RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


cyclist/golfer(41 posts)

cyclist/golfernutmegger
Apr 25, 2001 2:11 PM
This is a poll, so bear with me. I golf. I play Tommy Armour 845's. It's a club that has been around for years, unchanged, despite the various advances in technology. They're inexpensive, you can get a new set for about what they cost ten years ago. They're versatile, renowned for their workability; hitting draws and fades. They've acquired the nickname "Mr. Consistency". When other golfers see them in you're bag, they identify you as a golfer with taste and an appreciation for what's classic and time tested. Here's the bike angle; What in the cycling world are the equivalents to the 845? Think frames, wheels, component groups, tires et al. Factor in price (affordability) and consistency of performance.
re: cyclist/golferJiggy
Apr 25, 2001 2:28 PM
MacGregor persimmon woods, Staff or Hogan Apex blades (or Mizuno), Ping or Titleist bullseye putter, Titleist ball (100 compression).

DeRosa (elegant but understated) or other classic steel frame that does not have a gaudy paintjob, Campy Record or Chorus components, wheels are just matching hubs with sewup rims attached.
re: cyclist/golferxxx
Apr 25, 2001 3:05 PM
Golf and cycling. Let's compare other 'like' things...racquetball and quilting. A silly game that commands the money of billionaires. I hate golf beacuse of - golfers - all they do is talk, walk, breath, eat, sleep the silly game. I love cycling, but know when to put it away. To ask to compare a 'classic' bike blah, blah with your classic club is silly....just like that game. Man, it's nice to vent....silly game, silly, silly, silly.
re: cyclist/golferbdd
Apr 25, 2001 3:23 PM
I have to reply because I to think it's an incredibly 'silly' pastime. I used to work with a bunch of golfers and I could hardly be in the same room...them waxing poetic about everything and anything that did with golf. Drove me nuts.
re: cyclist/golferdustin73
Apr 25, 2001 3:54 PM
i never thought golf got the respect it deserved. i know that when i was out there with 2 holes left, 1 stroke down, things got pretty intense. and that was in high school. imagine playing for over a million dollars...that's a lot of money for a silly game. and then, to lose it all 'cause you misread the winds. so instead of being pin high, 3ft to the left, you're ball is plugged in the lip of a greenside bunker...not fun...
re: cyclist/golferdustin73
Apr 25, 2001 3:40 PM
golfer cyclist here. what's in my bag?
Callaway GGB 9deg
Callaway BB steel shaft 12deg that i use for a 2/3 wood
Some generic 2 iron (yep, i can hit it too)
Titleist DCI 962's custom fit
Cleveland 588 56deg SW
all with victory velvet cords.
Snake Eyes putter
Ball: Titleist Professional 90 comp. no offense, but only touring pro's should be using 100's.
and pink tees. yeah, that's right, pink. i first used one and got 5th in a tournament when i was sophomore in HS. been pink ever since...

i never was a fan of the 845's. i don't know why though. i could hit them good, i just didn't like the look.

Bike:
Specialized Allez Sport double

this doesn't answer your questions, sorry. though, is there an equivalent to tiger in any sport ever?
re: cyclist/golferLazy
Apr 25, 2001 7:15 PM
I'm another. I even play 845's. I picked 'em up used for $200. Great clubs. I have Adams Driver/3wood/5wood. Odyssey putter.

For those of you non golfers, stay that way. It's hard enough to get a tee time as it is. But, I'm here to tell you, you're missing out. Some of the great things about cycling are the mental health benefits that you get from it. You can get the same things from golfing.

Foooooooooooorrrrrrrrre!
Eddy MerckxBreck
Apr 26, 2001 7:30 AM
When watching the 2001 le Tour, bet you a set of your favorite clubs to my favorite ride that Merckx's name will be mentioned just the same as Tigers will in any up-coming golf Tours.

cheers
Eddy Merckx-now that you mention his name,mike mcmahon
Apr 26, 2001 5:21 PM
it strikes me that Eddy looks a bit like a golfer these days. :-(
Eddy Merckx-2 Handicap GolferHap
Apr 26, 2001 6:36 PM
Eddie says, "If you want to lower your handicap, play more golf!"
Wonder if Tiger could half wheel 'em now a days?Breck
Apr 26, 2001 7:24 PM
He has put on some weight.
And understand he can be a bit surly as a dinner guest.

