RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I met a board member!(25 posts)

I met a board member!rollo tommassi
May 21, 2001 3:34 PM
I finally met a fellow board member this weekend, and it was really nice to put a face to an E-name!

It's a big city but a small town, so I figured that I'd run into him sooner or later. I was waiting for my club to re-group at the gas station on Waukegan Rd., when I overheard someone say "hey, Alex.." I looked over, and there was the Black Kestrel....

I introduced myself as Rollo - and we had a laugh and a nice ride home with the group (sorry Alex, I bonked on Green Bay, so I didn't get to wave g'bye)

I encourage all of us to go out an meet posters whenever possible, maybe put your "E-name" on your helmet?

Here's to seeing more of you all on the road!
ab
Who'd you meet again? Who's Alex?9WorCP
May 21, 2001 3:57 PM
And where does the name "Rollo Tommassi" come from anyway? I'm curious today.
Origin of RolloJim Burton
May 21, 2001 4:48 PM
Doesn't that come from L.A. Confidential? That was the name that the hero of the story gave his father's unknown assailant, right Rollo?
and Zoot Horn Rolloclub
May 21, 2001 5:43 PM
played slide guitar in Captain Beefheart's band awhile back
Who'd you meet again? Who's Alex?rollo tommassi
May 21, 2001 6:31 PM
That would be Alex Randhava, a fellow Chicagoan!

My E-name comes from LA Confidential; the Ed Eckersly character gave a name to the "two-bit thief that shot my father and got away with it". It's also the last words of poor Jack Vincennes, the words that tip off Eckersly later on as to who killed Jack......

I love Kevin Spacey and I love that movie!
Damn, I thought Rollo Tommassi was . . .9WorCP
May 21, 2001 6:52 PM
an obscure Italian biking great. But thanks for letting me know.
Tommassi won . . .Hap
May 21, 2001 9:21 PM
the Giro three years back-to-back, I think it was the late forties. The war had just ended and Italy needed a new hero. Rollo would smoke cigarettes before each climb and kept Asti Spumanti in his water bottles. What a great Champion. I'm sure you've seen the picture of him with sew-ups over both shoulders, a smoke between his lips, while making a toast, Salute!. There's still a steel frame named after him and also a small chocolate candy.

Hap
Yes! Yes!9WorCP
May 22, 2001 7:36 AM
Didn't they tie the corpse of Benito Mussolini to the back of his bike and watched him drag it over the Poggio? With as glorious glass of Asti Spumanti and a cheap French Gitane dangling away no less. Yes indeed, an Italian cycling great.

lol
it's a chick.nm
May 21, 2001 11:21 PM
nm
Who'd you meet again? Who's Alex?4bykn
May 22, 2001 8:51 AM
Hey Rollo, I'm doing a short tour in the Green Bay area in about 4 1/2 weeks. Possibly Based it Potowatmi State park campground. Any suggestions for riding routes? Would be cool to meet another RBR poster. I also like the jersey idea, maybe the site administrator could help get things rolling.
Riding in Cheeselandrollo tommassi
May 22, 2001 12:13 PM
I'm not familiar with the Green Bay area, but check out the following link for some club info in the Wisconsin area. I'm sure with a quick click or a phone call you can get great info:
http://ambikerace.org/clubs.htm

I always enjoy Wisconsin - as a state, they seem to really be in to the out-of-doors,and it is a very bike friendly state.
Behold, the power ofCheese!!!
May 22, 2001 1:25 PM
Bike friendly indeed. I have a buddy living in Madison and when I visit in January the bike path is still rocking.

They must be working off that fondue. I can gain five pounds a day eating up there. Anybody ever have Kopp's custard? Sweet Lord, that stuff is the unfiltered cigarette of the food world.

Alex
Is the Yellow Jersey a good shop in Madison?mike mcmahon
May 22, 2001 2:15 PM
I was in Madison briefly in Jan. 1996 and briefly stopped in a shop of that name. The people seemed very friendly but it was hard to get a guage on the quality of the shop in a 10 minute visit.
How about RBR.com jerseys...Bruno S
May 21, 2001 10:38 PM
E-name on the helmet would be weird to explain but I would wear a RoadbikeReview.com jersey with no complaints.
How about RBR.com jerseys...Hap
May 22, 2001 6:50 AM
We need to elect a design commitee. I recommend we order from velowear.com. Also we need to get sizes and order amounts. Who wants to be in charge of shipping and receiving?

Hap (1 large)
VOLER...(ACE)
May 23, 2001 1:19 AM
Would be a great choice!
RBR.com Bibs too. (nm)Hap
May 23, 2001 5:34 AM
Seriously...Hap
May 23, 2001 8:59 PM
Volar is now taking reservations for Sept production. Would anyone buy the Jerseys? We could (or maybe Gregg could) have them made.

Hap
Bonked on Green Bay? Yikes.Alex R
May 22, 2001 8:40 AM
I'm sorry Rollo. I hope it wasn't too far from Alberto's. Sorry I didn't say goodbye, but I had to keep my eyes on the road. That ride speeds up on Green Bay south of Lake Cook and I was a little jittery after a tumble I had taken earlier that morning. All's well tho'.

By the way, aside from meeting you at that Amoco, I met my cousin's biology teacher and his guidance counselor from high school. I think if you ride a bike in Cook County, sooner or later you use the bathroom at that gas station.

See you around,

Alex
E-name on your helmet. Excellent idea...128
May 22, 2001 9:11 AM
I love it!

I'll be puttin' my number on my lid! In reflective space tape of course. Maybe prefaced by a universal marker like "'RBR' 128" to show the Board aspect, otherwise it could lead to some odd results.
Reminds me of that Steve Martin joke where he's on the ski lift, noting how people put there name on their skiis, and he starts chatting up a guy named 'Rental' on the lift...
See you out there...

RR
E-name on your helmet. Excellent idea...4bykn
May 22, 2001 9:30 AM
Some people won't have room on their helmets, since they change their handles every time they post, or so it seems. How about RBR.com jerseys with our names on them. Or more economically, customized stickers we could order for the helmet idea.
Make mine read: "RBR.com 4bykn"
another possibility...4bykn
May 22, 2001 11:03 AM
stickers to go on the seattube. You know how everyone checks out other's bikes when riding, if we had stickers on the frame, then we'd be recognized instantly. Would need to be small and tastfully done, wouldn't want to detract form the looks of our bikes.
Hey, stickers are free, just ask!Greg Taylor
May 22, 2001 11:48 AM
I got some RBR.com stickers a couple of months ago by simply sending in an e-mail. The offer was on the front page somewhere, buried on the bottom. Free is good...
Hey, stickers are free, just ask!4bykn
May 22, 2001 1:22 PM
Yeah, I got some of those, was looking for a personalized version.
Maybe RBR could sponsor our solo rec. rides! YeeHa!!128
May 23, 2001 6:21 AM
Yup, that'd work too!
I like the idea of doing the helmet thing because it invites creativity.
I had a little 'helmet space tape' party one afternoon with some friends and she made me this cool little reflecto-elephant!
As for jerseys COOL! but they are pricey and not sure how keen I am to advertise,(along with all the other logos we sport) and I wear the lid all the time, the jersey would be in rotation...
Maybey RBR would like to sponsor our solo-look-for-screen-name-riders club!

RR