RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Whose Who in the Forum...(65 posts)

Whose Who in the Forum...PsyDoc
May 3, 2001 4:30 PM
I have been thinking that it might be a good idea to "see" whose who in the forum. You know...put a face with a name. So, anyone up for posting a photo of themselves? I'll start...a pic of me and my bird dogs on my recent 34th birthday.
so, which one is you? nmbill
May 3, 2001 4:37 PM
nm
Now THAT's funny! Here's I...Dog
May 3, 2001 4:48 PM
At the 508 camp a couple weeks ago...
Now THAT's funny! Here's I...Larry Meade
May 3, 2001 5:28 PM
Isn't there some law against wearing a Bianchi jersey while riding
a Colnago? ;-)

Larry
Now THAT's funny! Here's I...Lardog
Jun 19, 2001 3:00 PM
Skurfin' at Lake Mojave. My ride is located at:

http://www.fitonthenet.com/my%20ride.html

It has undergone a large transformation since then though. A new pic up in a week or so.
I'm the Baskin Robbins ice cream cake...PsyDoc
May 3, 2001 5:15 PM
smart guy :-)
re: Whose Who in the Forum...Skip
May 3, 2001 5:39 PM
Sure, but how do you scan a photo into this thread? I'm not very computer savvy.
re: Whose Who in the Forum...Skip
May 3, 2001 5:41 PM
PS: Nice dogs BTW.
re: Whose Who in the Forum...Skip
May 3, 2001 8:21 PM
Not sure this will work, but if it does, this is me.
re: Whose Who in the Forum...Skip
May 3, 2001 8:24 PM
Well, that didn't work. I'm at a loss on how to post a photo; help.
re: Whose Who in the Forum...Haiku d'état
May 4, 2001 7:29 AM
where is it online? the link you posted is referring to a location on your local disk drive. pull it up in your web browser (on an outside site) such that the address in your browser when looking at the pic is http://www.something.com/picture.jpg (or similar), then copy the URL line and post it into the "post an image -URL:" field at the bottom of a new message.

make sure you're using an address that references a web address; not your local drive! good luck...
I'm too ugly...gromit
May 4, 2001 4:32 AM
but here's a pic of my dog when she was a puppy (ahh). We call them gun dogs in the UK BTW.

Gromit (feeling knackered after a 42 mile ride last night)
here I beHaiku d'état
May 4, 2001 7:31 AM
this is my Indiana Jones look.

Snakes? I hate snakes! Why'd it have to be snakes?
When I was driving for Team Roma...MeDotOrg
May 4, 2001 8:54 AM
...you think Cycling is competitive?
OKmoneyman
May 4, 2001 8:54 AM
My new favorite pic. I'm in the green jersey.

$$
re: Whose Who in the Forum...Guess who
May 4, 2001 9:38 AM
This me suffering up the Snake Alley climb in Iowa last year. I like seeing who's who but I was wondering if you could put the face with the comments. The picture was taken by http://www.cyclingphotonews.com/ . They have pictures from a lot of the bigger Midwest races.
ohmmmm...my psychotic abilities tell me MAILLOT ROUGEHaiku d'état
May 7, 2001 12:39 PM
>;-)

do i get a prize?
ohmmmm...my psychotic abilities tell me MAILLOT ROUGEMaillot Rouge
Jun 5, 2001 10:03 PM
Yes you get a noprize. Well done! Now I'm nervous and a little freaked out... how the hell did you do that? What tipped you off? Was it that I dropped some words in the post? I don't think that I look like a smart a$$ in the picture.

MR
magic! is this the card you chose?Haiku d'état
Jun 7, 2001 7:17 AM
no? how about this one? you say it's the nine of hearts? there's no nine of hearts in this deck. hey, what's that behind your ear? THE NINE OF HEARTS! how'd that get there?


watch as i pull a rabbit outta my hat!
again?
nothing up my sleeve...presto!

hmmm...guess i don't know my own strength.
Bicycle Specialties shorts?RhodyRider
Jun 5, 2001 1:56 PM
Same Bicycle Specialties that was/is in Downers Grove? I used to go in there rather frequently in the late 80s/early 90s when I lived there. I bought a Panasonic (!) bike from them in like '88. Good little shop, in my opinion/memory. Are you a Western Suburbanite?
Bicycle Specialties shorts?Maillot Rouge
Jun 5, 2001 10:09 PM
You guys have my number. The shorts are from the very same shop. I used to live in Lisle and ride with Bob, Chris and Mitch Murphy. Good people and a great shop. Last I heard, Bob sold the shop to a company that is kind of like a chain store, bikeshop.com or something, bad for the real bikers in the area but good for Bob. When I left in 98 he was ready to pick up and go, he often spoke of ridding the world of people that didn't deserve to live, that kooky Bob.

