RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Bunch of Whiners....and Some Worth a Sh*t. Cast Your Vote.(9 posts)

Bunch of Whiners....and Some Worth a Sh*t. Cast Your Vote.gimmeaminute
May 9, 2001 11:26 PM
I have not seen so many crappy posts!(mine included)If you are unhhappy about a poster, say so now. For example, Grz Mnky pissed me off on my first day here. Since then I have found him knowlegeable, literate, and actually funny. Ol' Wade/leath/bgcc a great writer/brusier/historian-at-large. Mel and Sloan stay even keel. Others(including myself) have a more abrasive style. Got a gripe? Give it. Have praise? Give it. Then, let's all f-ing forget it.

Get to swinging....or duck.
63.198.142.16mike mcmahon
May 9, 2001 11:36 PM
Let's end it here
Thanks, but be more specific. nmgimmeaminute
May 9, 2001 11:39 PM
Error in previous postmike mcmahon
May 9, 2001 11:42 PM
The last post was supposed to be a link to the list of tributes to the recently-departed Goatroper as posted on the VN board. The point is that Goatroper should be an inspiration to all of us posting here. He certainly would not engage in the type of mud-slinging that is taking place on this board (and I'm not excluding my own posts).
My name is Gimme and I'm a mud chucker.gimmeaminute
May 9, 2001 11:55 PM
But let us clean up our act. My vote for worthy poster of the month is Leath/wadekelly. Biggest knob? Well perhaps me. I'm slightly biased.
I suggest RBRThe Jerk
May 10, 2001 1:16 PM
Birds of a feather......
Here's the Rubgrz mnky
May 10, 2001 6:02 PM
Sorry for the lecture (I need them too sometimes), but you seemed to be asking for some feedback.

First: I appreciate the compliment - we all have our good and bad days. Being relatively anonomous allows one to amplify these highs and lows. Posting here is still cheaper than therapy with a shrink and better than kicking the dog. I've learned an awful lot by participating in this forum and it's not just about bikes.

Second: Read nothing more into my subject line. This brings me to my point - your derogatory use of sterotypes and extremely crude offensive posts. I think it's a little difficult for you to back pedal now and say let's all be friends. It's a lot like attempting a death-bed conversion to belief in God. It just doesn't work that way - you've got too much time doing things the other way.

I think people are known by the thought and consideration with which they post. You've pretty much managed to piss most of us off with your lack thereof (ok - just me for sure) and I wasn't even involved in the homophobic gay bashing. One tends to look at things like sexual preference differently when it involves you on a personal level and the people close to you. It's not much different than racism and it falls into the general purpose ugly bigot category. Think of it this way - had you switched the "gay" reference to some other racial minority it might be easier for you to recognize why people might be so upset with you. I think you really have to make some sincere apologies otherwise there aren't many of us that are going to take you seriously. BTW - You seriously undermined your above post with your final sentence with a lack of humility. You also have to walk the line and accept the norms. A careful review and acknowldgement of the forum pact would be a good place to start. You can change your online name, but unless you change your attitude it will be very easy to spot you - some of the technicaly gifted seem to be able to figure out who you are and don't mind "outing" you (I trust you know what this means).

You've been called up short and you need to answer to the group, not to me. We all have our styles and rough edges, some more than others, but yours tends to be extremely offensive and unwarranted. It is fine if you have a difference of opinion, we're all entitled to it, but you've got to respect other's if you want them to respect yours. Otherwise we're just left with a bunch of electronic grafitti and name calling.

I know my tone often doesn't translate well online so I try to make things a bit more deliberate when I'm being facitious or cynical, but this is a short coming of mine in the online world. You want to be careful about what you say and how you say it, but you don't want to be so PC that you aren't saying anything. I just hope this isn't seen as an extremely hypocritical post on my part.

I'll even say that I appologize for being offensive or abusive to the members of this community. There are many excellent examples of people who always seem to rise above it all and we know who they are without mentioning names.
Bravo!mike mcmahon
May 10, 2001 10:36 PM
Grz: As I have stated in the past (and you have whole-heartedly admitted) you have a tendency to be a bit surly and cynical. However, I've never found you to be mean-spirited, bigoted, or gratuitously nasty. I doubt your self-described lecture is going to have any effect on gimmeaminute, but it does once again show that you are one of the voices of reason on this board. Furthermore, my respect for you went up immensely today upon learning that you're a big Tom Waits fan. :-) Keep up the good work.
i hope you get over the homophobia..its for your own good as well as the rest of us in the worldishmael
May 10, 2001 6:48 PM
youve brobably decided that im not on your wish-list of buddy buddys on this board or else you wouldnt degrade me with homophobic language...people who use that kind of language are a special special group who have a strong following in the lower school level......and concidering your "style" more abrasive is like calling an assshole an artist....