RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Attention: IF Crown Jewel owners!(13 posts)

Attention: IF Crown Jewel owners!Airedale
May 8, 2001 10:16 AM
Do not read the May issue of PROCYCLING....
Why the heck not?Parker
May 8, 2001 10:39 AM
I'm guessing they give a not so good review eh?
Well, who cares?! hahaha.
That's not going to change how much I enjoy my IF
and love the way it rides?
I like brussle sprouts too, but I imagine if an author
who didn't like them gave them a review, it wouldn't be very good.
That's not going to change the flavor for me though.
I know its revolutionary thinking, but from what I understand,
not everybody on this planet likes the same things.
Why the heck not?Airedale
May 8, 2001 2:48 PM
In short, he (Robert Millar) thinks it's well build but seems confused as to why the bike has a steel fork for $1,400. He considers it a great touring bike but very far from a modern racer.

P.S. This is what I read in the magazine. I own a Steelman with a steel fork and the reveiw didn't neccesaraly apeal to me either.
Why the heck not?grz mnky
May 8, 2001 2:54 PM
So then you're spreading gossip. Gee thanks for the info 3rd hand.
Why the heck not?Airedale
May 8, 2001 3:00 PM
Read for yourself, the article din't have much good to say about the bike (and that's a fact).
i run an IF fork on my ultimatemondo mike
May 9, 2001 9:03 AM
that carbon is way to flexy for a guy 6-2 225 pounds!
Actually, it is an interesting read...Greg Taylor
May 8, 2001 3:16 PM
Mr. Miller's main knock on the bike is that it feels like a "sport touring" bike rather than something that he'd want to race. He thought that the skinny steel tubset was too "retro" in look and feel, and the geometry didn't provide very sharp handling. Didn't like the custom paint either. The oddest comment was knocking the bike for having a pump peg.

I've never ridden an IF, but it actually sounded perfect for the way most serious non-racers ride.
I don't own an IF but...J.S.
May 8, 2001 12:44 PM
the ex-pro who reviews their bikes, Robert Millar, is clueless. His riding position is so jacked up it has no bearing on the average person. He's about 5'6" and rides a 58cm with about 1" of exposed seatpost, just check out how he sets up bikes, very weird. He also has an allegiance to Principia (a dutch framemaker) and constantly rates other bikes against these and says none are as good, a very biased reviewer he is.
Principiagrz mnky
May 8, 2001 2:56 PM
Now there's a quality build - right down to the hobby shop stick on lettering without any clear coat.
I don't own an IF but...Airedale
May 8, 2001 3:03 PM
I thought Principia was Danish?
It ismike mcmahon
May 8, 2001 3:24 PM
Can't a British cyclist have an "allegiance" to a Danish bike? Lord knows thousands of us Yanks worship Italian bikes.
Please ignore the previous messagemike mcmahon
May 8, 2001 3:28 PM
I should learn to read prior messages in a thread before responding. You are correct that Principia is a Danish bike, not a Dutch bike as stated by the previous poster. I'm off to pour myself another glass of that fine Dutch beer Carlsberg. ;-)
re: Attention: IF Crown Jewel owners!AD14
May 8, 2001 3:35 PM
I read the article and his point is that the geometry makes for handling that does not carve a line like some with steeper angles. Stock geometry on the crown jewel has slack parallel 73 degree angles and long chainstays for afull race bike. I would love one myself, or better yet the new ti crown jewel, but maybe for a cat1 it may not be the best choice.