RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Specialized Allez vs. Trek(9 posts)

Specialized Allez vs. Trekcdc2708
May 22, 2001 7:14 PM
I have ridden a Trek 1400 road bike for years and I like the bike. I have a chance to buy a new 2000 Specialized Allez for $700. The Allez has 105 components with STI and upgraded Ritchey hubs and is brand new, just last years model. I can't find a Trek or Cannondale with 105 for close to the $700 price my bike shop is giving me. Any comments about the Allez compared to the Trek and is $700 a good deal? They tell me the list price is $1129.
re: Specialized Allez vs. Treknutmegger
May 22, 2001 7:33 PM
I think this is a very good deal and you should take it. I bought my first road bike since I was a teenager several months ago and it came down to a choice between a Trek 1200 equipped with Sora and an Allez equipped with Tiagra if memory serves. The Trek was $850 and the Allez was about $150 more. I went with the Trek because it fit better although had it been equipped with 105 the choice would have been the Allez. You'd be very hard pressed to find 105 equipped bikes for the money you're talking.
re: Specialized Allez vs. TrekTDA
May 22, 2001 9:06 PM
Sounds like a good deal to me. One of my riding partners owns a 99' or 00' Allez and seems to like it. The only thing I ever hear him complain about is the stiff ride, but that sometimes is a preference issue anyway and some of the roads we ride are ruff. My LBS has a 2001 for $1000.00 brand new.
re: Specialized Allez vs. Trekcroy
May 22, 2001 10:42 PM
I bought an Allez elite back in September for $999. The bike has been great so far, no complaints here. The elite model comes with Ultegra components, better mavic x23 rims and better Ritchey hubs than the standard Allez (105). I know that supergo had a few of the 2000 models left for about $749. This is a steal for an Ultegra bike. See if you can get to a Supergo if you are anywhere near So CA.
re: Specialized Allez vs. TrekSidley
May 22, 2001 11:00 PM
My first road bike was a '99 Allez Sport, which I purchased from supergo about 15 months ago, for $750. 2000 miles later, I can say that the Allez does what it supposed to do. It is performs better than the price would lead one to believe, but it lacks the same refinement as higher end Trek and Cannondale frames. The harsh ride begins to take its toll but only on longer rides - over 30 miles. At $700, the Allez is great bargin that sprints and climbs reasonably well.

My Allez has been a great forray into road cycling, aptly serving my ever increasing interest in this sport. Now, however, I am so into cycling that I have convinced myself that I have outgrown the Allez - and I just want a new bike. If you are serious cyclist, I would wait and buy a Cannondale.
re: Specialized Allez vs. Treknodima
May 23, 2001 5:53 AM
I bought a 2000 allez (Tiagra) last year as my first road bike, loved it. This spring replaced it with a 2000 Allez Elite. I have Noticed a much smoother ride with the Elite over the base Allez. For 700 bucks, you are getting a great deal on a very solid bike.

My first upgrade on this bike will be a carbon fork. If it fits you, it is a great bike, very nimble and fast. I did have a problem with rear wheel spokes breaking on the base Allez last year, but so far have had no issues with the Allez Elite. The shop I bought the bike at rebuilt the rear wheel under warrantee--you might ask if they will do this up front for you.

Sometimes money is the bottome line and you will not touch a comparable new Trek for the same money. My MTB is a Trek, I have had 6 years out of it and it is still going strong. Going to buy a road bike, I really wanted to buy a Trek, but it was not economically feasable. The only other discernable difference between the two is their warrantee. Trek has a lifetime warrantee on the frame, whereas Specialized is either 2 or 5 years on their aluminum frames. I doubt I will keep my bike for more than 5 years, so this does not matter to me at all.

nodima
this is just one man's opinion...dustin73
May 23, 2001 11:51 AM
i think that if you get the chance to get a good first road bike for super cheap, you should jump on it. emphasis on the "cheap" part 'cause in my opinion, you're gonna out-grow the first bike rather quickly. i believe the most advancement in any activity comes within the first year, so after that time, you're gonna already be looking at other bikes. in my case, i bought a new Allez Sport double a year ago. 105 throughout and ultrega pedals for like $1100...however, i'm wanting a new ride, and wish i would've spent less on the first bike so i'd have some money left over for the new one. i really really want a carbon frame (i'm in love with the Colnago C40 with USA paint, but that's like a year's wages for me) or possibly a titanium, but don't have the money for it 'cause i spent a little too much on my first ride:( but it's all good, i guess. at least i got a bike, right?

oh, and get the specialized:) i love mine...
re: Specialized Allez vs. TrekHaiku d'état
May 23, 2001 7:55 AM
I have between 1500 and 2000 miles on my '00 allez a1 sport, bought at the beginning of summer last year. no problems except for popping a couple of rear spokes on the cxp21, which seemed to be widespread across the model year and handled without complaint by the LBS. otherwise, it's been a good bike, was my first *new* road bike, and--given the chance to do it again--i would.

also sounds like a good price. i haven't ridden the trek. good luck!
Another vote for Specialized AllezAlan B
May 23, 2001 1:59 PM
I bought my '99 for $700 (w/ 105) and I love it. About 3200 miles later, no problems -- not even truing wheels.