RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


wheres the big D Sloan????(8 posts)

wheres the big D Sloan????fresnoboy
May 16, 2001 2:34 PM
Is he overcoming his addiction??
I was thinking the same thingDINOSAUR
May 16, 2001 7:12 PM
Maybe he quit the board, cold turkey. I miss the old Sloan Monster.
I hope nothing happened to him, like crashing while descending at 55MPH like he always talked about.
My guessmike mcmahon
May 16, 2001 10:14 PM
My guess, based on his post of about a month ago, is that he is in trial or trying to make a baby, or both. I wish him luck with both. Trying a case is fun, but it can't touch making a baby. On the other hand, once you're trial is over, it's unlikely to keep you awake at 3:00 a.m. On the other, other hand, it's hard to spend a nice day at the park with a favorable jury verdict. ;-)
My guess -- boycottLanterneRouge
May 17, 2001 10:35 AM
Given the tone and quality of the posts on this board lately, I wouldn't be surprised if he's boycotting this board.
Doubt itmike mcmahon
May 17, 2001 11:19 AM
I think that if Mr. Sloan were engaging in a boycott of the board, he would let us know he was doing so and give us his reasons. Boycotts generally have little or no effect if the boycottees are not notified of the boycott and how to end it. Here's the definition of "boycott" from Websters: "to engage in a concerted refusal to have dealings with (as a person, store, or organization) usually to express disapproval or to force acceptance of certain conditions." The "express disapproval" or "force acceptance of certain conditions" part is hard to accomplish without announcing the boycott. Of course, he could just be staying away because he's revolted by our behavior and doesn't care whether we know he is expressing disapproval or trying to force acceptance of conditions. Have things really been that bad around here lately?
Just ran into him on the Cape128
May 17, 2001 11:49 AM
picking up a couple lobsters for dinner. Said he's riding right back to Cali., Then swinging down to Camp Bush to amend that energy policy to include bike subsidies for all, THEN finishing up that Micro-something trial, THEN perpetuating the species and finally checking in here with a full report on his return Friday.

(just teasing gang...just teasing...)

Roadrunner Roadrunner
Just ran into him on the CapeRoute 6
May 17, 2001 12:28 PM
Good think you said "just teasing" because we here are very jumppy and don't take too kindly to teasing. Unless of course we are told that it is teasing. Then it is Ok.

(just teasing gang...just teasing...)
This could be an X-File, This "Doug" is missing, and so is128
May 17, 2001 1:08 PM
"Gimmeaminit"
Coincidence? Maybe. But consider: The conservation of balance between Good and Evil here in BikeReview. For every Evil that is erased by the BikeReview OverWrite Ministry, so must go an equal force of Good. They must maintain the balance. We must re-Underwrite Doug. Who's with me! To the Way Back Machine Mr. Peabody!!

RR