Butt, He's still dah man ... if you haven't already check out:

>>> http://www.torelli.com/owen/eddyhour.html <<<

cheers
Concorde Squadra! Why are you golfing if you can ride?Largo
Apr 25, 2001 3:55 PM
Save the golt 'till you can't walk 'bro.
Be the bike(?)
Cycling / Golfing - 20 important differencesBiking Viking
Apr 25, 2001 4:07 PM
1. Cyclists are athletes
2. Cycling is inherently a sensible thing to do
3. Cycling can be useful when used as transportation
4. Few cyclists break their bikes to pieces in frustration and promise never to get on them again
5. Cycling increases your fitness
6. In cycling, you can spend hours looking at the nice butt of a person of the opposite sex – and get away with it
7. Cyclists get to see a lot of natural scenery
8. Cycling does not require vast amounts of natural landscape to be sanitized
9. Most adults can master cycling to a level of satisfaction
10. A cyclist can have a nice time riding with his/her kids
11. No matter where you live, cycling can be done in the vicinity of your home
12. You can ride a bike in the snow
13. Cyclists use gloves on both hands
14. A cyclist doesn't feel tempted to retire in Arizona
15. Cyclists have scars to brag about
16. Cycling can be an adrenalin rush
17. There's no standard length for bike rides – you can turn around and go back anytime you want – it's still a complete ride.
18. There are no handicaps in cycling – in a competition, the fastest rider will win
19. Cyclists at the same level do not have to wait for each other
20. If you're cycling, you may not look like Lance, but you can go hard and feel like him. Take up golf and you will never look nor feel like Tiger.
Yeah, but...Tigance Woostrong
Apr 25, 2001 4:19 PM
what Tiger did last year is the equivalent of winning Milan-San Remo, Paris-Roubaix, the Tour, Worlds, and a few more races just for grins. And then winning the Giro the this year.
Cycling / Golfing - 20 important differencesdustin73
Apr 25, 2001 8:40 PM
in response to:
1)golfers aren't athletes? uh, i'd have to disagree with that. it's not that easy to walk 7200yrds carrying a full bag. i'm gonna use tiger again, as an example. he can bench 1.5 times his weight. that's pretty impressive. i know i couldn't do that.
8) cycling only requires vast amounts of land to be paved over, not sanitized
9) most adults could master golf if they'd practice as much as they ride.
i could've gone on, but nah. cycling and golf are two totally different sports. so it's all good...
Response to #1: Craig Statler (the Walrus)mike mcmahon
Apr 25, 2001 8:50 PM
If he could benchpress 1.5 times his weight, he'd be able to lift one of those Oldsmobuicks that Tiger's always pushing on TV.
Response to #1: Craig Statler (the Walrus)dustin73
Apr 25, 2001 11:42 PM
doh, i knew someone was going to think of that...
BScjak
Apr 26, 2001 5:05 AM
When have you ever seen Tiger carry his own bag?

I doubt their have ever been many roads paved for bikes.
BSdustin73
Apr 26, 2001 8:31 AM
when have i seen tiger carry his bag? hmmm...when he played for stanford, maybe? and if i signed a $100million contract with Nike, i wouldn't carry my bag either.

i didn't say roads were paved for bikes. i said that in order to ride a road bike, you need roads. therefore, land must be paved.

i'm not saying that golfers are in the same shape that cyclists are. it's all relative. golfer should be in shape for golf. cyclist for cycling...
regarding ArizonaDuane Gran
Apr 26, 2001 6:06 AM
Cyclists have their own fascination with Arizona. One of my teammates took a month off of work to train in Arizona in January, and there are cycling bums (akin to surf bums) who do odd jobs and move twice a year in order to cycle year round. Arizona is one of the favorite off season places, so I could see some cyclists dreaming of retiring in AZ.

