RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


bib shorts vs. regular shorts(12 posts)

bib shorts vs. regular shortsmattfl
May 1, 2001 11:24 PM
i am considering purchasing two more pairs of bike shorts. I currently own two pairs of performance century gel shorts and I'm thoroughly pleased with their performance. My only problem i have is that the shorts sometimes roll down over the course of my ride. I am considering purchasing bib shorts and would like any opinion on why you like bib shorts or hate them. They look comfortable, but does the straps on the shoulders hurt at all. Any opinions on the performance of these bib shorts, compared to the regular shorts would be appreciated. thanks again.

matt
Go with bibszelig1
May 2, 2001 1:59 AM
If they fit correctly, the straps will not be an issue. By not having an elastic on the waist, you will find them more comfortable and that your breathing is not restricted by a waist band. They are much more comfortable. I've ridden only bibs for the last 20 years and before that, in the era of wool shorts, removed the waist string and used them with a pair of clip on braces.
Go with bibsAlan B
May 2, 2001 12:49 PM
So do you need the undershirt? And if so, doesn't two layers get kinda warm on those hot summer days?
Bibs will change your life.seth1
May 2, 2001 6:42 AM
A few weeks ago I purchased a pair of Sugoi bibs (I have always ridden shorts). There is no comparison what so ever. They don't slide down, they hold my figure like a girdle without restricting my breathing (not like I had a problem with my belly or with breathing in shorts) Now I've got aobut 5 pairs of shorts for sale.

The only draw back is going to the bathroom. But an insignificant sacrifice for such an increadible feeling.
Bibs on saleBill B
May 2, 2001 7:22 AM
I too have worn nothing but bibs for the last decade or two. I have tried them all, Assos, Castelli, Descente... the best by any measure are the Voler. They fit well, wear well, have a comfortable chamois and are cheap! Usually around $60 but they are going to be the May special at www.velowear.com the only source to buy Voler gear by the piece, they are a team supplier.
Bibs on salePaulCL
May 2, 2001 8:32 AM
If your size is XS...the bibs are $14.95. Its' May now...I don't see any special on the bibs for the rest of the sizes. When does the special start????
Bibs on saleBill B
May 2, 2001 10:59 AM
PaulCL,

I received an e-mail from Velowear.com last week telling me about the May special, check back fairly often it will be posted soon. The XS's that are on sale have been for a while now, origanally there were all sizes but now all that is left are the XS's. The new ones will be posted soon.
Bibs on saleSkip
May 2, 2001 1:04 PM
They will be offering the "team" bibs with a 6 oz side logoed side panel/ with an 8 oz otherwise bib, on sale starting June 1st to members.
they havent changed mine....jayz
May 2, 2001 9:59 AM
i have both...with all the hype & rave reviews, i thought i would try the bibs...to be honest, im not sure why everyone loves them so much...
i never really had a prob with shorts though...and i dont have a gut to hold in like a girdle..

the only drawback i see with bibs, is now my stomach gets a little hotter due to the extra layer of black spandex...

either way...all the same to me...
i would have to say my life is pretty much the same as it was before i started riding with bibs :)
re: bib shorts vs. regular shortsAndy
May 2, 2001 8:05 AM
I too, have experienced the "bathroom" problem. If you have to make a quick pit-stop, you have to remove your jersey first before you can pull the straps down. Other than that, they are much more comfortable than shorts. No comparison.

I purchased several new sets at www.longscycle.com for dirt cheap. The selection varies from week to week so you need to know what brand and size you want and check the web site often. It's a little inconvienient but you can't beat the price unless you shoplift them.
AAACK!Bill the Cat
May 2, 2001 11:24 AM
Hairball? (nm)Alan B
May 2, 2001 12:47 PM
nm