RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Personal Choice(20 posts)

Personal ChoiceLen J
May 10, 2001 10:44 AM
The Thread on double vs triple reminded me of how "attached" we all get to our choices. Why do the following topics elicit so much emotion? Why do these topics degenerate into "I'm right & you're wrong" threads so often?

Double vs Triple
Latest technology vs Tradionalist
Frame Material
Frame Sets (Best)
and the award for the "F**t in church":
Shimano vs Campy

Any thoughts on why?

Any that I missed?
re: Personal Choicemuncher
May 10, 2001 10:58 AM
Oddly, I've noticed that frame material seems to get a lot more "it's down to you" than most of the others?

Anyway, by way of light entertainment, I feel that we ought to have a shot at:

Clincher v tubular
Shorts v bibbs (far too "up to you" so far)
Helmets v not
mainly East-West v mainly North-South
Full finger v track mitts
black socks v white
Briko v Oakley
butted v not
Campy v Campag
Front shifters: Up pull v down pull
Cables: inside the tube v outside
Hoods: black v other
Bar tape: wind from which end?
And of course, the all important - jerseys - full zip v half.

Now come on everyone, there has been far too little needless pedantic bickering over the above...
Thats the spirit!! nmLen J
May 10, 2001 11:05 AM
Ooh!! Ooh!! Can I start???PaulCL
May 10, 2001 11:36 AM
Jerseys...love the full zip, except the European ones that have the handle on the wrong side! Ok flame away if you dare!!
How could I forget !...muncher
May 10, 2001 11:17 AM
32 v 36
28 v 32
cross v radial
2 cross v 3 cross
deep rim v low profile
Mavic v Spox

...whole flaming new world..
re: Personal Choicesimstress
May 10, 2001 11:32 AM
How about...
- camelbak v. bottles
- Speedplay v. Look v. SPD v. Time v. whatever-else-pedal
- road shoe v. MTB shoe on road bike

Why does one care about these things? One researches and makes many choices in selecting cycling equipment. Believing that those choices are the best ones, one does not want to hear reasons why he/she may have made the wrong ones, and will spend days defending those choices. As well as the $2000 he/she spent on it. One also wants to persuade others to make the same choice, so as to reinforce the rightness of one's decision.
Insecurity & ego are terrible things. nmLen J
May 10, 2001 11:37 AM
Hmmm, good point...muncher
May 10, 2001 11:37 AM
Maybe we ought to give folks a few good lead-ins, in case any toleration creeps past.

For example, you say "I ride on Times, I find them great, really easy to get in and out of, and have nice amount of float". Obviously, the only suitable answer is "Hey Darrell, get this, this guy rides Times - soon as I finish laughing, I'll keep him talking, while you sneak around the back and see if you can get him with a tranquiliser dart".

That kind of thing...
Threaded vs. Threadless (NM)MeDotOrg
May 10, 2001 11:39 AM
re: Personal ChoiceLen J
May 10, 2001 11:45 AM
How about 2 pounds on the frame vs 10 pounds on the rider
and I MTB v never seen dead on one?muncher
May 10, 2001 11:48 AM
Wheels: Ksyrium vs. Rolf vs. XXXXXXgrz mnky
May 10, 2001 11:56 AM
It all ties into egos and insecurities. No one wants to think that they spent their hard earned money on junk. In fact we all want to believe that were are shrewed and above average in our ability to make choices. Receiving any data to the contrary must be snubbed out immediately - otherwise there is something indicating that we aren't as smart as we think we are and that we fell victim to some advertising propaganda. Ultimately, a lot of the high end stuff isn't that much different from a performance stand point - especially when you consider the weakest link in the picture, us human beings and most are mortal riders at best. It also tends to be a male thing, like most conflicts, and being anonomous we tend to say things that we wouldn't otherwise. People post opinions or ask for opinions and since not everyone holds the same opinion the conflict arises. If we had hard objective data to back up statements it would be a short discussion.
Wheels: Ksyrium vs. Rolf vs. XXXXXXLen J
May 10, 2001 12:02 PM
What makes you think that hard data would overcome ego? Have you ever known it to?

