RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


jamis eclipse or lemond zurich(7 posts)

jamis eclipse or lemond zurichRocco's Big Ride 2001
May 7, 2001 6:06 AM
Hello Again,
So if you had a choice of
Jamis Eclipse with all it's bells and whistles. for $1800 or
LeMond Zurich (1999 frame) with either 105 or Daytona for $1400, what would you recommend. I am not a racer, but love to go fast and for long rides. Montana and Canada/US Vaccine Rides coming up this summer. I am really on the fence.
Jamis sounds great, but I have not heard from many who have it.
Zurich has mixed reviews beacause so man do have it. Let me know.
personaly, jamis...keith m.
May 7, 2001 7:50 AM
This being said without trying either bike, I like the way the jamis is outfitted better. I'ts damn light for steel, doesnt need any upgrades as is, and it looks good. Where I ride, Lemonds are everywhere.
re: jamis eclipse or lemond zurichJL
May 7, 2001 8:50 AM
I tried both and I like the Jamis better. I probably would have bought it, but I couldn't find it for less than $2200.

The Jamis, like the other responder stated above, is nicely decked out. If you can spend the bucks, get the Jamis. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Good luck making your decision. My recent purchase was a tough one too.

JL
re: jamis eclipse or lemond zurichBart S.
May 7, 2001 10:33 AM
I have an old (96) Eclipse.

Got it because it had the best componants available at a reasonable price. No need to upgrade. Find it to be an excellent ride. Frame is strong, as I have been run off the road a few times, bent the rims, but the frame was fine.

If you can go the extra bucks, get the Jamis.
Hmm...Dave W.
May 7, 2001 4:24 PM
I have a '96 Eclipse, too. I think Jamis has fiddled with the geometry a little bit since those frames were made, as the top tube on mine seems longer than that stated for comparable modern (853) Jamis frames. Frame build quality is good, and the components on it are nice, and the only reason I'd part with my Eclipse is to get a frame that fit my body a little better.
re: jamis eclipse or lemond zurichET
May 7, 2001 11:22 AM
Given that choice, the Jamis sounds the winner. I think the '99 Lemond is overpriced. Besides originality points, after all, we're now on 2001, and a few deficiencies on the older Lemonds (e.g. automatic rear wheel ejection :-)) have been fixed, and other improvements made. I paid $1800 for my 2001 Zurich.

OTOH, someone I know who was considering the Jamis said the one LBS in his area that sells it, who had to order it, was not willing to swap comparable parts for no extra charge. For example, there's the Thompson seatpost, with its tremendous setback and double-jointed look you may not like, and the new Eclipse comes with an 11-23 as standard, which is rather aggressive if you have any hills, so if they won't swap anything or will charge you bigtime, it's something to consider.

Another consideration: the seat tube angles differ a bit between the two bikes. Also, in choosing size, beware that they measure the frame sizes differently, Jamis c-t (of top tube?) and Lemond c-c.
re: jamis eclipse or lemond zurichJC in SEA
May 8, 2001 1:30 AM
I bought a Jamis Quest about 6 years ago... still have it and use it primarily as my wet weather ride. At the time the components offered on the bike were by far the best value for the money and it seems Jamis has continued that philosophy. My only complaint is that for the frame size the top tube was quite long and I ended up having to go with a short stem that made the bike handle a little too quick. For my body, the same frame size with a shorter top tube works better.