RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


frame pumps vs mini(13 posts)

frame pumps vs miniegw
May 12, 2001 2:38 PM
I want to get a new pump for my road bike. Do the popular mini pumps pack enough power to attain 110+ psi? Do they just give you enough pressure to get you home to "ride another day"? I was thinking of getting a frame pump in celeste to match my Bianchi, but the Bianchi web site only showed a mini. Who has had recent experience with pumps, and do you have any suggestions?
re: frame pumps vs miniAndy
May 12, 2001 5:31 PM
I used to have a Zefal HPx frame pump which performed quite well. The only problem I had was the pump rattled around a lot, even with a velcro strap wrapped around it. This scratched the paint on my top tube. When I sold my bike I threw in the pump because it matched the frame.

My new bike is a Trek 5200 which does not take a frame pump well. I'm currently using a Blackburn AS-1 Air Stick mini pump. It's supposed to be able to inflate above 120 psi. I actually had to use it today while I was out on a ride. I figure it took 1.6 million strokes to get my tire up to 80 psi.

I hesitate to use CO2 cartridges because you may flat twice and then you're out of luck. This has happened to me several times.

I'm switching back to a frame pump. This mini pump stuff is BS. I'll just have to figure out a way to fit a frame pump to my bike.
re: frame pumps vs miniJz
May 12, 2001 6:56 PM
This hits 'close to home' because I headed out to the mountains today to get some distance on some hills...until my 3rd flat. Anyway, to answer your question: I have a minipump and the 1zillion strokes doesnt bother me too much, but I get to the point where I simply cannot pump any more pressure into the tire. This may just be my particular pump, but all you hear is complaints about them. I am thinking about tossing in co2 carts on top of the pump...I dont want to carry a big pump, but I dont want to rely solely on co2 either. At very minimum, the mini pump will get you home...but I don't think you are gonna get your tires to optimum pressure very easy.
Topeak Road Morphslbenz
May 12, 2001 7:34 PM
I have been quite happy with the Topeak Road Morph mini pump. I have used it several times out with my riding club and it easily pumps to 120+ psi. Several of my riding club members have seen this pump in action and are now in the process of purchasing the same pump. It may not be the lightest mini pump out there but it is the easiest one I have used to pump tires past 120+ psi. I have a Zefal and a Blackburn mini pump, as well, but neither can easily pump to 100 psi let alone to 110-120 psi. Both are sitting in my garage collecting dust. Hope this helps.
Totally Agree with Topeak Road Morphgusriley
May 13, 2001 9:31 AM
I used a mini for years and hated the zillion required strokes it took to get a tire back on the road. The TRM is almost as good as a floor pump and smaller. I admit, when carrying it on my Aegis beside the downtube, I feel I'm hiding some of this frames beautiful lines, but it's worth it when I flat.
Another plug for Topeak Road Morphseth1
May 14, 2001 7:28 AM
Haven't used many other frame/mini pumps. Frankly I can't remember if or what I used before this one, but I can't see using any other pump. It inflates to 120 without even thinking about it. My only complaint is with the pressure guage wich sticks at points, but I just carry a zefal guage in my saddle bag.
re: frame pumps vs miniAD14
May 12, 2001 8:04 PM
I like my full size pump- its a blackburn. I have actually used it to ward off dogs and the weight penalty is offset by the fact that when I do flat I am back on the road faster than if I had a mini.
I like the Zefal hpX too...and you can stop the rattleCory
May 12, 2001 8:45 PM
My Zefal's at least 12 years old, pumped all the tires in the family, and still works great. It DOES rattle, but if you cut a couple of inches off an old tube and slip it over the pump, so it covers the gap between the handle and the body, it quiets it down.
and you can stop the rattle . . . by getting a SilcaKerry Irons
May 13, 2001 6:32 PM
I've had much better luck with Silca frame pumps than any other. Light weight, good pumping pressure, no rattles, good price, etc.
Tire selection is very importantAllen
May 12, 2001 9:09 PM
Have been running Vredesteins for the past few years now. (Before that had very bad luck with Conti's and used a frame pump). Only one flat this winter (probably could have been avoided if I had checked the tire before riding for foreign objects). Put a Torelli MiniPump, spare tube, keys, etc. in my second bottle to free up jersey pockets. When and if I get a flat, realize that may have to cut ride short and head home with approx. 70PSI in a tire, but the trade-off is more than worth it.

I am not a fanatic about weight, ride an old SLX frame mostly, with 7 speed freewheel. I reckon though, a minipump may save a gram or two. The Zefal is quite heavy, though very effective.
Get a Zefal unless you're a real weight weeniemike mcmahon
May 12, 2001 9:58 PM
It also helps if you have a pump peg. I've been using Zefals frame pumps for years. I've never had the rattling problem reported by others here. The only problem I had was that the portion of the pump the connects to the junction of the seat tube and top tube took some of the paint off my old frame (lugged EL-OS). This in turn led to a small amount of rust at the location. Since mounting the same Zefal on my new bike (tig-welded Foco), I have used a small piece of butyl tube as a "condom-like" covering over the portion of the pump that was scratching the frame. Problem solved, without spending a penny. I can get up to 100 psi on the road without a big effort. Unless I'm early into a long ride, I don't worry much about trying to get above 100. However, 110-115 is attainable without herniating yourself. I don't know how weight compares to a mini-pump, but I would imagine it's not more than a few ounces (someone will probably tell me I'm off on this). There aren't that many products that I always rave about on this site, but the trusty old Zefal frame pump is one of them.
I hate when people ask that question.Spoke Wrench
May 13, 2001 6:17 PM
Now I'm probably going to jinx myself.

I can remember only a few occasions when I've had more than one flat on a ride. One was when I failed to boot a cut down tire, and ALL of the others were pinch flats because I didn't get enough air pressure back into the tire.

In the past, my pump of choice was a Zefal HPX. To get a road tire up to adequate pressure with an HPX takes at least 100 strokes. When I'm close to getting it up to pressure, I have to brace the wheel and pump against a handy tree or telephone pole. I think it's pretty hard work at the end.

Functionally, the Road Morph looks pretty good to me. It folds out into a mini floor pump so you can get adequate air pressure back into the tire. It's just too clunky looking for a stylish guy like me to carry on my Quantum Race.

I've never used a mini pump. At my age, I might not have enough time left to pump a road tire to 100psi with one. If I try to get by with a little less, I'm risking repeated pinch flats.

For the last year or so, I've been using CO2. I haven't had any problems to date, but I've only used it a couple of times. I like it because it's fast, it's easy, and one 15 gram cartridge inflates my road tires nice and hard so I don't have to worry about pinch flats.

I hope I haven't just jinxed myself and I have the same answer the next time this question comes up. Like I said, "I hate when people ask that question."
re: frame pumps vs miniPoulidor
May 14, 2001 9:33 AM
I have two Bianchi bikes and I understand the style issue. I use both CO2 and a mini-pump (Silca mini). You can stash a CO2 inflator (with a cartridge in it), two extra cartridges, a Silca mini-pump, tire levers, patch kit, spoke wrench and two spare inner tubes in a 75-80 cubic inch seat bag. Admittedly not the most svelte seat bag around, but better looking than having a frame pump (you know, style is everyting).