RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


'Bikers'(14 posts)

'Bikers'BDD
Apr 27, 2001 6:02 AM
This drives me crazy...if you're reading this, you are a cyclist. 'Bikers' are leather clad motorcycle riders. 'Cyclists' ride bicycles. The instant I hear someone saying " 'yeah, I'm a 'biker'" I know they are poser........
re: 'Bikers'4bykn
Apr 27, 2001 6:19 AM
Call me what you like, but I'm still a biker! Calling oneself a cyclist has an elitist ring, in my opinion.
re: 'Bikers'BDD
Apr 27, 2001 6:50 AM
If I'm an elitist, I take that as a compliment...guilty as charged and damn proud of it (if you could see my bike room, you'd agree). Calling oneself 'a biker' is not the proper word and has a wanker ring to it (if you don't mind me saying). It's like saying 'I want to test-drive a bike'.
Isn't it fun . . .Hap
Apr 27, 2001 12:01 PM
to make up words? What dictionary are you getting this from? Oh, and by the way, anyone with a "bike room" instead of a "cycle room" either wears leather or is a poser.

Hap
Isn't it fun . . .BDD
Apr 27, 2001 6:11 PM
Oh, I most certainly wear leather...when I'm on my Springer or VFR. And it's a very nice bike room...but only cyclists see it....trust me, you would fall over. And, nice name there, 'Hap'- Let me guess: Trek road bike and a 10 year old GT hardtail that's 'pretty good'. Same vintage helmet and you got Lance's autograph. ...that's what 'bikers' do. (golly whiz this is fun....!)
Isn't it fun . . .Hap
Apr 28, 2001 9:15 AM
No, ten year old Trek road bike. I spend all my time kickin' assphalt. No off road stuff for me. I was in Paris for Lance's first Tour win but I didn't get his autograph. I got Erik's, green is my color.

Hap
Isn't it fun . . .BDD
Apr 28, 2001 5:44 PM
Say no more, I know your type. If you were 1 of 10 cyclists that walked in the room...I could pick you out flat. And I don't necessarily mean that in a nasty way.

But, it's still 'cyclist'
Isn't it fun . . .Hap
Apr 29, 2001 8:57 AM
It could be cycler or bikalist.
I would...4bykn
Apr 27, 2001 8:45 AM
have to say (only my opinion, mind you) that the posters at www.cyclingforum.com are cyclists, while the friendlier people (most of them, anyway) here are bikers. I don't intend to ruffle any feathers, just the way I feel.
but I ride in leather not lycra!Mama
Apr 27, 2001 7:03 AM
nm
re: 'Bikers'BDD
Apr 27, 2001 6:24 PM
I don't know Rod, but 'cyclist' just sounds more professional and in tune with the world of class bikes than 'biker'. Bikers to me...are either 'bikers' (Harley Guys...of which I am guilty), or "I'm a biker!" said with a helmet tilted way back on their head while eating a PB&J at a rest stop on their 3rd MS ride of the year ('....it's a Centuary!!') ...see Hap up above.

I'd be willing to bet, anyone of you - the next time you're around serious athletes that happen to be 'cyclists' will say (in the proper context) that 'yes, I'm a cyclist as well....'
re: 'Bikers'muncher
Apr 27, 2001 9:12 AM
Ut-oh. I am a bicyclist. Does that mean that I can ride in leather without threatening my own sexuality?
re: 'Bikers'Miklos
Apr 27, 2001 12:04 PM
Geez, I guess I got all wrong. When I'm out on my bicycle, I think of/refer to myself as a biker. When I'm out on my Kawi ZX9R, I think of/refer to myself as a cyclist.

Bicycle....biker

Motorcycle....cyclist

Miklos
re: 'Bikers'voler
Apr 28, 2001 6:17 AM
The man has a point: it's 'cyclist'. Look when you sign on at this site. WHen you scroll down to the Community Center for Message Board it says 'for passionate cyclists everywhere'.