RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I guess I'm a Campy guy now ...(32 posts)

I guess I'm a Campy guy now ...Bosephus
May 9, 2001 5:45 AM
A few months ago I put a post up here asking about Chorus vs. Ultegra. I was in the process of upgrading my bike from a hodgepodge of old ultegra and 105 8 speed components. Well, the votes went slightly in favor of the Chorus group so I did it, I got the full 10 speed chorus group for the old Quantum. I've given it about two months now, and I have to say... Damn that Campy stuff kicks @ss!!!! I can't get over how sweet the shifting is. I'm also averaging at least a 1/2 to 1 mile per hour faster on rides. Those hubs run forever. Man I'm sold for life I think. I hope the old addage that "Campy wears in" as opposed to "Shimano wears out" is true.

Too bad they don't make mtb components ...
re: I guess I'm a Campy guy now ...davidl
May 9, 2001 5:52 AM
"Amen, brother!"
Congratulations!mike mcmahon
May 9, 2001 6:49 AM
I recently went from '96 Chorus 8-speed to '01 Chorus 10-speed. I really liked the 8-speed but, as you say, the 10-speed "kicks @ss." The shifting is a smooth as butter. I really like some of the little changes over the older stuff, particularly the design of the levers. The old Chorus levers were not angled at all and didn't have a hollow section in the middle. Although it wasn't a big problem, my fingers would occasionally slip on the old levers when they were wet from sweat, rain, or water from the water bottle. The new levers have a much more solid feel, being angled and having the hollowed-out section. I could go on, but I need to get out and ride. Congrats!
Yes, Luke-Skywalker, you have rejected the dark side....PaulCL
May 9, 2001 7:04 AM
Welcome to wonderful world of Campy. I did the same two years ago. The Ultegra groupo was costing me $100+ per year in replacement (not repairs) parts. It was getting old. I switched to Campy Record 10spd. And yes, Campy does 'wear in'.
0.5-1mph faster because of components???right yeah
May 9, 2001 7:17 AM
nm
Yes my son, and...Realman
May 9, 2001 7:52 AM
The user of Campy will sleep with more and better women/men, earn on average 300% more than Sleepy Shim users, they are better dressed, have houses with 3.7 more rooms on average. They are likely to be pstgraduate educated, and have modelled for lifestyle magazines, in addition to driving more luxurious foreign cars. In short, life in the Campy lane is just so much better than in Shimanoland....
Don't forget...PaulCL
May 9, 2001 8:54 AM
...campy users are much more attractive to the opposite sex too! We drive Ferrari's or Lamborghini's (notice the Italian theme) and would never be caught dead in an Accord or Tercel. After I got Campy, all of my suits majically transformed themselves into Armani...amazing.
Don't forget...Len J
May 9, 2001 11:31 AM
For those of you that missed the sixty minutes on Italian lover boys who mostly live at home with thier mama's. I guess you get to move back home too.
Don't forget...uwgrl
May 9, 2001 3:06 PM
What's wrong with Accords? I have campy and an Accord :)
Nothing at all, reallyPaulCL
May 10, 2001 7:34 AM
Just an Italian vs Japanese joke. I drove an Accord for 117,000 miles and still sold it for $3500! A great car. Just a joke. (Of course, I used shimano during the time I drove an Accord, makes you think.....hmmmmm.....)
No exaggeration ... however...Bosephus
May 9, 2001 8:24 AM
My old stuff was about as bad as it gets. In all fairness I also have new wheels now as well.
oh and ...Bosephus
May 9, 2001 8:30 AM
The bikes at least a lb lighter maybe more. I haven't weighed it, but it sure feels like a feather now. So that helps too.

I'm telling you I had pretty crappy stuff on there before ...
My $$ is on the hubs.gimmeaminute
May 9, 2001 1:27 PM
All things considered, I feel you can get a huge bang for your Lira by getting new hubs and BB. Ask the other posters. Ferraris always go faster and pull more chicks with an oil change.:) Unrelated, but true.
My $$ is on the hubs.Bosephus
May 9, 2001 1:33 PM
Yeah, the XT rear hub built up on the no name rims with the flat spot did a lot. At least It's a whole hell of a lot smoother now.

I'm not sure if most chicks like a smooth ride or a rough ride in the Ferrari. I know some that would probably like both ... I digress
rough ride in the Ferrari. My guess.gimmeaminute
May 9, 2001 1:43 PM
I say hubs. I try to blame other stuff like new glasses(.0674% faster) or aero helmet strap(.0000722) and even washing my jersey with Tide.(.000000007443) I might be wrong in your case, but better hubs have always found me speed. And the Italian connection? Well, Ron Jeromy is sponsored by Campy, and you know about him....
0.5-1mph faster because of components??? You mean excitement.rick w
May 9, 2001 12:30 PM
Get back on your rocker. Kids think new shoes make them run faster. Same thing.
distance/timeBosephus
May 9, 2001 12:33 PM
Apparently my Sigma Sport Computer got excited over my new components ... makes sense. Never mind I was being foolish before. I better get a more unbiased bike computer I guess.
Don't get mad.rick w
May 9, 2001 12:41 PM
I was just reminded of getting new stuff for my bikes and I always find an improvement. That's what I wanted, right? I figure the same for you. If you got better hubs or a better frame I could easily see the increase.
Unless your old components were steel or lead, I think the increase is in your head. ( nice limrick )
My point isBosephus
May 9, 2001 12:51 PM
With my old setup the average speed for my usual 25 mile post work ride was around 18.5 mph never more than 19 (boy did that frustrate the hell out of me). After the new set up (everything except the Frame was replaced) I'm getting back from the 25 miler with an average around 19.25 or 19.5 depending on the weather. Never less than 19.

