RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Colorado Cyclist(14 posts)

Colorado Cyclistreggie
Apr 26, 2001 6:20 AM
Thinking of purchasing from CC. Unsure of mail order. Any thoughts on CC. Thnx
talk to your LBS firstjayz
Apr 26, 2001 6:31 AM
CC has great prices, and i believe that the bikes come pretty much 99% built...

but i would talk to your bike shop first and see what they can do..
they may not be able to match the price...but i would rather spend a little more and have someone there to answer questions, and check fit and stuff....

i would just be kinda nice about it...
im sure they get people that come in and beotch about the GU being $0.05 cheaper thru the web....

im not knocking internet purchases, they are cheap, and hard to turn away...but the bike shops prices are not set in stone, and im sure they would be willing to work with you..

my 2 sense (thats all i got..dont ask for anymore, or ill be senseless)

-j
re: Colorado Cyclist/they did me rightTC
Apr 26, 2001 6:46 AM
Ordered a Litespeed from them last Nov and had a real positive experience with them. I knew my sizes and still he asked me some questions just to confirm. Ordered on a Friday and got it the next Thursday. As J said it was all pretty much put together for me and was really impressed with the whole purchase. I too tried the LBS route and they just weren't willing to come down off their prices that much. I went in the LBS the other day and that Tuscany is still sitting there with a nice layer of dust on it.

If you order from CC call Jared at ext 110 and he can really guide you thru the whole process. They even called me a few days after the bike arrived to see if I was happy. Thought that was a very nice gesture on their part.

TC
re: Colorado Cyclist9WorCP
Apr 26, 2001 6:59 AM
I bought my bike from them last year. Minor assembly required. The biggest headache is all the packing material that comes w/ it. No adjustments necessary - I mean nothing! 4,000+ miles later and rides like a champ. It shifts great, wheels are true, etc, etc. . I found them to be excellent dealers w/ great customer service. I've made probably 10 purchases w/ them since then and not one problem. Frankly the LBS situation in NYC is heinous - monetary rape, crap sales people and poor selection. I can't condemn them all just the 8 or 9 that I've actually been to.
re: Colorado Cyclistpmf
Apr 26, 2001 7:52 AM
What are you looking to buy?

I don't think their prices are much to shout about. Pretty much retail. They do offer some good deals on a few of the prebuilt bikes they sell such as the Fuji, Douglas and Tomasini. All three of these are great deals (esp the Fuji Team, in my opinion). If you want a Litespeed, you can get the same deal at a shop (plus lots of goodwill from them) and would be better going that route or shopping around for a sale or close-out.

If you're looking at one of their pre-built bikes, I'd say go for it. A bike store will not be able to sell you something at that price with that level of parts. There is no junk on the Fuji Team, for example. GVH bikes is another place you could consider. I hear the guy running it is quite good.

I've bought a Fuji Cross from them and had them ship me a Fuji Team for a friend last year. Both bikes took 5 minutes to assemble out of the box. Very minor stuff which you can do. CC even installed Velox tape on the rims before mounting the tires. Both bikes worked perfectly out of the box. In fact, it took me longer to clean up all those damn foam peanuts than it did to assemble the bikes. Make sure you collect them and recycle them (I go to one of those commercial post office type places).
re: Colorado Cyclistuwgrl
Apr 26, 2001 10:36 AM
I thought their prices were a little high too. I was going to order a bike from them and then I found out about hitechbike.com out of Sand Diego California. I ordered through them and was really happy with the price and service.
re: Colorado Cyclistpmf
Apr 26, 2001 11:28 AM
As far as Litespeed goes, they are no bargain. There are bargains out there to be found on LS bikes if you look. What did you buy?

They do have things in stock and while the prices aren't great for stems, forks, etc, they aren't LBS gouge prices either. I also question whether their "close-outs" are a bait and switch tactic. They always have stuff listed at prices that are a steal, but then are out when you call (and I call the day I get the catalogue). The only time I did get something was the Vittoria Open King Mario tires for $22/tire (I got 6). Hope thats not a sign that they're crappy tires.

My wife refuses to deal with the sales guys there. Claims they are chauvinistic pigs.
re: Colorado Cyclistuwgrl
Apr 26, 2001 3:19 PM
I bought a Litespeed Tuscany. My father and I actually ordered them together and got a pretty good deal for buying two at once.
Hi TechRed Dog #1
Apr 27, 2001 1:48 AM
I have to agree with you. I bought a bike from them a couple of years ago and have had excellent service. I ordered some bits and pieces from them a couple of months ago and he still remembered me and asked how the bike was doing!
Highly Recommend, nmStickers
Apr 26, 2001 7:59 AM
nm
re: Colorado CyclistWoody
Apr 26, 2001 8:22 AM
I have ordered many things from them and have had no complaints. I always pay for the 2nd day air. It's not much more and you really get your stuff a lot faster. Go for it!
I use 'em.boy nigel
Apr 26, 2001 6:38 PM
Good prices (not always the best, but competitive), nice catalog, and they carry high-end stuff. I've ordered a lot from them, and they always deliver on time and get orders correct. Very reliable.

For some of the best -- if not THE best -- prices around, try Performance Bike (performancebike.com). They sell all ranges of gear, clothing, and whatnot (excepting some of the highest-zoot stuff).

Happy shopping.
Good experienceszelig1
Apr 27, 2001 12:05 AM
My LBS used to be Branford Bike before they went mail order. I've used CC for close to 10 years including the last 2 in the UK. They're very organized and have never, ever screwed up an order. Prices are fair and competitive. You can always shop around if you want to take the time for better prices but across board, their pricing is not bad.

I've had two very good experiences for large ticket items. In early 1998 I bought a pair of 1997 Rev-x's as they were cleaning out last year's stock. They had sold out the normal Rev-x's but offered me a pair of the extralites at the same price. I took them.

In January of 1999 I finally bit the bullet and called them to order a 1998 Vortex frame during Litespeed's annual cleanout of the previous year's stock sale, for $1,700. The sale's guy checked on availability and came back and said that they were sold out in my size. I was somewhat disappointed, mentioned that I was a frequent and long-term customer and he then put me on hold. He came back, mumbled something about a screw up and then offered a 1999 Vortex frame for $1,800. Needless to say I took it. They definitely keep a record of customer activity FWIW, in this case a lot.

Now I'm in London I deal with Mario Pons who mans their dedicated non-US customer orders. A great guy who won the World's Master Kilo in 1999 at the Manchester, UK track, and very helpful.

In summary, I've never been let down when ordering, delivery is prompt and their customer service, at least in my experience, is superb.
re: Colorado CyclistGary M
Apr 30, 2001 8:22 AM
I recently purchased a Douglas from CC and while I love the bike, I was disappointed with the delivery. I was supposed to pick the bike up and found that they had shipped it to me even though I live only a few miles from their store. Note that they ship bikes with the handlebars untaped so if you want them to do it, you will have to ask.

Gary