RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Tell me that my wife is wrong, please(27 posts)

Tell me that my wife is wrong, pleasePaulCL
May 3, 2001 1:03 PM
I am planning on doing my first century of the year this coming Sunday morning. My fitness is not a problem, but sleep maybe. Here's the problem and I am looking for support...Saturday night, my wife and I are hosting a dinner party for ten friends. Though I will not drink any wine or beer (due to the next day's ride), I probably won't get to bed until 1AM or later. I have to get up about 7am or earlier to make it to the start point. Am I nuts trying to ride a century after only 6 hours or less sleep??? My wife is pressuring me not to go, I have planned for this, and paid the fee, so I want to go.

Please don't side with my wife, I will only hold it against you (just kidding). I believe fitness is much more important than one night's rest. Your opinions please....
re: Tell me that my wife is wrong, pleaseAD14
May 3, 2001 1:08 PM
As long as the sleep you get is of good quality you should have no problem.
re: Tell me that my wife is wrong, pleaseBigLug
May 3, 2001 1:12 PM
Go for it dude. I can't see any problem, provided you're in shape like you claim. Most of the time I have a real hard time sleeping before an event anyway and it doesn't seem to bother me. Actually, a beer might even relax you enough to allow for a better night's sleep.
On second thought, skip the beer, sleep as much as you can and enjoy the ride.
Ride the ride, mate.boy nigel
May 3, 2001 1:18 PM
You've prepared for it, paid for it, and are looking forward to it. Life's too short. Do the century. If you get ample sleep on the nights previous (starting tonight, certainly) and as much sleep as you can on Saturday night, you'll be okay. You might have a bit of a slow start, but you'll wake up in short order.

I hope wifey understands. Your fitness is critical, as is your enjoyment.

Have a fast, safe ride.
Nigel
re: Tell me that my wife is wrong, pleaseNEIL
May 3, 2001 1:28 PM
take a good long nap on saturday afternoon before the party and you'll be fine. You can crash on the couch Sunday afternoon too.

NEIL
She is WRONG!! There, do you feel better now?shmoo
May 3, 2001 1:29 PM
Kinda depends on your normal sleeping habits doesn't it? I, for one rarely get to bed before midnight, even before a big ride. ('course, maybe that's why I'm always drag'n in 7 hours later). Even so, I've got to think it's an "energy" issue rather than a "health" issue, so what difference should it make to her?

OK here's what you do...Tell her the party is, in fact, a carbo-loading and hydration exercise, and that the 6 hours of sleep is perfect for making sure you are 100% fueled and hydrated and ready to go at exactly 7am. Then when you get home from your ride, MOW THE LAWN. Yeah! That'll show her. After that, and when she's not looking, collapse into a coma.
LOL. I've actually done this. (nm)Haiku d'état
May 3, 2001 1:39 PM
nm
re: Tell me that my wife is wrong, please4bykn
May 3, 2001 1:43 PM
Missing a couple hours sleep is not going to hurt a recreational rider, however if you were going to race, or try for a personal best that's a different story. As for passing on the beer....no way!. That's how I carbo-load!
re: Tell me that my wife is wrong, pleaseMel Erickson
May 3, 2001 1:49 PM
I don't know where this came from or have any scientific basis for it but what I've been told is the most important nights sleep is NOT the night before the event but the one before that (Friday in your case). Get a good nights sleep on Friday and you'll be fine. Even if it doesn't work for the event it might satisfy your wife. My experience has been that it works.
Well, the first rule of life is that the wife is neverbill
May 3, 2001 2:07 PM
wrong. The second rule is that, if the wife is wrong, refer to rule number one.
Okay, the other thing I'll say is that, if the wife doesn't want you to ride because she wants you to do stuff around the house after the big dinner party, well, that's your battle. If she is concerned about your health after six hours' sleep, well, I don't think she has any reason to worry.
Just remember to drink water constantly the previous evening. Even if you aren't drinking ETOH, just being up late can cause you to use more water than you normally do when you go to bet at 11, and sometimes forgetting to drink in that 10 p.m.-1 a.m. shift can leave you a little dehydrated.
you can easily do thispmf
May 3, 2001 2:12 PM
I've done centuries on less than 6 hours of sleep. Its not that big of a deal. Tell her you plan to go out and ride it for fun, not to set any PR. Just going on a long ride. I don't think you're in physical danger by doing this.
I don't want her hunting me down...gimmeaminute
May 3, 2001 2:17 PM
Get 4 hours of continuous sleep. Get to the ride on time. You'll make us proud. Beware and prepare for the following:

1. Secretly stash any pain reliver you might need. Any in the house will mysteriously expire and be disposed of while you are riding.

2. You will endure "I told you so" for two weeks.

3. All massages are unavailable.

4. Still more frightening punishments are listed in Cosmopolitan Magazine under "What to do When He Leaves You for the Boys". (It's in every issue.)

Other than that, ask around. We all feel your pain. Or have at one time or another.
Do the ride, but whatever you do. . .mike mcmahon
May 3, 2001 2:52 PM
don't complaint to your wife about how tired you are on Sunday after you do the ride. In fact, you may want to suggest to your wife that you go out for dinner and a movie on Sunday evening. You can then fall asleep in the theater during the movie. As long as you don't snore, this should not be a problem. However, if you return from the ride b*tching about how tough the ride was, how tired you are, etc., you'll never hear the end of it.
don't sweat itDog
May 3, 2001 2:56 PM
I've done doubles on less sleep, no problem. Sleep is the least of your issues.

