RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any Pros, Cons on specialized M4 frames(14 posts)

Any Pros, Cons on specialized M4 frames650C rider
May 16, 2001 6:03 PM
Would appreciate seeing any feedback positive or negative on specialized M4 Frame.

Thank you
Ray Still
re: Any Pros, Cons on specialized M4 framesmerckx56
May 16, 2001 8:22 PM
take the shocks off of your car and drive around, there's your ride quality. if you want an alu bike that rides well, get a klein or something made of altec2 tubing. or just buy steel or ti.
re: Any Pros, Cons on specialized M4 frameskeith m.
May 17, 2001 7:39 AM
A good riding alu frame is the Bianchi EV2. These are on sale at supergo with all carbon fork and steerer for $799. It has a foam filled bottom bracket area in the frame which not only strengthens the frame but dampens vibration. This frame is REALLY light.
That would be a very springy ride with no dampers.........headset inspector
May 17, 2001 2:41 PM
My friend took off the shocks on his car and it wouldnt stop bouncing when he'd hit a bump. Is this how the M4 rides???
One more thing...Im new to cycling, how much suspension travelheadset inspector
May 17, 2001 2:43 PM
does a steel or ti frame have?
Whiner brigadevram
May 17, 2001 4:35 PM
The moment someone wants input on an aluminum bike the whiner brigade comes out of the woodwork. Aluminum bikes give the biggest bang for the buck--they are light (run of the mill alu run sub 3lbs), stiff, eager to climb and efficient in sprints. I just rode 210 miles on my Cad3 in two days--mostly flat, some rolling hills, paved roads. I didn't feel "beat-up" after my ride. Unless, you are riding the cobblestones in belgium, or unpaved roads (shouldn't you be on a cyclocross?) aluminum ride quality is as good as any out there.

If you need a plush ride that badly you need to get a sofaset not a frameset.

To match the performance of an alu bike you would need to spend at least twice if not thrice the amount of $$$ in a similar carbon or titanium frame. Not everyone is spending their retirement money or mid-life crisis spending money on their bikes. There are young folks out there who can only afford an aluminum frame. So why discourage them?

The M4 is a great frameset. I have test ridden it and also read the reviews in Procycling. Go for it if you get a good deal.
The Festina Pro's are on Spec'd frames!! :-) NMLazy
May 17, 2001 8:24 AM
LOL, couldn't resist.
I thought the Festina Pros were Cons!!!! :-)traveller
May 17, 2001 10:48 AM
Oh yeah, what was I thinking?? Good one! NMLazy
May 17, 2001 11:25 AM
re: Any Pros, Cons on specialized M4 framesmon t
May 17, 2001 8:25 AM
ray. i had a m4 road frame(still do) but it is now sitting in the attic. it is quite light, very stiff, looks pretty cool, is reasonably priced if you shop a bit.......but rides like buck board. i mean really, the ride quality of this frame is as unyeilding as a 1985 cannondale. mind you, no matter what people who have spent money on them will likely say, ALL alu frames ride poorly with regard to quality- it's their weight and price and stiffness that make them attractive, plus the fact that they are very cheap to produce and manu's can charge you a ton still based mostly on the marketing of the affore mentioned "attributes" but i digress. the m4 is a good blend of those 3 attributes, better than most, probably. i could not live with it though. (mine is a 52 cm/54tt wanna buy it cheap?)
M4 and aluminumArthur
May 17, 2001 8:54 AM
The ride of the M4 is no better or worse than any aluminum frame. I've ridden several and althought the mfg and riders swear certain mfgs have the secret and their aluminum frame rides more comfy, I say bull. The frame material is going to be 95% of the ride. I don't care what some try to tell you. Sure ti, steel and aluminum all ride differently.

Having said that, the M4 is a good aluminum road bike. As good as all the others. Ride the M4 and a steel bike. If the m4's ride is acceptable and your getting a good price, buy it.
Nope...DESIGN is 95% of the ride - not material.shmoo
May 17, 2001 7:58 PM
Compare early Vitus, early C'dales, late C'dales, Kleins, other high zoot 2000 frames. All very different rides, but all basically the same material. (And the different types of aluminum are more a manufacturing concern than feel). The early Vitus was extremely flexible from what I understand (they just didn't know how to do it yet). Early C'dales were granite stiff. Late C'dales are very nice. Gee, how can these all be the same material?
re: Any Pros, Cons on specialized M4 framesspeedchump
May 17, 2001 10:28 AM
Have a '00 M4 road and a '01 M4 FSR.

Started w/ a '00 M4 FSR, but cracked a weld. Upon close inspection, there was a little chunk of "something" in the weld that initiated the crack. Specialized sent me the '01 M4 FSR with absolutely no hassle. Pro - good customer service. Con - cracked weld.

As far as the road bike: I don't find the ride to be that poor. I recently did a 103 mile road race that included 20 miles of gravel on it and was no more beat up at the end than I would have been on my previous road bike(steel Schwinn). The adjective I use to describe the ride is "crisp". You definitely feel the road, but not in a sharp or harsh way. Power delivery is real efficient. I love mine.
For what it's worth.9WorCP
May 17, 2001 2:12 PM
Marcel Wust said his M4 was the best bike he had ridden in his career. He went on to emphasize that he wasn't saying that to please his sponsor -- He really meant it. He is (was?) a pro riding for Festina and Specialized so yeah he could be biased but then Wusty is really well liked and respected for being such a good guy. Another thing to consider is that that frame won two stages and came in third in the GC at Le Tour, so there is no question it is a top-flight, pro-caliber racing rig. If speed and brutal efficiency is you gig, I think you could choose a lot worse and not much better.