RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


i keep falling off(18 posts)

i keep falling offishmael
Apr 28, 2001 9:28 PM
another night i drink a couple and see just how close my bike can corner...the scary part is that i wasnt going that fast and the turn wasnt that sharp..i dont know if the road is oily, it is gungy ..or are my tires keeping oil..maybe its the brand, i used to take sharp turns with conti grand prix which i heard were stickier and these were axial pros...do people wash tires? or what seems a more interesting possibility, that i lean very far back while turning at speed and the lack of weight in the front is letting it slide..its always the front wheel that goes but then i cant emagine the back ever going first..i read one fit formula that recomended something like 45% front 55% back weight distribution, could the more weight in the front hold the wheel down on turns..
with pants, bike shorts (underneath), sweatshirt, gloves and a helmet, i suffered the minorist hip road rash....the helmet did get a slight scratch, great investment..
re: i keep falling offJZ
Apr 29, 2001 3:26 AM
emagine that
What the hell are you talking about?LightBoy
Apr 29, 2001 8:45 AM
You know, there have been great advances recently made in capitalization, punctuation, and grammar that make conversational English far less confusing to understand. Most of us have adopted these 'crazy new ideas,' and I suggest you do the same. Any elementary school grammar primer will aid you immensely in your quest to sound like less of a babbling idiot.
WTF?Cipo
Apr 29, 2001 10:46 AM
Ishmael is trying his damn best to write good English. Let's appreciate that and STOP dissing the guy. What if Danish was the international language and you had to post to a Danish board. You want some lame ass Dame to diss you because you write Danish like a 1st grader?

Didn't think so.
C'mon the guy's lazy. And Danes aren't "lame ass"9WorCP
Apr 30, 2001 1:26 PM
Ishmael can write better than that, or at least make it seem like he is at least trying. It's a well known fact that it's hard to help people who are incoherent. And what in world makes you pick on the "lame ass" Danes? Do you have similar opinions regarding the Swedish, or Polish?
Perhaps you've been absent...LightBoy
Apr 30, 2001 5:53 PM
Your ignorance of out 'whale hunting friend' (that's a Melville reference, just so you're all up to speed) leads me to believe that you have not been paying close enough attention to this board. Allow me to get you up to speed.
About a week ago, a board contributor by the name of 'John De' underwent a drastic transformation. He became 'ishmael' and is now little more than a pest. As I'm sure you don't give a rat's arse about what I think, I refer you to the archives, where I'm sure you will find others that share my sentiments.

I hope I have shed a small amount of light into your grey little life.

btw, Herman Melville wrote 'Moby Dick,' a book about hunting whales, which begind, "Call me Ishmael..." for those of you that still don't get it.
maybe you can bring me up to speedishmael
Apr 30, 2001 6:55 PM
why dont you refer me to the archives ....is my spelling good enough for you this time...how bout the punctuation...am i getting through..
A moron is moron in any languagemike mcmahon
Apr 30, 2001 6:05 PM
We've had posters on this board with limited English skills. They are not routinely flamed because of their failure to use articles or their use of run-on sentences. john de/ishmael is "dissed" because he regularly pollutes the board with garbage intended only to provoke. As you can see from the number of replies to his original message, this tactic is frequently successful.
read me read me read meishmael
Apr 30, 2001 6:59 PM
you whine too much...what provoking are you talking about in particular..
Your, grammar,Moe
Apr 30, 2001 6:07 AM
could, use improvement. Your use, of commas, is excessive,.
Hardly...LightBoy
Apr 30, 2001 5:40 PM
i am of corse inclined to unagree but if you;s ruther i wil start tiping like thiis so poeple lik u can understand

i apoligize for the trouble that has ben caused to you because of i and my excessive use of comas and proper spelling and capitol letter using
Please enlighten us.mike mcmahon
Apr 30, 2001 6:01 PM
Which commas would you eliminate? In my opinion, LB's use of commas is exemplary:

"You know, there have been great advances recently made in capitalization, punctuation, and grammar that make conversational English far less confusing to understand. Most of us have adopted these 'crazy new ideas,' and I suggest you do the same. Any elementary school grammar primer will aid you immensely in your quest to sound like less of a babbling idiot."

The comma between "know" and "there" merely emphasizes what is to follow. A comma is frequently used in this situation to separate a short introductory clause from a longer clause that follows. LB then properly used commas between each item in a serial list. Finally, he properly used a comma combined with a conjunction between two independent clauses.
i dont think i like you..you know why?ishmael
Apr 30, 2001 7:01 PM
you whine too much
Please like me. . . .mike mcmahon
Apr 30, 2001 8:38 PM
Your approval is really all that matters to me. If you don't post something here telling me that you REALLY DO like me by 10:00 p.m. Pacific Time, I fear I may not be able to sleep tonight. Please cause me to suffer a sleepless night.
its okishmael
May 1, 2001 2:07 PM
even if i dont like you atleast your mom probably does...im sure there is someone out there who will like you...take it easy
I do!LightBoy
May 1, 2001 6:48 PM
I like you Mike!
do us a favordope
Apr 29, 2001 12:57 PM
fall off this board
there are questions in there...anyone...anyoneishmael
Apr 30, 2001 1:33 PM
does more weight on the front stop it from sliding out from under you on sharp turns...more weight would mean more contact i guess, but then again its the front wheel that turns the sharp angle first...anyway, is it a good idea NOT to lean back in turns..and are conti stickier