Recommendation, though -- even if you feel you have too short a time to sleep, get up in plenty of time to take care of whatever you need to anyway, like equipment, travel, taking a good number two, etc. Not taking care of those things will set you back a whole lot more than lack of sleep. Been there.

Have fun. BTW, if this is the only major issue with the wife, you are doing well.

Doug
You wouldn't sleep well anywayAlan B
May 3, 2001 3:14 PM
Being your first century, you'd be restless from nerves anyway. Adrenaline and nerves will get you through. I did my first century on maybe 6.5 to 7 hours sleep (less than I'm used to) with no problem.
She is hella wrong!!!!!Jet Boy
May 3, 2001 3:18 PM
Just call up your dealer and get some blow or meth. That will get you through the ride. Get jacked up!!!!
re: Tell me that my wife is wrong, pleaseMCCL
May 3, 2001 3:23 PM
Being that this is your first century do you even think you could fall asleep. ANXIETY will probably kill you before sleep deprivation. If my son can do two centruries at age 11 (Cool breeze and the San Diago Amtrak)then with patience you should be able to also. Don't grab the caffeine for your wake up it's not good and act's as a dehydrate. Be smart and pace your self for the first 75 miles or is that a metric century. At the last stop then put your foot into it. One problem with century riders is we blow out to fast. We pay dearly for it by cramping up so Eat, Drink H2o before you ride. Remember you are drinking now for the next hour. So be hydrated well in advance. Relax and enjoy the ride. Usually centuries are designed with great view's. Good luck and Enjoy.
re: Tell me that my wife is wrong, pleaseStevieCycle
May 3, 2001 4:11 PM
My first century was the hardest. On December 31, 2000 we had this great party lots of booze and women. Got about three hours of sleep. When that clock switched from 11:59pm to 12:00am it threw me for a loop. I am agreeing with your wife. What kind of race are you doing in the morning?
P.S. Doesn't the century change every 100 years or am I just a moron.

May your seat ride firm, your tires pop, may you get hit by a car, and may the saddle sours bring you the ultimate happiness.
Thanks guys.....PaulCL
May 3, 2001 8:23 PM
...I'm riding anyway. This is my first century of the season, not first of all time. I do several per year. I've just always tried to get a good night's sleep beforehand. Getting up at 6AM is tough enough, but it's really going to be tough after getting to bed at 1AM. The constant "I don't think you should go, it's just not smart..yadda, yadda, yadda.." is just getting to me.

See you on the road. Paul
re: She is WrongMorgan
May 3, 2001 3:35 PM
Man I wish I could get 6 hours of sleep a night. This should be no problem for someone who is in relativly good shape. Remember to eat and dring plenty at every rest stop, draft behind people when you can to save energy. and whenyou get home be sure to tell your supportive wife what a great time you had.
Get your sleep 2 nights beforepeloton
May 3, 2001 3:42 PM
The nights sleep that you had two days ago is really more important to how you feel today than was last night's sleep. Make sure you get a good nights rest on Friday, and you should be fine.
How about this.blue bayou
May 3, 2001 3:43 PM
Tell your friends you have a ride and excuse yourself when needed. They should understand. Make the ride or she will not let you live it down.

Get her a bike. Best long-term solution.
You may actually be better offlook271
May 3, 2001 3:44 PM
with less sleep. I read an article years ago that had evidence to suggest that. It seems that their premise was that if you sleep too long, your body relaxes too much and that you will be more alert with less sleep. I routinely get aboout 6 hrs. You'll be fine.
re: Tell me that my wife is wrong, pleaseGeeoff
May 3, 2001 3:54 PM
Hey, don't worry about it . I've raced with less sleep than that and placed. Now if you were to do a double century, then I would reccomend resting up.
She's wrong, but you'll never convince her ...bianchi boy
May 3, 2001 9:30 PM
I did my first century in about 15 years two weekends ago. I didn't get to sleep until about midnight and had to get up at 5 am to make it to the starting point on time. I did fine. In fact, my pace for the whole 100 miles was much faster than my typical training speed. It's normal to sleep bad before a big event like that because your adrenalin is all pumped up; it is for me, anyway.

Now, the thing you don't want to miss is that big spaghetti dinner (or whatever you like to carbo load on) the day before.
just goColnagoFE
May 4, 2001 1:11 PM
have a few beers the night before and enjoy yourself too. i once raced (mt evans hill climb) after going to a concert and drinking maqrgs all night. it's not like i'm getting paid or expected to win anyway so i just raced anyway. i hurt for about 20 minutes but i think i sweated it all out soon after and felt great after the race. probably not a good idea if you are super competitive but don't give up your century just because of a little lack of sleep!
unhealthy NOT to do itsteveuk
May 6, 2001 8:39 AM
Tell your wife that to NOT ride the century after doing all the specific training would infact be unhealthy. Your body is expecting the load on that particular day because your training program has been designed in anticipation of the event. To not ride would leave you cramped up and unable to do house work for a week! Even if u didn't go you'd need to get up that day and put in 100 miles somewhere.