RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Trek 2200 or Airborne Zepplin(8 posts)

Trek 2200 or Airborne Zepplinreinerhm
May 11, 2001 6:18 PM
I have the opportunity to buy either of these bikes. I ride the 50 mile and ms150 rides. Do not get to ride as much as would like so hesitant to spend extra bucks on Airborne. Also, learned airborne was bike of the year but not in the Tour De France finishers for some reason. Can anyone recommend either bike strongly. Thanks
re: Trek 2200 or Airborne Zepplinjohn deere
May 11, 2001 6:46 PM
Humm...Serotta did not finish in the Tour De France finishers so those folks who spent bigg $$$ were quite foolish indeed. Oh well, since I don't ride as much think I'll just buy a Seven....oops I don't think they finished in the Tour either. What should I ever do with my money?
re: YesSteveS
May 11, 2001 10:41 PM
If you read the reviews section here at Roadbike Review you will find quite a number of people who can recommend their Zeppelins strongly.
re: Yesreinerhm
May 12, 2001 5:12 AM
thanks for the tip I am a new rider fir the road but didnt have time to check out bikes with so many brands to choose from.
a vote for Airborne...BudhaSlug
May 12, 2001 10:25 AM
I don't actually own a Zep, but have a Lucky Strike (their MTN frame) and love it, and the company quite a bit. Unfortunately I couldn't afford to get a ti road bike as well, but if I had the extra money I'd probably go with Airborne again. Besides the frame being really nice, the company is outstanding with customer service and customer support. I only bought a frame with headset pressed in (they did this at no extra cost, and got me the frame the day after I ordered it) since I was working at a shop at the time and could get a slightly better deal there than had I bought it built from then (I was getting 10-15% markup, and they were still within $100 for the fully built bike). Nonetheless, the ability to hand pick each component is really nice if you know what you want, while if you go Trek, you get what they decide you should have, and often a few parts are used to cut the bottom line. Airborne is also really cool about swapping out stems, bars, etc to make sure the bike fits you as you want it... and they do it free. They even have a crash replacement policy which will get you a replacement frame in the event that you wreck it for $400 I think... with trek, although they replace it if it just breaks due to manufacturing problem, they give you nothing if you break it in a crash. Give the guys at Airborne a call, and they'll even help you pick out what components are best for you and try to make sure the frame will fit like a glove.

Good Luck,
Peace and Light,
Ben
re: Trek 2200 or Airborne Zepplin4bykn
May 12, 2001 11:09 AM
I ride a 2 month old Zeppelin, and love it. If money is a concern, Airborne also has another road frame, the Valkyrie, for $200 less. Airborne didn't finish the Tour de France for one reason only...they weren't in it! If a Trek can win, then surely an Airborne could also. It's the rider, not the bike that wins the Tour. And by the way, nobody gets to ride as much as they would like.
re: Trek 2200 or Airborne ZepplinBrianU
May 12, 2001 3:43 PM
While I know nothing about Airbornes, a good friend of mine recently bought a new Trek 2200. On his second time out, something happened with the rear derailer, caught on the chain and got pulled up into the wheel. I wasn't there, so I'm going by what he told me. The LBS he purchased it from, was rather lacking in concern. In fact he called the owner of the shop and he wasn't very helpful. This was my friend's first new bike and he had been looking forward to this for quite some time, so he was real fired up over having just gave this LBS all this money and getting this attitude from them. They told him they would call Trek and see what they could do. The Trek guy who showed up to look at it, agreed that it was not my friend's fault and my was offered a replacement. All this took a month to get straightened out and over a bike that had less than 40 miles on it. Something to think about.

And if someone from Trek is reading this, you guys might want to be a little more responsive next time. Spending $1600 and then waiting a month to see if you are going to take it in the shorts? Come on. I helped my friend pick this bike out, so I felt somewhat responsible for him having to deal with this crap.
re: Trek 2200 or Airborne ZepplinThorman
May 13, 2001 4:38 PM
I bought a Trek 2200 last year and have since put over 2k miles on it. I also looked at Airborne and both are good bikes in my opinion.