MR
Now BikeSource of Downers Grove...Kristin
Jun 6, 2001 4:13 PM
Don, from DuPage Cyclery in Aurora, took it over. It think they're a francise/dot.com shop. I shopped there early on in my search.
How do I do this?Delia
May 4, 2001 9:43 AM
I have a jpg. image file but don't have an URL to put it on.
How do I do this?dustin73
May 4, 2001 12:08 PM
try using www.Photopoint.com.
How do I do this?Skip
May 4, 2001 12:11 PM
Exactly! My problem too. There must be some easy way to do it. Maybe some of the knowledgeable picture posters could show us how. Easy, baby, steps of A to B to C, etc., that even I can follow - Ha!
How do I do this?moneyman
May 4, 2001 1:21 PM
You have to have a place to host your picture, i.e. a website that will allow a link. Probably the easiest way to do it is to Upload your pics here: http://gallery.consumerreview.com/mtbr/passion/gallery/upload.asp

Copy the URL of the image by highlighting it and hitting Ctrl C

Paste it into the Post an Image-URL text box at the bottom of the reply.
This is a link to MTBR Passion's upload feature, but I don't think it will make a difference.

If you have problems with this, E-me and I'll try to help.

$$
re: Whose Who in the Forum...Cliff Oates
May 4, 2001 10:34 AM
This was taken at the Primavera Century a couple of weeks ago, courtesy of Photocrazy. I'm about to hit a mile or so of 12+% grade 90 miles into the ride (Palomares Road) and I stopped smiling.
re: Whose Who in the Forum...dustin73
May 4, 2001 12:13 PM
here's a pic of Robin Williams and I at RtfR. i look kinda goofy it it...
re: Whose Who in the Forum...must_pedal_harder
May 5, 2001 11:42 AM
Wow, am I the only one that thinks that's awesome? I didn't know Williams rode...
Here we go......JamesT.Kirk
May 4, 2001 1:43 PM
Here I am looking all serious after a ride. I think I had a mechanical issue on this one. Shifting problems due to a bent derrailleur hanger.....
I'm Tempted to Post a Porno Shotgrz mnky
May 4, 2001 1:46 PM
But, that's just me being me.
re: Whose Who in the Forum...Raywood
May 4, 2001 2:16 PM
In front of a hotel in Waikiki.
ok, promise you won't laughMade in Taiwan
May 4, 2001 3:10 PM
yes, i shave my legs now, this pic was taken a while back.
Okay...here goesDelia
May 4, 2001 3:32 PM
2am -- Falling asleep with my eyes open.
Okay...here goesSSA
May 4, 2001 3:47 PM

Whoah! Delia, you are gorgeous! Will you marry me? Here's my pic, hope you like it:



FlatteredDelia
May 7, 2001 8:17 AM
thanks SSA. Seems your Pic didn't post. Your flattering post made my day :)
Delia, may I be the first to say that your image is welcomedbill
May 4, 2001 3:49 PM
as a vision of loveliness among the sweaty, hairy rabble among which it appears. A rose among thorns, thorns whose vile rancid lycra I can almost smell through the screen.
Don't mean to embarass you, but, you gotta admit, the contrast is striking.
Making me blush.Delia
May 7, 2001 8:21 AM
I think you're too hard on your fellow 'rancid-lycra-wearing' rabble but your metaphor is much appreciated.
Okay...here goesMaillot Rouge
May 4, 2001 3:56 PM
Wow.... I mean they said right above, you are definitely on the attractive side. You left me speechless, all of that, intelligent posts, and you ride. Any chance you live in Colorado or want to visit sometime, maybe we could go for a ride or something.

MR
ColoradoDelia
May 7, 2001 8:19 AM
I love Colorado! I've been there a couple times, driving through. It's so beautiful. I can't believe you live there...I'm so jealous :)
W@@W! You can.....Cyclingwolf
May 5, 2001 12:50 AM
ride with me anytime (Grin) Seriously very gorgious! Where are all the Delia's in my group rides at????? Geeeez!
Hey DeliaMurph
May 7, 2001 5:50 AM
Delia,

From one gal to another, a technical question: I bet there are benefits to extra air circulation for keeping the body cool, but how the heck do you keep bugs from flying into your cleavage riding like that?

Just kidding. I'm glad to see another female who's enthusiastic about cycling!

Murph
heeeelllowww Delia !!!!JOHNNY APPLESEED
Jun 4, 2001 5:30 PM
Woaza !! You make my heart sing !!! What kind of bike do you ride ?? East Coast or West Coast ?? May I ask....... Single ??? You definitely brightened my day !!!
Tough Day...gimmeaminute
May 4, 2001 3:59 PM
October, 2000. I thought I was getting better at climbing. Still need work, huh?
And My First Team Rider...Look Out!gimmeaminute
May 4, 2001 4:12 PM
Of course he's sponsored....by me!
Gus In Koreagusriley
May 4, 2001 5:11 PM
Taking a break during an every other metric century while living in Korea.
Gus In Koreagusriley
May 4, 2001 5:18 PM
Taking a break during an every other week metric century while living in Korea.
Gus In KoreaSTEELYeyed
May 4, 2001 9:00 PM
Hey Gus,I noticed the RAGBRAI jersey,are you riding it this year? I live in Iowa, rode it last year for the first time,you know you live in a boring state, when the biggest event of the year is a bicycle tour!
STEELYeyed
RAGBRAIgusriley
May 5, 2001 10:57 PM
[Hey Gus,I noticed the RAGBRAI jersey,are you riding it this year? I live in Iowa, rode it last year for the first time,you know you live in a boring state, when the biggest event of the year is a bicycle tour!
STEELYeyed]