SO what's in my head? I understand your concept, but are you telling me I'm magicly reading better averages on my bike computer because I'm all hopped up on "new stuff fever"?

Be careful with generalizations ...
Exactly. In your head.rick w
May 9, 2001 1:09 PM
>I understand your concept, but are you telling me I'm magicly reading better averages on my bike computer because I'm all hopped up on "new stuff fever"?

Right on.

>Be careful with generalizations ...

Actually, I'm being quite specific.

Lastly, I've been on a few boards and kept things friendly. I was making an observation and offering my own weakness to share an experience. My opinion is just my opinion. Relax.
whatever (nm)Bosephus
May 9, 2001 1:26 PM
(nm)
New Sneakersgrz mnky
May 9, 2001 3:27 PM
Yeah, there was a time when I was a kid that I _swore_ I could run faster 'cause I had new sneakers. Then I grew up and found it wasn't so. If you really think that you can just bolt on some speed with some Campy parts, then Shimano would be out of business and every serious competitor would be speaking Italiano. Think about it. I will agree that ditching a pair of 36 spoke wheels for something more svelt will make a difference, but we're not talking about that. A ~5% increase in ave. speed would require a much larger reduction in frictional forces since most of them are a function of velocity squared.

BTW - I happen to have a perpetual motion machine for sale, cheap.
re: Too bad they don't make mtb components ...michael
May 9, 2001 8:40 AM
Yes, it is too bad. Well, they used to, but I don't know what happened. I know in the early 90s Cannondale was selling bikes built up with Campy components (about the time GripShift came out). I ended up passing on that, in order to get a Suntour/GripsShift equiped Cannondale EST(Their first full suspension - with a girvin flex stem and regular front pepperoni forks and big spring in the back ) It worked surprisingly well.

I too am looking to replace an old Shimano 600 gruppo on my main road steed. Perhaps I will make the jump
re: Too bad they don't make mtb components ...Jofa
May 9, 2001 10:31 AM
I used to have some Campag mtb components, on a custom steel rig, around 90/91. Ultra heavy, but indestructible, and beautifully made. I've still got the brake levers for the cafe cruiser I keep meaning to build.
Also, I've just got a new bike with full 2001 Ultegra. I don't know what the general consensus is on this stuff yet, but in my (so far limited) experience, it's working perfectly... the shifters seem crisper than last years much-criticised versions, and there's no rattle or jamming yet. I've always been sentimentally inclined toward Campag kit, but the simple fact is that I prefer the mechanism of Shimano's STI over Campag ergo, and the hoods fit my hands better. I'll report on the Ultegra bits if I get any problems...
they did and failed.smithers
May 9, 2001 11:33 AM
THe shifters had what felt like a 300 degree throw! Awful. Well-made but awkward and heavy.
Did they really fail?mike mcmahon
May 9, 2001 11:59 AM
Or did Campy wisely decide that it did not want to sully its fine name by being affiliated with a sport like mountain-biking? ;-)
yep fell flat on their facegrandemamou
May 9, 2001 5:07 PM
I have Campy on two of three bikes so I guess I can be considered a Campyphile but their MTB stuff was heavy,expensive and didn't work real well. It came out during the dark days of Campy. Can you say Syncro.
Yeah, I remember itmike mcmahon
May 9, 2001 5:39 PM
But my previous post was in jest. Maybe it didn't come across that way. BTW, I just want someone to revive Suntour. It might not cause me to give up Campy, but it would encourage me to buy another bike so that I could build it up with Suntour.
Ultegra guy facing the inevitableBrian C.
May 9, 2001 10:33 AM
So far, the Ultegra group set is quite fine, but reading posts here it has become apparent that its day will come sooner or later.
How does Campy Daytona stack up against Chorus (and Ultegra)?
Would it be worth a few dollars more to go for Chorus?
Just curious.
Ultegra guy facing the inevitableBosephus
May 9, 2001 11:28 AM
I don't have any actual experience with the Daytona stuff, but from looking at it I would say it isn't quite in the same range as Chorus. If the choice was between Daytona and Ultegra, I'd probably go with the Ultegra. Between Daytona and Chorus, I think if you can swing it the Chorus is worth it. Obviously, I chose Chorus over Dura Ace and Ultegra.

Chorus is mechanically identical to the Record group, it just doesn't use as much Carbon Fiber and Ti so it ways more. I've heard a lot of people say the Chorus group is atually more reliable than the Record stuff because of this.

You can find some pretty damn good deals out there on Chorus 10 groups right now. Totalcycling.com, Supergo.com, and Pricepoint I think all have pretty decent markdowns right now.
my Daytona made me faster tooclimbo
May 9, 2001 12:07 PM
seriously though, I prefer Campy over Shimano but wouldn't go Ultegra over Daytona just because Chorus is better. If you like the performance of Campy style stuff, get the Daytons, you will be very happy. It's performance is just as good as Chorus for less $. Many guys riding in my club have Daytona and are Cat 3's and 4's.
not much differentJohnG
May 9, 2001 10:45 PM
I've got both and can't really say anything bad about Daytona. If you are tight on the cash go D and spend the extra bucks on good wheels or the bike kit.

YMMV JohnG