RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone using Mavic COSMO Elites???(13 posts)

Anyone using Mavic COSMO Elites???NeedySpeedy
May 17, 2001 9:44 AM
Does anyone have info on these wheels. I know they are on the heavy side, but how do they ride? How do they hold up? The reviews on this site are mixed?

Any info is apperciated!
Kramer saysclimbo
May 17, 2001 11:24 AM
do you mean Cosmos or Cosmic Elites?
Opps I meant Mavic COSMIC Elites??? (nm)NeedySpeedy
May 17, 2001 11:29 AM
nm
Opps I meant Mavic COSMIC Elites??? (nm)KStone
May 17, 2001 2:45 PM
The radial spoke pattern make the Cosmic Elites painfully rigid for longer rides.
re: Anyone using Mavic COSMO Elites???PCH
May 17, 2001 2:31 PM
It does get very good reviews on this site. I too am interested in them. I am trying to decide between the Rolf Comps and the Cosmics Elites. The cosmics I think are a little heavier, I'm leaning to the Rolf Comp's given this sights rating on the Mavics.

PCH
That does make sense... what I meant to say wasPCH
May 17, 2001 4:09 PM
It does NOT get very good reviews on this site. I too am interested in them. I am trying to decide between the Rolf Comps and the Cosmics Elites. The cosmics I think are a little heavier, I'm leaning to the Rolf Comp's given this sights VERY POOR rating on the Mavics.

PCH
I Have Owned Bothslbenz
May 17, 2001 9:13 PM
I have about a year's experience with both wheelsets you have mentioned. The differences I see with the Comp vs. Elite is that other than weight (45 gram difference in favor of the Comp) is the hub performance. The Mavic rear hub is far superior to the Rolf rear hub. The Mavic seems to spin forever while the Rolf would stop in under 30 seconds. I have not had to true either wheelset even after over 3000 miles on each. I checked this website's review of the Elite and was surprised with the poor ratings. I have not experienced any of the problems others have seen. Maybe I am lucky. In terms of performance comparisons between the two, I would favor the Elite because of the better rear hub. I have clocked myself down the same training hill and I noticed that with the Elite, I would be able to coast down the hill 1 mph faster than with my Comp. Lateral stiffness feels the same as well as acceleration and hill climbing performance. Another advantage the Elite has over the Comp is that the Elite can use a standard valve stem tube while the Comp must use a long stem tube. I have seen people flat on their Comp and a long stem tube replacement cannot be found. Hope this addresses your question on the comparison between the two wheelsets.
I Have Owned Both--follow upnodima
May 18, 2001 5:49 AM
How much do you weigh? I am considering those same wheels and find that without knowing weights/riding habits of reviewers, it is tough to make an educated decision even using "the olymic scoring method"

I can assume you ride alot, given your mileage figures.

Thanks for the good comparisons.

nodima
I Have Owned Both--follow upslbenz
May 18, 2001 8:31 AM
I weigh about 160 lbs. but with the CamelBak and tools on me pushes me to the 165 lb mark. I mainly do 20 mile time trial training rides with one or two club rides of 60+ miles squeezed in per week. I would say that 15% of my training ride has broken asphalt with one large hill to tackle, 8% grade, half mile long. Let me know if you have anymore questions. Thanks for the compliment.
Elite and 200#sPCH
May 18, 2001 2:24 PM
I weigh 200+, and I have talked to several folks who claim the ROlf can handle that weight without a problem. I want a good stiff yet aero wheel that can handle my weight. That was another reason I was leaning towards the Rolf, because of its heftier rim seemingly would handle my weight better. Got any ideas? I am about to think that the wheel i seek doesn't exist and I'll be stuck with 32 spokes forever.

PCH
Elite and 200#sslbenz
May 18, 2001 3:30 PM
I know several riders in my club who use the Rolf Vector Comp wheelset with no problems and they weigh from 195-220 lbs. Judging from the potholes that I have hit, I don't expect the Vector Comp to give you much trouble. Other than building a custom wheelset, you may want to call American Classic www.amclassic.com since they make pre-built aero wheelsets with 28 spokes that aren't overly expensive and are still light or go for broke with Zipp carbon wheelsets at www.zipp.com. Zipp sells a very lightweight wheelset made for riders weighing over 210 lbs. Hope this helps.
Elite and 200#scasati_rider
May 22, 2001 5:08 PM
I have Cosmic Elites with about 2000 miles on them and I weigh 203. So far no problems and really can't believe these wheels get such bad reviews. My experience thus far has been very good.
Elite and 200#speloton
May 22, 2001 6:06 PM
I weigh 187 and have owned both the Cosmic elites and the Rolf's. I like the Cosmics better. The hubs have better bearings in them, and they are very reliable from my experience. I have 4000 miles on mine, and haven't had to touch them. The Rolfs are known for getting water in the rims around the eyelet. This causes corrosion problems. I hear that their customer service is less than helpful as well. FWIW