This is probably what makes this site fun.
Spirited Discussionsgrz mnky
May 10, 2001 12:30 PM
Well ego still rules, but hard data can give it some good lumps. Only example that I can think of is the military (or prison, but I have no experince in the pokey). When someone or some entity controlls your entire life and you're being held accounatble to their standards it can get pretty scary and your ego gets pretty well held in check - most of the time. Don't really want to go into the who military justification/mind control/heat of battle thing - it's just something out of my past. It has to be the fundamental nature of the (male) ego that quickly chooses between the fight or flight mode, but I'm no psychologist.

I, would be the very first to agree that it's good to mix it up, but it is important to try and not make things too personal while at the same time not being so PC that you don't take a stand.

Maybe the thing that bugs me the most is that while riding is so enjoyable the bike industry shoves a ton of hype on us and it leaves a bad taste in my mouth when people get taken. There is a certain lack of integrity on the part of the industry and some of the droids that work there - not that it's much different from any recreation related industry. It often makes me wonder what these people would do if the bike industry didn't exist: sell insurance, sell used cars, work at K-Mart? To be fair, many people work in the industry b/c of the love they have for riding and I admire this. This is probably why I focus most of my attention on component and equipment related issues. I was trained in technology, work in technology, love new technology, and abhore things that don't work right - including organizations. It pisses me off no end when I see junk science being manipulated and propogated as gospel - and I'm not even religious. I don't like being called on the carpet when I'm wrong - I really get just get upset with myself.

Enough about me, lets talk about you ;-)
The saying goes...Mel Erickson
May 10, 2001 12:47 PM
Enough about me, do YOU think I'm pretty?
Spirited DiscussionsLen J
May 10, 2001 12:47 PM
I guess Bike riders are just a good cross section of the general population (as are people in the industry) The good, the bad & the ugly. The knowledgable, those that aren't but know it (like me (I hope)), and those that aren't and don't know it (& maybe don't want to know it). But I'll take most who rides over most who don't (most of the time). How many other things can you do where so many people help when you break down?, wher so many wave going the other way?, where so many say hi just going by? But I ramble.
grz, for some, it's not hard-earnedHaiku d'état
May 10, 2001 12:20 PM
(no specific targets here, but) for some of us, it's a matter of more time and money than sense. it's easy to look down one's nose when you can afford to be elitist. for some, this year's titanium and d/a is a right, not an earned privilege. get it?

you see it in mixed groups; the ones with the clean and spotless, well serviced $1000 bikes with sparkling three-year-old 105 and fresh bar wrap compared to those three feet away with this year's litespeed that might have been left in the backyard overnight, and by next summer will have fallen into disrepair and is easily discarded and replaced with next year's $4000 titanium toy. sometimes it's a matter of perspective.
LBS vs Mail Order/Online (nm)Haiku d'état
May 10, 2001 12:25 PM
darned $24 bottle cages
NM
It's no how much $$$ you spend....Cyclewolf
May 10, 2001 12:36 PM
Hello Fellow Cyclers,

As a newbie who reads this forum daily and not much of a poster yet I find it interesting at times and humorous in others. You tend to pick up on those who know and those who don't (I am towards the don't know moving slowly to the other way). I read all the roadbike mags from Pro Cycling to VeloNews and see professionals using equipment that given bad reviews or talked about very negatively. Who is to say someone may have simply received a defective piece of equipment and deem it bad for everyone else?

I am a pool player as well and a good story I can relate to this is a guy was bragging he spent $1200 on a new cue, some old guy (A master unbeknown to the guy) said he could beat the guy with a broomstick. Sure enough the guy beat the guy with the broomstick. I am sure there are guys/gals winning races on 5-10 year old bikes. Its all relative.

George Marsh
Williamsburg, VA
re: Personal ChoiceRocco's Big Ride 2001
May 10, 2001 7:40 PM
Marianne or Ginger
Lucy or Ethyl
Wilma or Betty