Of greater issue to me is how one could afford both sports. I'm referring to time and monetary cost. Cycling eats up about every bit of expendable income I have, but I don't mind because I love it, but there isn't room for another costly activity in my life.

Although it has nothing to do with the original question, I have to concur with many of the negative statements about golf. Physically it is better than sitting on the sofa, but the difference in neglible in my opinion. Psychologically I'm sure that getting out for the fresh air is great, but I would take issue with a golfer who thinks he or she is an athlete in the same class as a cyclist. Mind you, I also take issue with the weekend rider who thinks they are doing the same thing that serious cyclists do. By "take issue" I simply mean that I disagree, but I don't go out of my way to be elite or make sure that people admit that they do less.
SimilaritiesE3
Apr 25, 2001 4:14 PM
I gave golf a whirl years ago. I never got into it.

However, at my office, the men's room has a magazine rack, the "library." It contains golf catalogs, golf mags, bike catalogs, and bike mags. I peruse them both, and I'm struck by the similarities. Steel, titanium, composites, etc.

So much of both is about the stuff: the newest/best doo-dads, composite materials, advanced designs; and, of course, advice from the pros, techniques, etc.

I get to hang around the coffee pot every Monday morning and hear weekend golf stories and talk about whatever tourney was on TV. They talk about the pros like cyclists talk about the Tour. I'm always grateful when one of'em asks if I rode over the weekend.

I can't imagine being crazed about both. That would get awfully expensive for me.

So, I guess I'm not answering your question, but I have considered the parallels.
Similaritiesxxx
Apr 25, 2001 4:19 PM
sssshhhhh.....sssshhhhhush. Tiger's on the 18th. If he makes this, he'll get $20 million. If he misses...only 15 million. polite clapping.........silly.....silly, silly, silly.
golf clubs and frames are the same!!!!keith m.
Apr 26, 2001 10:57 AM
guess what mr/mrs high and mighty cyclists, alot of clubs and frame tubes and carbon framesets are made by the same companies, in the same factories, side by side. One technilogicly benifits the other. Both are fun to do, so why rip on someone else.
re: cyclist/golferBogie Man
Apr 25, 2001 9:25 PM
I use to play a lot of golf. Now I just play twilight, carry my bag and walk and don't keep score. I think I play better now since I don't take it seriously. Plus I get to spend more time with my female companion.

Driver: Oversized Titanium Taylor Made Bubble Shaft
Woods 3,5,7: Steel Taylor Made Bubble Shaft
Irons 4-PW: Oversized King Cobras with graphite shafts
PW & SW: Ping Eye II with steel shafts (I carry 2 PWs)
Putter: Stx

Road bike: Litespeed Vortex
TT bike: Litespeed Tachyon
Mtb bike: Rocky Mountain
re: cyclist/golferharlydog
Apr 26, 2001 3:29 AM
CLUBS
Titleist DCI's
Clevland wedge's (bought used)and a generic flop wedge that I can't hit.
Callaway fairway woods 3 & 5 (the old style steelheads)
Odyessy putter
Generic Taylormade knockoff driver

Bike
Colnago ovalmaster with chorus

Wife, two young kids, two old dogs, and full time job.
There is absolutely no time to bike and golf, but I give it a hell of an effort and I have fun at both.
Both Golf & Cycling is an athletics sports............moresbw
Apr 26, 2001 3:46 AM
I really disagree whenever people criticise golf as Non-Athletic sports. I've representing my State for cycling before,and agresively involved in cycling years back. It's a such a tough sports i.e. long distance, heat, UV, injuries from crash, road traffic during training and furthermore your bike must be in good condition!

I took golf about a year now, started from a friend challanging me for distance drive. What my expression is "small ball, metal woods, a defenite distance!" but I was wrong!!! I cant even get 50 yards! He out drive me for a mere 200 yards!

