RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


It's an embarrisment(13 posts)

It's an embarrismentDERICK
May 1, 2001 4:30 PM
to see all these posts about "FREDS" on this board. I've only been on this board for a few months but have come to think of it as a place where intelligent people gather to share information about a sport they love. I still think that, but if i were visiting this board for the first time today I would think it was a bunch of immature snobs trying to get over a self esteem problem. I am sure I would not have come back(had enough of that in highschool). I have recommended this board to a few people who are just getting into cycling, but would be embarrised if they checked it out today and thought I enjoyed taking part in this sort of thing. We should all remember that what we write reveals more about us than it does the subject.

Derick
re: It's an embarrismentlook271
May 1, 2001 4:42 PM
It's only an embarrasment to those who have no sense of humor.
Better Fred than Couch Potatodavee
May 1, 2001 5:15 PM
I only read part of the Fred thread. Some posts were funny, some a bit nasty. I am old and slow and have hairy legs. I like my mountain bike shoes and my handlebar bag, and have a mirror on all of my bikes. I have even been known to ride on occaision (gasp!) wearing a cotton T shirt. Call me what you like, I regard myself as a cyclist, and my opinion matters a great deal more to me than anyone else's.

'nuff said. Let's declare the Fred thread dead.
A fred is...Red (The original red)
May 1, 2001 5:16 PM
A poseur. A poseur is... someone who worries too much what other people think and thus do stuff to impress folks.

IMO, anyone who calls someone else a fred is a fred themselves.

But what do I know. I'm a fred.. I ride a triple and like it. I ride a FLAT BAR on my roadbike, and like it. I even slapped on some mtb bar ends onto that flat bar this weekend to see if I like it even more. AND, to top it all off, I use cork tape on the flat bar and bar ends.

So there, eat your hearts out poseurs. I'm not insecure like you little doofuses, so Laugh away..!

:)

(Someone stole my name. Serves me right for not registering. Oh well.)
I'm not that great of a rider, butthat'smrfredtoyou
May 1, 2001 5:21 PM
Our social positioning in the cycling world (and from behind the keybooard) changes how we relate to each other. I think it is healthy. I'm a Fred. I admit it. I feel good about it. The difference is I AM a Fred, not a wanna-be Fred. (see, like honor amoung theives) The people that scare me is the folks that think they are not Freds and are bent on being legit-pro-eurotrash-fitness-cycling gurus. Does that help?
I'm not that great of a rider, butthat'smrfredtoyou
May 1, 2001 5:22 PM
Our social positioning in the cycling world (and from behind the keyboard) changes how we relate to each other. I think it is healthy. I'm a Fred. I admit it. I feel good about it. The difference is I AM a Fred, not a wanna-be Fred. (see, like honor amoung theives) The people that scare me is the folks that think they are not Freds and are bent on being legit-pro-eurotrash-fitness-cycling gurus. Does that help?
I'm not that great of a rider, butaudio
May 2, 2001 9:36 AM
You're an admitted Fred, not a wannabe. What pray tell is a wannabe fred? No one wants to be a fred, let alone a wannabe fred. Isn't that regressing? 'Damn, I'm normal fred....I wannbe more of a fred. 'Today, I'm pulling out the Skidlid'. You are scary. Freds 'are', freds are not going to be more freddy...unless you can show us? Should be good. Please keep your hairy legged, mirror enclad bike and helmet well away from me. Also, tighten up your reflectors. If one falls off you may run over it next time around the park (you do laps, correct?), and I don't know if that bike shop will have your size schrader tube. You, no doubt, will drive over in the Suburban with affixed trunk rack 5 minutes before they close because you've no idea how to fix the thing.
Cool it or I'll smack you with this keyboard.that'smrfredtoyou
May 2, 2001 10:32 AM
I should have used a smaller, barbless hook to catch you.
Cool it or I'll smack you with this keyboard.xxx
May 2, 2001 12:11 PM
boy, you really are a fred.
xxx=master of the obviousthat'smrfredtoyou
May 2, 2001 12:55 PM
Thanks for the compliment. Yes, your Fred detector is working. But, I gotta use bigger bait to catch bigger brains. You're too small, back ya' go. On the upside, your lack of imagination is rather impressive.
re: It's an embarrismentuwgrl
May 1, 2001 5:23 PM
I agree.
re: It's an embarrismentAD14
May 1, 2001 6:03 PM
Lets move on. We belittle ourselves if we focus on others shortcomings. To someone we are all freds. Who cares? I agree its an embarrassment.
re: It's an embarrismentxxx
May 2, 2001 8:23 AM
Derick, A couple things: 1. I might consider going back to your high school and getting a basic spelling class lined up. And, freds are an integral part of any sport...most noteably cycling. I started this thread because of the responses I'd get would be humorous. These replies that state all the insecurities, the 'I'm a fred if I call you a fred', blah, blah. It's funny, it's humorus, but it's true, there are freds out there (be afraid). It's also a backhanded way to perhaps educate at least someone on the do's and don't of cycling. (And whom the hell am I to do so??? I don't know....but I don't hang with freds for no reason. If my wife, relatives, new friends to the sport did any fred-ly type of thing, I'd politely say "you're being a fred....this is not a 'race', this is a charity event"....but only freds do those 'races', yes?) If you wanna be a fred, by all means. Freds will never go away. They keep mirror companies in business and the MS events and swag bag manufactuers rely on them. It's all in educated humor, so chill.....go for a ride.

I guess I started this in frustration for the goofy, ridiculous questions that get posted here everyday. There was a time when no 'net' was available and you learned by doing. In this day and age, when every two bit geek with an opinion and a laptop (like me?) can ask/answer a question....whew...you get some weird ones. The 'how do I pee with bib shorts on' was the classic. I mean, if you can sit down an operated a computer...do you figure you can muster enough of the brain's synapses to figure out how to pee? I shake my head in humored bewilderment that people can be so utterly clueless. My brother, a staunch 'anti-fred', and I have been jokeing about opening a pro shop with the name 'Get a Clue Bike Shop'. Cyclists will laugh at this, freds will get mad at this.....(so don't be a fred and you'll laugh). So that, in a backhanded way, led me to start this post so people can maybe hold back their knee jerk 'I'll ask on the net' questions and 'get a clue' all by themselves.