence, security and dedication to his 'sport'. I know a lot of women (my female friends included embarassingly enough) who think shaven legs on men indicate feminine tendencies but then again they are pretty ignorant when it comes to the world of road biking. Over-all I think or I hope people: men and women alike, can see beyond something so small. I can totally see that it may be a mental challenge for some guys who have never done it before...just from what I've learned from my co-workers...it seems to be a touchy subject. That's part of why it's so interesting...
re: Leg ShavingLarry Meade
May 23, 2001 11:15 AM
It's easier to get the glue off of your legs after mounting that really tight sew-up. ;-)

Larry
the message is massageTom C
May 23, 2001 11:27 AM
As it is a custom followed from racers practices, the reason not mentioned is smooth legs facilitate massage, a practice not really necessary for 20- 40 mile a day riders, but essential for 100 plus a day riders. The practice helps eliminate collected lactic acid in the muscles and may help promote repair of microscopic muscle tears.
the message is massageboy nigel
May 23, 2001 1:43 PM
Tom C said a mouthful (wrote a screenful?). Massage is as good a reason (or better) than most if not all others. After a hard workout--whether it's 25 hard interval/sprint miles or 60 hilly ones--I always massage my legs after showering.

Since I don't race anymore (it's been years), I'm not worried about crashing (since I've stopped racing, I haven't crashed), but cleaning wounds is MUCH easier with shaven legs. I like the way it feels (and so does my wife!), looks, and it was just one more affirmative step to take (after years of not riding and not shaving) in getting back into serious and regular riding.

Nothing more, nothing less. If you want to shave, then try it. If you don't like it, the hair will grow back quickly enough (ask us who shave just how quickly it grows back!). If you stick with it, then you've discovered something you like and that works for you. Your call. It doesn't make you a more serious rider, but some will say that it shows your devotion (whether it's personal, or because you want to fit in with the people you ride with) to your sport/passion.

Most women (that I've encountered, anyway) do enjoy the feel and the look of defined, shaven legs on men, by the way.
re: Leg ShavingLarry Meade
May 23, 2001 11:34 AM
Check out the following link for a pretty good explanation.

http://www.cyclingnews.com/letters/2001/mar4letters.shtml#14
re: Leg ShavingLen J
May 23, 2001 11:59 AM
Best comment so far- from the referenced letter: "Shaving my legs is a complete and total act of non-conformity; however, I did it to gain acceptance."

We are pack animals. Sounds like my skepticism (SP?) comes from so much riding alone!

Thanks for the laugh!
help me cut 3 minutes off my time - seriously.wes_london
May 23, 2001 12:16 PM
i used to take me 20 minutes to do a lap of central park (nyc). scince shaving my legs i have found that i am cutting high 16's and low 17's regularly. no lie.

admittedly, i have also stopped boozing everynight till dawn, stopped smoking 2 packs a day, stopped living a life of sin and fast food and finally - lost 90 pounds.

try shaving your legs when you are a 300 pound physical wreck and from shear embarrasment you will realize that you had better start cycling seriously - as i did.

a few more months and ill be ready for my first info-mercial. my NIRVANA.

seen more dawns than farmers, wes
re: Leg Shaving4bykn
May 23, 2001 1:59 PM
I've been shaving for about 6-7 years now, and my wife hasn't noticed (or she's afraid to), probably because I tend to be rather fair haired and when I'm not shaven I don't look hairy(I only have to shave my face once a week). Shaving one's legs seems to heighten the senses on the affected areas, it really feels cool to ride on a fresh-shaven set of legs. On a hot day after a ride and the sweat runs down the legs, they just look better, more muscle definition (what little I have, anyway).
I would never, however, tell the guys at work(an automobile assembly plant). They think it's weird enough I run around in lycra on weekends for fun. My truck has a bike rack, all the others have gun racks...go figure.
Razorreview.com product reviewLarry Meade
May 23, 2001 5:45 PM
Let me just start by saying that I judge all razors against the Gilette Sensor Excel for Women. Up until now, this has been the best I've used. Well, today I went down to the local WalMart to check out the Gilette Venus. They didn't seem to interested in making sure this razor would fit me but since I have quite a bit of experience, I bought it with little trepidation. After getting it home. I unboxed it and gave it a mechanical check over. It seemed to pivot just like advertised. I pulled out my trusty tape and discovered it was a lengthy 14.5 cm. This is a full 4.5 cm greater than the Sensor Excel. Seemed kind of long but I figured after a few minutes, I would adjust to the extra reach. This razor has a triple blade configuration vice the Sensor two blade. I figure this will help when shaving in the big hills and mountains. Now to the test. First off, it seems that it likes to have less shaving cream than the Sensor. If you put it on too thick, it will tend to ride up onto the cream and not stay close enough to the skin. This is probably due to the larger head wanting to hydroplane. Less cream seems to make it stay closer to the skin and still really glide over the skin. The blades are in a more wide open mounting which makes keeping the blades clean and unclogged much better than the Sensor. You can rinse it out from the front or the back. The rounder design seems to really corner much better than the Sensor. It handled the curves and contours around the knee like it was on a razor. The extra length in the handle really helps out in getting behind the knee. It seems the designers really had the right idea by making it so much longer. The feel of the shave is incredibly smooth. The angle of the blades and design of the head seem less inclined to nick and cut than the Sensor. Overall, I would have to say I have a new standard by which all razors will be judged. The Venus is the real deal.
Razorreview.com product reviewLazy
May 24, 2001 7:08 AM
Excellent review. I recently purchased the same razors. I really like the aggresive geometry of these "built for speed" rigs.
I don'tErik W
May 23, 2001 5:57 PM
I think it's a pain in the ass enough to shave my face. I don't want to add other body parts. I don't race so road rash is a once in a great while thing. Of all my friends who ride I'm the only one who doesn't shave. I was at a Barbeque a couple of weeks ago and had a good laugh when all my riding friends tried to convince me to shave. The hair on my legs has been bleached blond in the sun and I'm not terribly hairy anyway.
re: Leg ShavingMark Hollander
May 23, 2001 8:25 PM
Apart from racers who have the obvious worry of "road rash" and the benefit of easier massages, most guys probably shave due to peer pressure. As soon as I go into a bike shop wearing shorts, I feel very aware that I don't have shaved legs and wonder if the guy will take me seriously. I have ridden for 7yrs, same as my brother we have never shaved and only had about 6 minor spills between us over that time. I have considered doing it and still do sometimes. I reckon guys shave to show how serious they are about cycling when their not riding. Almost like a secret handshake, leg shaving is a symbol/sign to other cyclists of your passion for cycling. Anyhow, my wife said I can ride whenever I want but if I shave she will leave me, because in her eyes she wants a man not a boy. (those are her exact words)
CHEERS.
I just like it.dough
May 23, 2001 8:46 PM
one could list numerous reasons for shaving but my #1 reason is: (drum roll please)

I like it!!

IMHO it looks and feels better than hairy legs. Why do men shave their faces? Same reason.
re: Leg ShavingCrotch-crank
May 24, 2001 2:41 AM
Many posts on this...probably won't even be read, so I'll keep it short. Have any of you noticed how much faster cuts and road rash heals without a bunch of hair on your legs? I've noticed a huge difference when I've had crash instances in the past...a good reason nevertheless...

...also, it feels cool and my wife gets all jittery when the removal of a little hair makes me look like I should be winning stages in the Giro...'nuff said.