Since then I get attracted to golf, but I never give up cycling as it built up my stamina.

For those who being criticising golf, give yourself a chance and give a try, you maybe suprise and ashame for criticising the game.

My golf set :-
Driver Mizuno Zephyr 10*
3 woods Mizuno Pro 15*
7 woods Callaway Warbird
3-SW Wilson Fatshaft and Mizuno Comp Ez
Putter Ping Anser 2 BeCu

My bike :-
Eddy Merckx Corsa Extra 60 cm C to C
Shimano Dura-Ace STI shifter, RD,FD
Mavic CXP 33 with D-A (racing)
Mavic CXP 30 with Ultegra Hubs (training)
Selle San Marco Regal saddle
Time Titane Magnesium pedal
Time Equipe Pro CX shoes

peace to both sports!!!
My favorite claim of golfers!PaulCL
Apr 26, 2001 5:02 AM
I have a set 845's too with Orlimar woods. I gave up the game about 9 years ago when my first child was born. The logic: I don't have time for a family and golf and cycling. So I had to give up one. Easy choice. I picked up golf again last summer to play with clients - hence the 845's and Orlimar woods. Damn frustrating game. I played about ten times last year (best: 86, worst: 94 - didn't bother to get a handicap)

A big difference between the two games: As a golfing friend pointed out. There is very little risk of getting run over by a semi on the golf course.

As for the claim of golfers: here goes: "It's exercise" RIGHT! NOT! I have had this arguement quite a bit. These guys get in their cart, swing a club 60-70 times (+putts) and call it good exercise. The only time a golfer's heart rate goes above 120 is on a good shot or when someone steps in his line.
My favorite claim of golfers!Tiger
Apr 26, 2001 5:41 AM
I enjoy golf for different reasons than I enjoy cycling. And no, I had the screen name Tiger long before I heard of Tiger Woods. :) Not all golfers ride in a cart. I prefer to walk and carry my bag. It's not nearly as strenuous as a hard ride, but most of us don't play golf strictly for the exercise, we play to relax and to be with friends who like to play as well.

What's in the bag? Ping Eye 2 Driver and 3 Wood, Ping ISI 2-SW and an Odyssey Putter.
ExercisePaulCL
Apr 26, 2001 11:54 AM
I agree. I used to walk when I played regularly - and I played a lot! Of all things, I can't carry the bag anymore due to a shoulder injury from...what else...a bike wreck!
Still...there isn't much 1.) aerobic exercise, even if you walk. 5 miles over four hours or 2.) strength exercise, even if you walk and carry. Picking up a 35lb bag of clubs 75 times over 4 hours isn't putting much stress on your CV system.

I play now to relax, have fun, schmooze clients, get a sunburn, and build up a good thirst for that Michelob at the end of the round. Whoa!!! Brainstorm for an equally pointless thread: What's the best beer for a cyclist.....gotta go post a question....
My favorite claim of golfers!dustin73
Apr 26, 2001 8:37 AM
y'all are stereotyping the golfer here. i think you are picturing golfers as being these fata$$, beer drinking, pot bellied slobs or something. it's not like that. sure, there are those out there, but you have to realize that there are also those like me that walk all the time. i'm more able to argue on the golfer's side here 'cause i played for 4yrs, had a 3 handicap, yet, wasn't old enough to buy cigarettes. and yes, i still say that it's exercise.

oh yeah, forgot to say that in addition to my 962's, i've got a set of some Titleist Tour Model blades from the 70's that i got for a $80:)
My favorite claim of golfers!BroBiker
Apr 26, 2001 9:09 AM
Its impossible to say whether and activity is exercise or not without some definition. Although we all have our opinions.

My opinion is golf is just barely exercise. just like a casual walk around the block with your spouse. Walking approx 5 miles over three hours definetly isn't hard exercise. You golfers need to wear a heart monitor while playing to see what the heart is doing.

