RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Serotta Bikes(13 posts)

Serotta BikesJim Burton
May 15, 2001 8:25 AM
Does anyone out there have opinions on Serotta Bikes? I am going to purchase a new bike soon and am looking at the Serotta Colorado III, the Lemond Zurich, or a Steel Bianchi (probably Taladega). Thoughts?
The Serottas sure do seem like more of a bike, and it fits me exactly (they come in 1cm increments)
re: Serotta Bikesxxx
May 15, 2001 8:46 AM
You've answered your own question........
re: Serotta BikesPulver
May 15, 2001 9:29 AM
Jim -I would suggest going to the Serotta website which is Serotta.com and read about the Colorado III. Go to the messageboard look to see if there are old messages in the archives and gather as much information as you can. Get to your Serotta LBS and testride if possible and testride the other bikes.

I own a Serotta and can only say very positive things about the ride, the quality of workmanship, and the quality of the fit. There is more I could say but I would say do your homework and the answer should come to you.
re: Serotta BikesJim Burton
May 15, 2001 9:56 AM
Actually, I have been doing my homework for quite a while. I was dead set on the Lemond when I read good reviews about the Bianchi. Then, I was fitted at a shop that sells Bianchi that also happens to sell Serotta. I was pretty much sold, then, on the Serotta. Since then (month ago) I have read nothing but good reviews about the Serotta. I have yet to try one out because I am having a hard time finding a shop with my size on hand (51cm). But, the shop that fitted me is about to sell a 50cm that they say I can test ride when it is built up. I was really interested in hearing other peoples experiences with Serotta. It seems, so far, too good to be true. Nothing but raving reviews. Can they really be that good? If so, why haven't I heard more about Serotta before now? Please feel free to be long-winded about your Serotta!
Serotta Rocksgrz mnky
May 15, 2001 10:37 AM
Can't say enough great things about my Legend Ti. I love riding this bike! I've done 4 centuries this year - the last three on consecutive weekends. I did my first double last year. The bike literaly inhales the road - rough, smooth, twisty, straight - it just sucks it all up. Made my OCLV feel like yesterday's fish wrap.

The form, fit, and function is second to none. There is no extra charge for custom geometry at the upper end and you can get it any way that you want. Almost every Serotta is unique b/c of the degree of customization avail. You would be hard pressed to find someone who has riden a Serotta that does not like them, but I'm sure there must be some one some where - maybe you can buy theirs at a big savings.... They are a piece of art to behold and a complete road machine to ride. Mine is setup with a mix of Ultegra and DA, Reynolds Ouzo fork, Ksyrium wheels, King NoThreadset, Deda 215 bars, Ritchey WCS stem, Thomson seat post and a Selle Italia max Flite Trans Am. It tips the scales at 18.2 lbs. Being polished ti there is virtually zero maintenance, with the biggest problem being smushed bugs from when I drive 85 mph with it on the roof rack, but they wipe off.

You gotta get one for a demo ride. I bought mine used. I was mearly test riding a friend's bike that was for sale (he had a heart condition) and I had no intention to replace my OCLV. I fell in love with it on the 3rd pedal stroke and dropped my OCLV like a bad habit. The only hard part is the price, but it's only money and you can't take it with you. I had a chance to meet and talk to Ben Serotta - he's a very nice guy and quite modest. He just has a passion deep inside for building beautiful bikes and comes from a family of fine artisans in the European tradition.

I love riding the bike, the feeling after riding it, and looking forward to the next ride. There aren't that many things that I am this passionate about and will admit. Everything you read and hear about these bikes is true and only begins to convey the lust.

Go to serotta.com and the owners board and wallow in the info.

How's that for running on at the keyboard?
Serotta RocksJim Burton
May 15, 2001 11:01 AM
The infamous Grz Mnky says it's good, it's good! I won't be going with quite as high end as the legend Ti, but I am hopeful that the craftsmanship and ride quality carries over to steel. Thanks for the info. I really appreciate it.
Serotta Rocksoily
May 15, 2001 11:06 AM
grz munky with something GOOD to say? wow, wonders never cease
Stop the Pressesgrz mnky
May 15, 2001 12:05 PM
It was a mistake - I won't do it again.... ;-)
oily is right!!blb
May 15, 2001 1:17 PM
I hear you oily: grz munky is a condecending, pretentious braggart.
oily is right!!Jim Burton
May 15, 2001 1:25 PM
In grz mnky's defense, while he may be a tad cynical about the cycling world at times, he knows what he is talking about. I have read many posts of his that are informative and intelligent. I, for one, respect his opinion.
Ur Rightgrz mnky
May 15, 2001 4:13 PM
I'm going to stay at home and eat white toast with the crusts cut off in the dark while watching Oprah reruns: The Politically Correct Years. After that I'm going to pop in my favorite tape: Guys Who Own Nice Bikes, But Don't Ride and the Lesbians That Hunt Them. Yup I'm gonna eat myself to death....then you'll be sorry. :-b

Seems like I've got a new critic AND an new fan. Yeah!

Got anything to say about bikes blb?

PS I'm not really all that condescending, it's just that you're inferior.
Serotta = sweet rideDylanT
May 15, 2001 6:42 PM
Serotta has been perfecting the art of frame building for close to 30 years, producing olympic time trial and road bikes, bikes for people who appreciate craftsmanship, attention to detail, and one of cycling's sweetest rides. Ride a Serotta and you will understand. It's not about mass marketing. It's about 30 some odd people building the best frames that they can.
re: Serotta BikesMystery bike
May 16, 2001 1:20 AM
There is MUCH better. Do YOUR research. Read the RIGHT reviews. Go custom. I'm not telling you what to ride cuz if ya don't know, ya don't deserve it! And further more, I don't want you yo-yo's ridin' the same machine as ME!

MB.