RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Which Colango(18 posts)

Which ColangoSteel fan
May 10, 2001 8:28 PM
Master X Light or Technos 2000? I am 140 lbs and an aggressive/hard rider/racer on often rough roads. I am interested in the 58cm/59cm frame. At that size, does it make sense to go for the beefier (Master X Light) frame? I believe the weight differential is 110g (for a 55cm frame). Reliability and longevity are as important as ride characteristics (for the record, the Master X Light was stiffer in the bottom bracket). Let's just say that all things being equal, the price differential was not a deciding factor.
why do people buy those bikesishmael
May 10, 2001 9:21 PM
im one of the few who actually thinks the paint is nice, my girlfried abhores the paint job....they arent all that light and ive never heard that they had a good warantee policy...at the price they charge you can get the best, lightest tubing in the colors you want from a builder...am i missing something...they also have different geometry which is nice but as i said, for that price you can get whatever you want custom
why do people buy those bikesColnagoFE
May 11, 2001 12:12 PM
because they rock assuming they fit you.
Ugly paintDerek
May 11, 2001 5:47 PM
I could never justify the price of these high priced bikes and if I could the paint schemes would keep me from buying one. But this is my personal opinion. I just find the bikes an eye sore.

Another point, when people spend a lot of money on a product you'll very rarely hear them speak poorly of it. Because if they did it would be admitting they wasted a good deal of money. I'm sure they are great bikes, but not every owner can be happy.
re: Which Colangomike mcmahon
May 10, 2001 10:49 PM
I'm no Colnago expert. For that matter, I'm not sure I'm an expert on anything. However, 140 lbs isn't heavy in any book, and the Master X Light might be overkill at your weight. Even on rough roads, you're not going to tear up the Tecnos. I tip the scales at 180 and I'm on a light Foco frame that holds up well under my weight on rough roads. I'm no weight weenie, but I'd say don't buy more weight than you need.
re: Which ColangoAD14
May 11, 2001 8:52 AM
Buy the master. If your going to race the extra stiffness will benefit you. I have done a lot of research on colnago and own a masterlight. If you race on a high level you might check out the dream plus. I am surprised at how comfortable it is for aluminum[good design] and it only weighs 1180 grams in 55cm, is very stiff, and should give you more efficient power transfer than the master - the price is about the same.
re: Good point.....Steelrider
May 11, 2001 8:54 AM
...on the Master Light possibly being overbuilt. I am 6' 150 and ride a 57/58cm. My Master Light and Carrera Zeus(EL-OS) both ride well and have no flex. My Moser TK-1 built with a lighter,less manipulated and ovalized tubeset is about 1/2 pound lighter and rides even better with no flex or other annoying negatives. I atribute alot of the differenct to the lighter,less manipulated tubeset,and build which is a better match to my weight and strength. Not that the Colnago or Carrera are bad, just that the Moser is 'better' IMO. BTW, they are all keepers.
re: Which ColangoAD14
May 11, 2001 9:03 AM
Buy the master. If your going to race the extra stiffness will benefit you. I have done a lot of research on colnago and own a masterlight. If you race on a high level you might check out the dream plus. I am surprised at how comfortable it is for aluminum[good design] and it only weighs 1180 grams in 55cm, is very stiff, and should give you more efficient power transfer than the master - the price is about the same.
Another pointThe Jerk
May 11, 2001 1:12 PM
How much stronger is a frame going to be just because it an extra 110g of steel in it?
CounterpointJethro Notbodine
May 11, 2001 7:05 PM
Actually a frame could be both LIGHTER and STIFFER in critical areas. With respect to steel, a stronger alloy could be used and the tubeset could be shaped and ovalized to achieve desired characteristics. Other materials can be manipulated (engineered )in similar ways.It's all in the tubes bub. Although, people who have yet to get beyond plumbers pipe Huffys,'don't get it'.
Get either a Colango or a Colonago, but not a Colnago :-) (nm)ET
May 11, 2001 7:35 AM
.
re: Which ColangoDINOSAUR
May 11, 2001 8:34 AM
I'm no expert either, I have done some minor research on Colnago's Master X-Lights. I received input from many Master-X-Lights owners saying that the frame is darn near bullet proof and one of the sweetest riding steel frames available. Unfortunately I don't remember the difference between the Technos and the Master X-Light, other than the Technos is lighter (grade of steel used?).
You might try submitting this question on the VeloNews forum, you might have more input.
Good luck in your quest, I wish I was in you shoes.
Don't get discouraged with unfavorable remarks, if you want a Colnago, go buy one and enjoy....
re: Which ColangoColnagoFE
May 11, 2001 12:18 PM
technos has only a couple of the tubes fluted. master does top, down, and seat. a little less stiff than the master overall but if you're 140 lbs it shouldn;t matter. if you want a long-term bike for centuries, fast road riding either of these would be a good choice. if you are going to do a lot of racing they might not be. for racing i'd lean towards the lighter dream + but then again I wouldn't want a dream + as my only bike for the long term as lightweight AL with a poor warranty isn't the best choice with those criteria.
Can't vouch for the Technos ...Brian C.
May 11, 2001 12:38 PM
but the Master X-Light is one of the few products I've ever bought that actually lived up to the superlatives.
It's smooth, comfortable and a source of great pride.
Good luck.
re: Which ColangoSteel fan
May 11, 2001 4:55 PM
As many opinions as there are informed people on this board - which is great. Thanks for all your input.

To close the loop on this (BTW - let's not go into the whole "why Colnago" thing - assume that someone actually wants to ride one because it works for them). Anyway - according to a couple of folks in the know (i.e. long-time Colnago dealers), the issue of Technos vs. Master X Light for a light rider looking to train and race on the same bike is simple - chose the Master X Light. Basically, the weight differential (about 110-200g depending on who you talk to) is more than compensated by the long term durability/raceability of the frame. In other words, don't sweat paying up ($ or g) for a durable steel frame.
re: Which ColangoJohnG
May 11, 2001 8:04 PM
I ran into this same attitude from several Colnago dealers. I honestly think their "opinions" were based more on $ then cents. The T looks like a GREAT ride.

Just my opinion.....

and a new MasterX owner
JohnG
Same issue here... but I went MXJohnG
May 11, 2001 8:01 PM
I'm 150# and a medium strong rider. I just ordered my MasterX.... although I secretly wanted a Technos. To be perfectly honest, I think the Technos would have been just fine! I even like the looks of the Technos tubing beter.... hey... I guess I should order one of them also... ;)

JohnG
re: Which Colangonewbikergal
May 11, 2001 9:52 PM
Okay, I have to chime in since we've heard from the Master X Light owners. I'm the proud new owner of a Technos. An amazing ride, but you should know this is my first real road bike so I lack a baseline for comparison. Still, I've put about 700 miles on it during its first month on the road and have no complaints. I'm about 115 though, and the Master X Light was never a consideration. I'm not adding much here I know, but I felt the need to give a thumbs up to the Technos.