BB
golf is a good walk spoileddustin73
Apr 26, 2001 3:26 PM
Golf is definitely a sport. Like in any true sport, golf has a physical and a mental side. Physically, research has shown that in a round of golf (when walking) you burn more calories than during a one-hour run. Mentally, you have to be fully concentrated (like in any other sport) otherwise you will never play good golf.
re: Golf is NOT an athletic activitybirdrider
Apr 26, 2001 5:37 AM
The benchmark test:

Can you ride a bicycle reasonably well while drinking a beer and smoking a cigarette?

Can you play a round of golf reasonably well while drinking a beer and smoking a cigarette?

In the 70s running was all the hype. It lost it's appeal

In the 80s tennins was all the hype. It also has lost much of it's steam.

In the 90s and today golf is raging out of control. And it's here to stay.

The reason: Golf can be played reasonably well by just about anybody. It gives people the false impression that they are being athletic. It gives people a sense that they belong to an "upper-crust" lifestyle. There are all sorts of affectations to spend money on that identifies them with their "culture". They can walk around all day on perfectly manacured, highly pesticided, herbicided, and irrigated lawns that pollute everything down wind and down stream from them.

Golf is a joke. Tiger Woods may be very tallented at what he does. Is he an athlete?

Could Tiger Woods complete Paris-Rubaix? Could Micheli Bartoli Complete 18 holes of golf?
Tiger is a hero, right.Krusty
Apr 26, 2001 9:22 AM
I agree. We all pay Tiger millions and millions. For what? Hitting a little white ball into a hole in the ground. What a hero. He has made the world a better place because he can hit a ball into a hole in the ground. He deserves billions. A true hero. Let us all give him more money.
Tiger is a hero, right.dustin73
Apr 26, 2001 3:43 PM
he's a hero 'cause he's brought more people into golf than anyone ever has. especially young kids...

any idea how much Lance gets paid by Nike and Oakley? and for what? pushing pedals? (no offense to Lance, just trying to make a point)
Amasing!Hap
Apr 26, 2001 5:38 AM
All of these replies and only one person offered an answer to your question. I would have to say:

Italian steel frame with chrome lugs, maybe Derosa, Masi, Pinarello, etc. Full Campy Super Record (friction, downtube, of course) Toe clips, Silica frame pump, wooden tubular rims, wool shorts & jersey, etc.

Hap
re: cyclist/golferxxx
Apr 26, 2001 6:32 AM
Bud, a wanker like this needs not a reply. "Hey all, I'm a fisherman, it's a challenging 'sport'..I use classic lures: Rapalas, Troy spinners....I'd like my bikes to be the same...what do you suggest?' What kinda question is he asking? I don't give a hoot about the 'challenge' of the silly game. Darts are challenging to. It's a silly, silly, silly game.
Fragile egosHap
Apr 26, 2001 6:50 AM
Golf was a metaphor. The question was about classic bikes. I doubt that the origanal poster knew that roadies were so sensitive about golf. Talk about fragile egos!

So whats your idea of the classic ride, Trek 5200?

Maybe if he had use autos as a metaphor, people would have responed. What the bike equivalent of a '56 T-bird, '63 Vette, or '64 Mustang?

Anyone?
Fragile egostlc
Apr 26, 2001 7:13 AM
A Trek 5200? (Say that again....a Trek 5200...) You're calling a Trek 5200 a classic in the same way a '56 T-Bird, a '63 Vette, or a '64 Mustang? Jeez, that's sillier than golf.

A Trek?
NoHap
Apr 26, 2001 7:34 AM
I am saying that all you golf bashers think that a Trek 5200 is a classic in the same way that these cars are classic. The original poster wants to know what bikes you think are classic in the way that these cars are classic, only he used golf clubs as his example. Folks got so flamed up about golf that no one answered the question. Maybe no one here has been riding long enough to have a clue and therefore you think that the 5200 is classic?

I gave a response above so I won't repeat it here. I'm just curious why you all would rather bash golf than talk about bikes.

Hap
litespeed, open pros, ultegra...Bruno S
Apr 26, 2001 4:28 PM
Although maybe not classic, you cannot go wrong with that frame/components mix.