Yes we're riding RAGBRAI again this year, the wifey and I make up a tandem team. We rode last year and I rode my single in '97. We're part of the Air Force team again this year. Our tandem is a Purpleen Cannondale RT3000, probably the only Cannondale tandem on the Air Force team again this year, so if you see us...say HI! We missed 98 and 99 because I was in Korea.
See you there!
Sorry, Got in Here Twicegusriley
May 4, 2001 5:22 PM
Hmmmm. During the editing process I guess I stuttered :)
Photo of my pre-biking days...Ostimu
May 4, 2001 10:17 PM
I don't have any pictures of me on my bike, but here's what I looked like in 1977, a few years before I learned to ride.
There are more recent photos on my website --
http://www.ostimusic.com

-- but this one is more amusing. I'm the short one in the middle, by the way.
And yes, I'm a male.
Diggin' the hair, JM.boy nigel
May 6, 2001 8:36 PM
Hey,

I noticed this one on your site; great shot, man. Funny how you didn't post any of your present shots (from the site). You did give the link, though, so that's fair enough.

Great trip to the park on Friday, by the way. Remember not to ride that big ring all the time, though. :)

See you Monday,
Nige (AE)
re: Whose Who in the Forum...Skip
May 4, 2001 10:53 PM
Hopefully, after many tries, this will post OK. If so, thanks moneyman and this is a picture of me.
re: Whose Who in the Forum...Cyclingwolf
May 5, 2001 12:54 AM
Cool Bike! (Grin)
re: Whose Who in the Forum...Skip
May 5, 2001 12:08 PM
Thanks. This was taken just before takeoff on my 500 km, 7 1/2 hour flight, from Minden, NV to well south of Bishop, CA and back in this sailplane, a Discus. It was a glorious flight, mostly between 15,000 and 18,000 feet.

Sorry, but I don't have any good pics of me on my bike. Plenty pictures of the bike, but not with me in them.

Skip
CarbonSkip
May 5, 2001 8:54 PM
Who says carbon fiber can't give a smooth ride - Ha!
re: Whose Who in the Forum...Ian
May 5, 2001 9:34 AM
This is me in my first century in Sept. 99', somewhere around mile 75, my smile did not last for much longer after that.
you losersBON
May 7, 2001 9:34 AM
especially the ones... getting all hot and bothered by the pic of Delia. ya never seen a good looking woman before, or what? no offense to Delia, but the responses are just embarassing
All Hail the Return of BON!mike mcmahon
May 7, 2001 9:58 AM
We need someone to liven up the board a bit, even if the messages consist primarily of negativity. BTW, BON does raise a good point. Drooling over an attractive woman isn't particularly noble. And, as my friend Nino says, ugly women (and men) need loving too.

P.S. What type of noodles does the "N" stand for: Udon, Ramen, Linguine?
BONpeloton
May 7, 2001 10:43 AM
Bowl of Noodles? Is that you?
No offense taken.Delia
May 7, 2001 11:11 AM
I was actually hoping to see more pictures of the people on the board. It is always interesting to match up faces with what they have to say here on the board. I just went through a thread with someone who has the name DeliaPig...piqued my interest. I have a feeling each person on the board has several aliass. Makes things a little confusing, but hey, I guess, to some, it keeps things interesting as well.
Me and the boysRick Bell
Jun 6, 2001 4:16 AM
Here are some pics of me and the boys I live with in Austria, a 145kb collage pic, let it load! Upper right, I get attacked with the camera in a dark tent while we were camping. My vision was slightly impaired afterwards. Next two, they shot some pics of me while we were out on our bikes. The same day, one of them shot a picture sequence of his brother and me racing, "The Boy Wins" in the Photo Gallery's "other" category. It won second place in the PCPhotoReview.com cycling contest, congrats Lorenz! 4th pic, that's us out on our bikes at our favorite stop, Libro, a book/computer game store (Libro AG, the best bookstore chain in Austria, and it's going out of business! Shade!). We always stop for ice cream when we're there, 'cause hey, it's right next to the place :) The one in the white shirt is Jakob, the subject of the "Boy Wins" pic sequence, and the other is Lorenz, the photographer :)
Unshaven at 6:30am but ................Live Steam
Jun 6, 2001 11:52 AM
with a smile on as I get ready for this years Bloomin' Metric. What a great ride it was too!
Shouldn't it be *Who's* Who?grz mnky
Jun 6, 2001 11:59 AM
I don't really exist - just a virtual rider really....
Ixizixiz
Jun 13, 2001 12:10 PM
On a cool morning before our local classic ride